Skip to content

In Stitches; and, A New Look

November 6, 2006
by

I have no knitting or spinning content today. I have people content and that is better.

But first: Yes, you are in the right place. Pink Tea has changed its name. Although we have called it the same thing for three years, the person who named it is long gone from the group that maintains it, and we decided that we would like it to be called something we picked ourselves. So: Say hello to KnitMe. A snip from the A.E. Housman poem that provided the name is floated over the pretty banner photo.

We’re not going to change the URL for awhile, so you will be able to find us at the same location. Finding and notifying all the people who link to us is a big effort and I would be bound to miss someone. We’ll decide at some point in the future if we want to migrate ourselves entirely to have a new URL. If you link to us, and you think we are not likely to be aware of that, please leave a comment for our future reference.

Thanks to Mary, whose ‘Mostly Dogs’ photo gallery is linked in the sidebar, for the beautiful redesign.

Now on to the people news.

Stitches East happened this past weekend at the Baltimore Convention Center, and our good friends Lisa and Sheila came to vend there for the first time. Of course we had to go visit them. Emily and I and Liz and Robyn and Catherine got to the Market about 12:30. Lisa’s booth looked like this:

It pretty much looked like this all day. We did get a chance to slip in and visit a couple of times, but Lisa and Rod were doing a brisk business in all her beautiful stuff. I decided I was too overwhelmed to pick anything, and I’ll place an order sometime soon online. The alpaca/silk and the merino/angora really are as nice as you would expect them to be. An interesting thing I learned was how differently they take dye than the sock yarn and merino fiber that Lisa has dyed for a long time – the same colorway looked entirely different on Sock than it did on alpaca/silk.
Sheila had a slightly bigger booth space, so it was easier to get in and visit with her.

She had good lighting to show off all her beautiful buttons and needles and hooks, and she seemed to be selling quite a few of those glass circular needles.

While wandering through the Market I ran across a display of Rosemary’s shawl pins at the Black Water Abbey booth.

Blue Moon Fiber Arts had Denise’s new line of yarn-related greeting cards, but I couldn’t get a clear shot at their booth, what with people grabbing Socks That Rock left and right. (There weren’t many skeins left by Saturday afternoon and they were all in ho-hum colors I can’t wear.)
Emily and I hung in there till closing time so we could go to dinner with the distinguished guests. By 5:30 it had gotten quieter in the place and there was time for Lisa to wander away from her post.

Melissa was there too, her booth backed right up to Lisa’s, but when I went back to take her picture and buy Emily a sheep puppet, she had gone shopping.

Part way through the afternoon I was informed of XRX’s strict no-photography policy. Apparently if I had been caught taking any of these photos I could have been ejected from the site and barred from returning. I suppose if my friends being photographed had leaped to my defense and said they had consented, I might have gotten a reprieve. Is theft of knitting designs by lurking Stitches attendees with cameras REALLY comparable to photographing military or nuclear sites in foreign dictatorships?

We moved ourselves to an Indian restaurant in Federal Hill to eat dinner. Emily became fast friends with Sheila’s friend Trish.

On the right hand side you see the Queenie Sisters, Faylene in the back with the orange t-shirt (the woman with the New York accent who lives and North Carolina) and Ellen on the end of the table (the woman with the North Carolina accent who lives in New York). They were attending Stitches and taking classes, but joined up with us at the end of the day.

Although the service was lackadaisical, the food was great and a good time was had by all.
I did, indeed, buy a couple of things. I tried very hard to be good.

Wrapped around the pile is a hank of fingering weight superwash merino from Tess Yarns. I kept walking by this and walking by this and walking by this, and finally went back to it although I had already bought sock yarn, because I couldn’t keep away from it. It is 660 yards and should make a nice big Flower Basket or other type of shawl. There were three hanks in the dyelot and I wish I could have justified buying them all. I suppose I could send this picture to them and say – are the other two still left???

