Skip to content

Do-overs

September 11, 2006
by

While Melanie and Jan were entertaining you with wedding shawls and gigantic silk worms, I was repeating myself. I finished Tilia.

But – wait:

Ewww. Should have listened to self about knitting a facing in a cotton yarn. No amount of steaming made that hang right.

After pondering for a couple of days, I realized that I could just frog the neckline facing and apply another neckline treatment, without having to undo anything else. So I pondered the alternatives while frogging. What sweater do I have, that I really like the neckline treatment? The answer was Celtic Dreams, which I knitted about 3 years ago and which has a lovely narrow garter stitch neck border.

Ah, much better. So – if you make this, even if you use the actual yarns specified, be prepared to not like that facing. I think it’s just risky as a neckline that is supposed to be elegant and scooped. But maybe that’s just me.

I worked on this from July 13th until September 4th and used just over 10 balls of Knitpicks Shine in sport weight. I shortened the length of the body by 2 or 3 inches and shortened the sleeves a little. Even so, they were a little long and I ended up setting them in with a little bit of the sleeve inside the seam – kind of like the facings you do on Nordic sweaters from Dale, in case you’ve ever done that – so as to take up a little of the length. I think this will be a very wearable sweater come fall weather, it’s smooth and not too weighty.

Emily liked the color of this yarn so much that we had a brief show of temperament that I was not knitting somethiing for her with it. When that subsided, she gave me another idea of what she would like me to do with my leftovers. What might this be, do you suppose? (Pencil included for scale.)

If you guessed some sort of small garment, you’re about as close as anyone could come without having been to visit us. Hm, waist 6 inches, rise 2 1/4 inches, inseam 2 inches… someone has a problem figure!

Pinky has pants.

This was a very easy knit of just a couple of hours, along the principle of a glove. Round and round for awhile, then essentially make 2 glove fingers. The one-row Elizabeth Zimmerman buttonhole for the tail was an on-the-spot inspiration. Everyone who sees these acts as if they must have been so hard to knit. Hah.

OK so this left me with one sock on the needles, and I even wanted to scrap that when this came in the mail:

It’s a hank of Lisa’s Sock! in that Emerald City colorway that has swept the world since I bugged her into making it. I just want to drop everything and knit this. (This color is SO hard to photograph, in an effort to keep it from being all blue I seem to have made it not blue at all. Trust me that it is fabulous and look at Lisa’s site for the real look of Emerald City.) But I have to get my other sock off the needles no matter how dull it suddenly seems.

I wasn’t really feeling sure what I wanted to knit next. So I decided to give this another try.

Does this look familiar to anyone? This is ‘Venus’ from an old Jaeger book, and my handspun 3 ply Cormo. This is the project that went down in disaster about a year ago due to grist issues. We’re trying again. It is really not a very interesting pattern to knit, and I know that the yarn would have been so much better if I had spun it this year, but I really want this sweater in this yarn so another shot is in order.

In other poor-planning news, I finally located one of those old 70s stereo cabinets I’ve wanted for awhile, the kind with the tinted glass door that pops open and shut and the lid that lifts up for your turntable… brought it home in triumph, pulled all my stereo components out of their rickety old cabinet… and they were all half an inch too wide for the new cabinet. Erg. I didn’t want to spend another hour driving out and returning it to the poor innocent people who sold it to me, so I left it sit in the dining room overnight while I thought what I could do with it. Here is its final purpose:

Now, my good sock yarn stash is not sitting in plastic bags on top of my work table needing to be moved whenever I want to wind a ball of yarn, and my good sock knitting books and patterns are not scattered in 3 different places. Let’s hear it for the sock cabinet.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2006 10:40 am

    If I ever start a second knitting blog (but shoot me first,) I will name it “Pinky Has Pants.”
    The sweater is beautiful, the tiny pants are adorable and the cabinet is, well, organized!

  2. September 11, 2006 10:57 am

    The sweater turned out wonderfully with the new neckline. I think it suits the lines of the sweater a LOT better than that facing did.
    Also, I’m waiting on a hank of the new Lime&Violet colorway from Lisa. I just keep on hearing such good things about her yarn!

  3. September 11, 2006 11:55 am

    Love the new sock cabinet, the Emerald Sock!, Pinky’s new pants, and especially your new blue sweater. Good fix with that neckline, too. Here’s hoping that you have better success with the Cormo 3 ply this year.

  4. September 11, 2006 12:41 pm

    Lovely cabinet and ahem, nice pants. (the Brits think pants are undewear, hence the ahem. Husband always giggles.)
    Have I mentioned lately how much I admire you for all that Cormo? I have finally finished spinning 4 oz of that stuff, spun sorta fine. It took me months. I did not enjoy it…and it’s still not plied. As a reward, I spun a whole bobbin of thicker Cotswold/silk singles. It took only an hour or two. What a relief! I’m just not cut out for the 3 ply Cormo life…

  5. September 11, 2006 1:21 pm

    I love the sweater! It’s amazing how much difference that new neck treatment made – I wouldn’t have suspected that a garter stitch neck would look so much better than a faced one, but it really does. Good eye!
    Doesn’t it feel good to get a corner of your stash organized?

  6. Melanie permalink
    September 11, 2006 3:09 pm

    I like your version of the Tilia neckline much better than the original, and I love Pinky’s new drawers. Tilia is very becoming. I hope the Cormo works out.
    So, that’s just your sock yarn?

  7. September 11, 2006 5:44 pm

    i love the adjustment to Tilia! It looks like a different sweater.
    Woo Hoo! Lets hear it for a sock yarn cabinet:-)

  8. September 11, 2006 8:31 pm

    love the new neckline! my mailman brought me my own emerald city sock! merino today.

  9. Jan permalink
    September 11, 2006 10:07 pm

    Gorgeous sweater, looks great on you. That other neckline was klunky and competed with the patterning. I hope this time’s the charm for the cormo. The very first time I opened Pink Tea there were those lovely skeins hanging to dry, backlit by the sun. I was dazzled and inspired. They will make something lovely for you one of these days.

  10. September 12, 2006 11:05 am

    That is a *gorgeous* sweater! It looks so much better on you than in the book picture that it’s almost unrecognizable. Wow. That’s all I can say. Now I need to make one. 🙂

  11. September 13, 2006 6:35 pm

    The sweater is GORGEOUS!!!! And the little pants – too cute for words – great job 🙂

  12. September 14, 2006 12:50 am

    Tilja is gorgeous. I like your neckline better. And I love the sock cabinet! But is that all your sock yarn? You’ll have to work on that stash!

  13. September 18, 2006 3:15 pm

    Your modified neckline looks so much better than the original. Yay for new yarn storage that doubles as display.

Leave a Reply

