Skip to content

Socks, and so forth

December 4, 2006
by

If you measured in socks, I think I would come out looking like I’d had a productive year.

(If you measured in the cleanliness/absence of dust bunnies under my bed, as you can see, I would not come out looking so good…)

These are the Jaywalker socks in Lisa’s Emerald City Sock! and I could not wait to get them on and wear them. The color is just fantastic, it looks great in all different kinds of lighting.

I really did all I could to botch up this pattern. I intentionally narrowed the leg by 8 stitches halfway down, because I knew I needed them to be narrower around my ankles, and I am glad I did. If you tend to have skinny ankles, the 76 stitch circumference will just be too much for you, despite the zigzag.

Then, I unintentionally left too many stitches on the sole. You are supposed to continue the gusset decreases past where you end up with the same number of stitches on each needle again, so that there are fewer stitches in the sole (to compensate for the inelastic and zigzaggy upper). I forgot. I just quit when I had the initial number of stitches on the sole needles, because that is just what you DO when you make socks. I think it turned out ok, because I was already running a total of 8 stitches smaller around than the pattern. Also you are supposed to slip a stitch at each side of the sole, to carry the appearance of the leg down the sides of the foot. I occasionally forgot. But it all looks just fine anyhow.

I have the foot of Emily’s second sock to get done but I am already plotting my next socky move.

This is the ‘feather and fan’ pattern from the old XRX book Socks Socks Socks, and a hank of Fleece Artist sock yarn (‘fat’ version). I think feather and fan can support a wild and crazy handpainted yarn, and the fatter gauge yarn might help with the general inelasticity of feather and fan stitch. Complaint about the yarn: why didn’t they bother to print yardage on the label? or weight? or SOMETHING? Nothing to indicate how much you’re getting. I find this annoying.

I finished the back (or front) of Marseilles, and started on the front (or back).

I just love this yarn and it’s so cozy to sit down and knit with it at the end of a day.

The pattern has a ‘boat neck’ with a garter edge, which is part of why I like it: none of that boring crew neck or tall bothersome turtleneck stuff going on here. When you put the shoulder stitches on holders, it tells you to put 11 for the smallest two sizes. I counted off the 11 stitches and thought – that can’t be right. The photo in the magazine is labeled as showing the 38 inch size so I looked to see if I could tell where her shoulder seams end, and it is pretty clear to me that there are more than 11 stitches joined together at the shoulders of that sweater. So I put 17 on the holder (the number they tell you to hold for the larger sizes). I like the neck shape but I would like it to be a little more closed up. I think if it turns out that I am not happy with it, it will be pretty easy to change – at the top of the knitted piece, you knit 4 or 5 rows of garter stitch all the way across, then hold the shoulders and bind off the center, so I can always just undo the bindoff and take a few more stitches into it.

I am about 1/3 of the way done with the second piece, and I realize that the sleeves will be deadly boring – no cabling on them, just the simple K1P4 ribbing. I fear progress will slow down significantly once we get to that little bit of deadliness.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    December 4, 2006 12:02 pm

    Good gourd, woman – I can’t keep up with all your progress! The socks look fabulous on your feet. As for the STR lack of yardage labeling, consider it a Zen exercise in trusting that you’ll have enough yardage. 😉 And the progress on Marseille – ai yi yi! That is one fabulous color, and it looks so good over those cables.

  2. December 4, 2006 8:02 pm

    Love the red sweater! That’s going to look great on you!

  3. December 4, 2006 8:05 pm

    Funny you should mention the yardage issue–I have a skein of Fleece Artist textured silk with –no yardage- at all. I’m knitting a skinny scarf out of it and I’m learning to live with the zen of not knowing what I don’t know. (or something.)
    Your knitting project progress is amazing. On my Jaywalkers, I just kept doing the pattern, even on the foot. I thought it would be uncomfortable on the soles of my feet, but you know, it isn’t! Mine don’t slouch either, but my ankles and calves aren’t wildly different in size…people come in so many sizes!

  4. December 5, 2006 12:07 am

    We measure things in feet all the time, so why not socks? 😉 Love that F&F pattern – it does do well with varigated yarn, so enjoy!

  5. December 5, 2006 10:49 am

    ‘Sfunny, I am doing the F&F in Lisa Souza’s Pacific colorway. I’ve combined your two sock projects in one!
    I bought a scale for such questions as unlabelled yarn. I have found that the weight I get varies from the labelled weight. And I don’t do toe up (yet).

  6. December 5, 2006 4:55 pm

    No yardage info on the label would bug me, too. I’d probably get an estimate by winding it onto a niddy noddy and then into a center pull ball. The red cabled sweater is looking lovely as are the socks.

  7. Melanie permalink
    December 5, 2006 10:58 pm

    The Jaywalkers could not fit better, they’re so pretty! Your Marseilles sweater will look smashing with your Eleanora socks.

Leave a Reply

