Skip to content

Meet the New Addition

November 20, 2006

I succumbed to the siren call of the Forrester spindles with ony the slightest nudge from Kerry, an enabler of the first degree. It was a birthday gift from my sweetie. It’s a Linum Lace Fancy in pink ivory witha sapele shaft, weighing 29.2 g., or a hair over an ounce. This tiny work of art was purchased from Gemini Fibres

There has been some knitting going on around here too. That’s Fern beneath the spindle. The back is finished and the fronts are all but done. I just finished a pair of stealth knitting socks, pictures to follow when they’re not hush-hush any more. They’re glam socks in Socks that Rock with beads, ooh la la!

I have wanted to knit Hello Yarn’s Irish Hiking Scarf for a while now, and I had 370 yards of handspun alpaca/silk in the stash. It spun up light and lofty and buttery soft. The scarf requires about 350 yards, but when I thought the scarf was long enough there was still a fair bit of yarn left. So I cast on for the gauntlets/wrist warmers. Instead of knitting a thumb gusset, I worked back and forth between two cable twists, leaving a hole for the thumb. The resulting tubes can be worn either as gauntlets or as wrist warmers.

I purchased a Grafton batt at the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival this year. I can’t recall what the wool breed is, but it sure is pretty. I pulled the batt into strips and spun them as they came, with no attempt to control colour placement. The finished two ply is about sports weight. No plans for this yet.

I recently got an E-Flyer, E-Hook and some Baby Bobbins for my Little Gem 2. They make that baby hum. You can ckeck out the specs on the Majacraft site. The smaller flyer and bobbins, and the ceramic inserts in the yarn guide and the orifice really make a difference.

That’s some of Lisa Souza’s superfine merino in the Wild Things colourway on the bobbin. I had a 4 oz. bump that looked like this:

This is it all plyed up. It’s about 400 yards of fingering weight yarn. I think it will become a mistake rib scarf in the near future.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2006 6:37 am

    Woo hoo!! I just ordered the lace kit for my upcoming birthday. I’m glad to hear you like it. The wild things looks great! I’m dying to try a Grafton batt I’ve heard many good things about them. the irish hiking scarf and its friends are beautiful!

  2. November 20, 2006 7:46 am

    Yummy stuff! I particularly like the scarf and mitts. Your spinning always looks so very perfect, too.

  3. November 20, 2006 8:42 am

    Eye candy!! Every single picture is more gorgeous than the last!

  4. November 20, 2006 10:47 am

    The knitting! the spininng! the new fiber toys! Love them all and how you remember to take the “before” and “during” pictures to add to the finished ones. It really tells a story that way.

  5. November 20, 2006 12:10 pm

    Another one bites the dust . . .
    The Cables look great in that brown. Very rich.

  6. November 20, 2006 10:26 pm

    All of it.. absolutely beautiful. I love the scarf and wrist warmers. I’ve been making alot of those also.. and socks (of course)

  7. November 20, 2006 11:22 pm

    Oooh, such exciting visuals! I’m so tempted to go buy a Forrester spindle now, too. Man alive, that bluegreen batt is luscious, and the chocolatey yumminess of your Irish Hiking set! Altogether fantastic! 🙂

  8. November 21, 2006 8:22 am

    Mel, as always you do such nice work! Love the pictures and can’t wait to see Fern all done up! Are you still planning to Cadiganize her?

  9. November 21, 2006 12:03 pm

    You’ve been so busy! It’s all gorgeous sweetie.

  10. Sam permalink
    November 21, 2006 1:47 pm

    Yeehaw, Mel – that’s all just beautiful, and I love that scarf. Thank you for pointing out the mitts – I’ve been looking for something to do with some wee bits that Michael bought for me, and that’s perfect. The spinning is all gorgeous, of course. Is that Fern I see peeking her head underneath the new spindle? Lovely, lovely, lovely…

  11. November 21, 2006 7:10 pm

    I love the scarf and mitts. What a great idea to leave a hole for the thumb. Makes them so flexible!

  12. November 22, 2006 11:43 am

    OMG that yarn looks so beautiful. That is the stuff that makes me wish I could spin. I supposed I could if I actually practiced on my wheel. But man ~ I sure wish I was you casting on a scarf ;^>

  13. November 24, 2006 9:33 am

    Wow, that Grafton spins up beautifully…I have some very muted colours in Grafton batts, but that one is awesome! Great job..you’ve been busy!

  14. November 24, 2006 11:05 am

    I just got my first Forrester spindle recently as well. How are you liking yours? Lovely spinning, such pretty colors.

  15. Jen permalink
    November 24, 2006 5:37 pm

    Your spinning is just beautiful, Mel and that scarf and that hiking scarf is so yummy!

  16. November 26, 2006 7:17 am

    Linda of Grafton Fibers usually uses Corriedale.
    Your work is so lovely. Nice modification of the mitts, and excellent utility.

  17. December 6, 2006 5:02 pm

    Wow Mel! Everything looks so gorgeous. The LG2 sure hums along with the smaller stuff on it doesn’t it? I think I actually really like mine now.

Leave a Reply