In the center are two hanks of sock yarn also from Tess. One is very similar in colors to the big hank, and the other one (green and violet) seems to be a duplicate of one I bought at this year’s Maryland Sheep and Wool festival. I must really like it.

At the bottom is a hank of sock yarn from Sheila’s friend Pat Fly – it is dark green and dark violet, and instantly made me think of african violets. It was the first thing I bought.

I also ordered a bag of the new Lenox yarn from WEBS, which is merino and alpaca and knits up at 4 – 4.5 stitches per inch – the WEBS yarns are really lovely (I was not crazy about Berkshire, but Deerfield and Lenox and Amherst in particular are very very nice). I wanted a full bag in this nice dark red, and all that remained was a bag that had had one skein removed from it. I am not sure what I want to do with it but the shade of red was really attractive.

I didn’t buy any of Erin’s dyed top because I had already done that the week before.

Erin comes to our local spinning group and dyed this merino/tencel in a shimmery dark silver shade she calls Platinum. Her stuff was to be found in the Cloverhill booth but I just waved and went by because I already had mine.

So we came home tired but happy. I think Lisa is planning to come back next year – she said she was leaving all her wire basket bins at Jen’s mom’s house…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2006 9:41 am

    Looks like you had a fabulous time. I couldn’t have left that fingering weight yarn there Either. I love all the colors you got!
    And glad you didn’t get ejected for all the pictures..their great.

  2. November 6, 2006 9:46 am

    What a gorgeous redesign! Good for you. I hope you have lots of pleasure from the new stash, and I’m so glad to see photos of all of our friends’ booths–completely successes– at Stitches!

  3. November 6, 2006 9:50 am

    Nice post and I like the new template. That purple and green makes me drool. I think the pictures thing is not about stealing patterns but rather about a certain blogger who delights in mocking attendees…..

  4. November 6, 2006 9:52 am

    Sounds like it was fun, thanks for the great report, Caroline!
    I believe the no photography policy is due, at least in part, to a kerfuffle with the Knitting Curmudgeon (http://www.knittingcurmudgeon.com/) that happened a couple of years ago.
    She used to post an annual report called “the Gallery of Ghastlies” with knitting found at Stitches East with extensive photo documentation (see one of the posts here: http://www.knittingcurmudgeon.com/archives/2004_10_01_archive.html). It came to the attention of the Knitters folks at some point and they were quite upset about it.

  5. November 6, 2006 10:24 am

    love the new design! sure looks like you all had a great time, esp. miss emily 🙂

  6. Melanie permalink
    November 6, 2006 11:11 am

    I love the bloggy face lift! I’m glad you and Miss Emmy had a good time at Stitches and were able to spend time visiting with friends.

  7. Sam permalink
    November 6, 2006 12:22 pm

    Caroline, this looks *fantastic!* Nicely done, and thank you for sharing all the bloggy goodness. And if you *really* feel like you need to get rid of that second, sadly duplicatae skein of Tess yarn, well… 😀 Give Emmy a squeeze for me.

  8. November 6, 2006 12:34 pm

    lovely redesign! and thanks for sharing the stitches pictures. emmy is getting so big!

  9. November 6, 2006 12:51 pm

    The new design is nice and streamlined. Loved the Stitches photos. Looks like it was a fun day.

  10. November 6, 2006 4:52 pm

    Loving the clean new look of Knitme!
    Hope you gave everyone a squeeze for me.

  11. November 6, 2006 6:50 pm

    looks like so much fun!!! Thanks for sharing with us. the new look is great!!

  12. November 6, 2006 8:21 pm

    Wowza! Girlie you outdid yourself! The site looks fabulous 🙂 Thanks so much for the Stitches East update, I am so glad you did this, and I am so jealous that I couldn’t come out and spend some time and money there!

  13. November 10, 2006 10:00 am

    Yowza…..what yummy yarn. Sure makes my hands itching!!*GRIN*
    So that is how Faylene and Ellen Looks like….have really been thinking about that!!:-)

Leave a Reply

