Skip to content

Better Late Than Never…

September 18, 2006
by

I am late posting this morning and I was last Monday too. Somehow it seems that the Javascript buttons on the MT pages (they do important stuff, like “Save”) won’t work until later on in the morning. Why would a firewall screen out Javascript until after 9:30? It’s a pain in the butt.

Anyhow we are here now…

I finished my ‘Treasure’ bluefaced leicester this weekend. Gosh I love this stuff.

(The colors are a little washed out in these photos, they are more saturated than this picture indicates.)

I think that my first hank was a little teeny bit lighter weight than the rest of them – now I’m thinking this stuff should be knitted at a worsted gauge. I don’t know if I want to work from two balls when I knit it, like I do with most handspun, because I think I want to preserve the colors as they run in the skein. I don’t know precisely how much yardage I have but I think about 900. Perhaps I will try to make this.

I have been puzzling about this a little, though. I will have to figure out exactly how they want the stitches worked to get the biasing effect. Before I figured out about combination knitting and how to knit into the leading edge of a stitch no matter where it was actually lying on the needle, I used to unintentionally twist my stitches. I wrap my yarn clockwise for a purl and counterclockwise for a knit, and I understand that the ordinary way is to wrap your purls counterclockwise as well. I did not learn that way. So in stockinette, I would knit into the front of each stitch as it came along, even though it wasn’t really the leading edge, and end up with a twist (and the wrong side of my stockinette work totally “rowed out” – the rows paired up in ridges). Nothing I made by knitting this way EVER biased. I suppose I should knit a swatch as I’m sure the designer intends – wrapping my purls counterclockwise and knitting into the back of my knits – because I think if I went back to my first style of knitting I would be twisting in the opposite direction of what the pattern intends me to do.

Venus is coming along, I’m almost up to the armholes on the back. This is a bit tedious to knit but I really want to see if I can make this yarn work and the finished sweater will be very wearable so I’m pushing myself along.

My railroad rib socks are not done yet. But I’m down to the foot so it should be soon.

I am not sure what to do next. I want to make the Cable and Rib socks from the Fall 2005 issue of Interweave Knits, because they are designed for Bearfoot and I have 2 skeins of that. But I want to start knitting Lisa’s Emerald City Sock! right away too… Having all my good sock yarn sitting in a glass-front cabinet right in front of me whenever I’m knitting is like trying to eat a bologna sandwich in a candy store…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2006 1:33 pm

    Oh my gosh that doesn’t even look like handspun!!! I thought you meant by my that you had dyed it. It looks so soft and perfect. Whatever you do with it will be gorgeous!!!

  2. September 18, 2006 3:18 pm

    Beautiful handspun! And you’ve made a lot of progress on your cormo sweater.

  3. September 18, 2006 6:32 pm

    That yarn is my goal. That is what I picture every time I spin. It’s fabulous!

  4. Melanie permalink
    September 18, 2006 7:29 pm

    You’ve done an awesome job with the Treasure handspun. It’s truly perfect and really bery beautiful.

  5. September 19, 2006 6:38 am

    treasure is gorgeous!

  6. September 19, 2006 2:27 pm

    Definitely looks like you’ve mastered Navajo plying. Those Treasure skeins are lovely!

  7. September 20, 2006 7:01 am

    Caroline, everything looks so great! You sure have mastered the Navajo plying! Love the yarn! Why not design your own sweater? I know you could do it!

  8. September 21, 2006 8:31 am

    nice blue!!

  9. September 22, 2006 8:13 am

    Beautiful yarn! And a nice choice of pattern, I’ve seen quite a few cute fall jackets with that short length and fuller 3/4 sleeve. I look forward to Mondays to see what you’ve been doing all week!

Leave a Reply

