Skip to content

More Yarn

October 16, 2006
by

Yesterday was plying day on the porch. Another hank of 3-ply rambouillet from the hand dye and comb experiment.

I think this is a little heavier grist than the earlier skein – and it sproinged incredibly when removed from the niddy noddy. I tried not to overply it, so it has a lot of loft and spring.

I’m fresh out of combed fiber now, so I’m going to have to buckle down and comb some more. Sigh. Spinning is much more fun…

I also plyed the beautiful lilac silk I was spinning. I ended up dividing the fiber into two one-ounce batches and hoping for the best. I didn’t do too badly – I did a small andean bracelet with the leftovers on one bobbin, which amounted to about 8 yards, and the little piece you see hanging there is the only waste that would not come out of the bracelet – it’s about half a yard.

I think that I have about 400 yards from the 2 ounces. Unlike the rambouillet, this is not elastic so I am not getting the spring-back that reduces the length. I don’t know what to do with 400 yards of beautiful purple silk, other than photograph it on a bright day.

It bled a bunch of dye when I washed it, and I’m sure it’s not done bleeding yet… I whacked it every time I went by it while it was drying, and it was starting to soften up by the end of the day.
I also finished the Cable and Rib socks. These are very hard to photograph but they are comfy and will be fun to wear. I didn’t have a whole lot of yarn left, either – maybe 4 grams max. Be warned that this pattern needs every bit of that one hank of Bearfoot.

I’m so ready to cast on with this…

I’m progressing well on the cormo sweater, but it isn’t much to look at in a photo yet. I should have the front done by the end of the week and then it might look better.

Oh – also, we wished happy 7th birthday to the birthday pets.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    October 16, 2006 10:12 am

    The purple came out beautifully, Caroline – nice spinning! 400 yards says “scarf!” to me. 😉 What do you think you’ll comb next?

  2. October 16, 2006 5:08 pm

    Gorgeous yarn and Happy Birthday to the pets!!!

  3. October 16, 2006 6:06 pm

    As ever, I’m impressed with the consistency of your handspun. Looking forward to seeing how you decide to use the silk yarn and how the Emerald City Sock! knits up.

  4. October 16, 2006 7:29 pm

    As always – just gorgeous stuff, Caroline!
    Mawwwah! To the birthday cats, hope they had a good one!

  5. October 16, 2006 7:49 pm

    Diamond fantasy for the lilac? It’s just beautiful. Your kitties look so happy. Mwah indeed.

  6. October 17, 2006 5:16 am

    Beauteous handspun!! Happy birthday , birthday pets!!!

  7. October 17, 2006 6:06 am

    love the sheen of the lilac silk 🙂

  8. Melanie permalink
    October 17, 2006 11:09 pm

    The yarns look just wonderful. I can almost feel how nice an squishy the rambo is and the sheen in the silk is amazing. Beautiful spinning! A very happy birthday to your furry friends.

  9. October 19, 2006 5:34 pm

    Wow. I am always in awe of you!

  10. October 19, 2006 8:52 pm

    That lilac is just gorgeous! As is the rambo. I think you need to get a purple coat to go with these yarns because they’re screaming “I WANNA BE A SCARF!”
    In my search for a sweater pattern tonight I came across that sock pattern – I think I’m going to copy you.

  11. October 21, 2006 9:56 pm

    OMG thats wonderful..I so LOVE purple

Leave a Reply

