Skip to content

One per person

November 27, 2006
by

Emily and I each have one sock. Does that constitute a pair of socks??

(That, by the way, is Emily’s first photograph taken for this blog. She proceeded to photograph cats for awhile.)

My sock is the Jaywalker sock in Lisa’s Emerald City Sock! and Emily’s is a plain old sock in old Patons Kroy. I had a whole bunch of this yarn, bought on sale at a discounter. I later sold it all off except for two balls because I knew Emily would love the color. I think I can see why it was at the discounter – it’s not like any other Kroy I’ve ever laid hands on, and the ball band has what has to be a mistake on it. The yarn is thin, splitty, and has no body whatsoever – I’m hoping it will firm up after a machine wash, but I have no clue how well it will wear. Luckily little feet will outgrow it before it wears out. Also, the ball band says 8 spi on a 3mm needle. ??? This yarn knit on a size 3 needle would look like lace. I’m using a size 1 and thinking it’d be better on a size 0. A very peculiar little yarn for sure.

Speaking of peculiar yarn, I knitted myself the ‘Fetching’ fingerless mitts from the summer issue of knitty. They use one ball of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran, the pilling champion – I had a few balls left from a sweater I once knitted. The sweater is a mass of pills but these mitts are knitted at a much tighter gauge and it seems to improve the yarn. They are cozy and comfortable and it’s amazing how much warmer they make me feel at night when the house is cold.

The pattern says you will finish with less than a yard of yarn. I finished with two yards but I think it’s because I made a couple of modifications to the pattern. I didn’t want the top to flare around the fingers, so I decreased behind the center cable on each needle when doing the cable row at the knuckles. Instead of knitting the two stitches that twist behind, I knitted them together. This is a trick I learned from knitting Eris – she hides lots of increases and decreases behind cable twists in a clever way. Also, I didn’t do the ‘picot’ bindoff, partly because I couldn’t quite figure out how to execute it ahd my hands were cold! It seemed like it would add width there too, and I didn’t want that, so I just bound off. If I had done the pattern exactly as written I probably would have had to break into another ball. But it was easy – only about 4 hours of knitting, and I have been wearing them every night.

I plyed two more skeins of my brown bluefaced leicester. These are about 3 1/2 ounces and 180 yards each. I still have a ton to go, so I will have a very usable batch of aran-weight yarn.

I was eyeing the ‘Pewter Coat’ from the winter issue of Interweave for this yarn, as it’s exactly the shape I’m looking for (sort of a swing coat) – but I am very put off by how she achieves her shaping. She starts knitting at the bottom on size 8 needles, changes to size 7 at the hips and size 6 at the waist, back to size 7 at the chest… The sleeves begin on size 8 and go to size 9. Now how can it be that the yarn will make just as nice a fabric and show the patterning just as well on 4mm needles as on 6mm?? The answer, to me, is that it won’t, and therefore I won’t knit the pattern. The yarn she uses is 85% cashmere (rob a bank, anyone?), I don’t know if that yarn would be more likely to perform the required miracle than ordinary wool. I would honestly prefer that designers do a little more work and make something that has real shaping.

I also made a lot of progress on the Marseilles pullover (Interweave, summer 2006).

I am really enjoying knitting this pattern and working with this yarn (WEBS Lenox). Very very pleasant to the touch. I want to have this one to wear around the house come January.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    November 27, 2006 6:07 pm

    Gosh, you’ve been exceedingly productive! I love the modifications you made to the fingerless mittens. They look great, and so does the pullover and the spinning – I want to squeeze those skeins! I can’t believe you get all this done while working full time and having the wee one too – can she get any cuter?

  2. November 28, 2006 6:01 am

    the socks are fun:-) The bfl would look beautiful in that coat. I would trust Shirley Paden. I love her designs. The Marseilles pullover looks like one of those sweaters you would wear all of the time!

  3. November 29, 2006 8:07 pm

    You’ve been busy! Emily’s first picture for the blog – she’s a real photgrapher! You look great and sooo happy! You two make a really cute pair! Love the fetching mitts, they are on my to do list.

  4. December 1, 2006 2:52 pm

    yes!

  5. Sam permalink
    December 2, 2006 2:02 am

    Yay, Emmy! Yay, Caroline! Does this make her a soon-to-be-famous blogtographer? I might need her to come help me. The mitts are lovely, the socks *definitely* make a pair, and the sweater is coming along beautifully. The BFL is practically glowing, and I do hope you swatch it out for the Shirley Paden – I think it would be gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

