Skip to content

Not so much

December 11, 2006
by

Well it seems I knitted like mad all week, and don’t have much of anything blogworthy. I finished the back of Marseilles. It looks just exactly like the front. I started a sleeve. It looks pretty much like 4 inches of nothing. I finished another bobbin of brown bluefaced leicester. It’s not plyed.
I finished Emily’s socks.

She’s delighted because they’re kind of soft and they’re her favorite color. Aside from that, the best that can be said about them is that she will outgrow them by next winter. I hated the yarn – hated knitting with it, hated the blue marks on my fingers that I started to get when I got into the later part of the ball, hated it. I put the socks through the washer before she wore them and it did give them a little more body, but obviously this yarn was a Mistake that ended up on discount. Buyer beware… The leftovers are going into the trash, and I need to waft an apology out to the Knitswapper that I sold a bunch of this yarn to (whoever they are). Sorry! I had no idea.
I started a new sock. This is Fleece Artist (fat version) and the ‘Feather and Fan’ sock from the old XRX Socks socks socks book.

I think they’re going to be really neat looking.

To make up for not having much of anything to post today, here’s a shot of the sock tray in my cedar chest.

Really reaching, aren’t I??

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2006 9:40 am

    I like the sock drawer shot – lots of color and texture there! Hmmm, that makes me realize that I need more hand knit socks. 🙂
    Can’t wait to see the finished fan & feather sock.

  2. Barb permalink
    December 11, 2006 9:49 am

    I love your sock drawer. I wish mine was that organized and held so many treasures (in pairs no less!). It’s fun to recognize the projects you’ve knit tucked away safely. Emily’s socks are my Mom’s favorite color as well. I hate dye coming off on my hands. Needles getting discolored is fine, but dye on my fingers announces my addition to knitting where ever I go 🙂

  3. December 11, 2006 11:58 am

    I, too, love the photo of the sock drawer! It’s the epitome of what all of we sock knitters strive for: colorful, warm abundance!

  4. Sam permalink
    December 11, 2006 1:18 pm

    Well, Emmy’s feet look happy! I’m sorry it was so unpleasant a project, but am glad for you that it’s over. I love your sock tray – that was just the colorful pick me up that I needed today!

  5. December 11, 2006 7:06 pm

    You’re not reaching I loved the sock drawer shot.
    I’m not showing Mina Emmy’s socks-they are her fav color. It’ll give her ideas.

  6. December 11, 2006 7:27 pm

    That’s not reaching! That’s showing FO’s en masse. A good thing. I’ll tell ya what reaching is, I have an emergency blog post in my head for when I have notheing to say. It’s a recipe. How sad….

  7. December 11, 2006 8:03 pm

    I have sock envy.

  8. December 12, 2006 12:31 pm

    I love the sock drawer! Gorgeous. 🙂 I haven’t had any blog-worthy knitting for ages now, but it sure hasn’t stopped me from posting! 😉

  9. Melanie permalink
    December 12, 2006 11:28 pm

    Lurve your sock drawer! Looks like there might be a happy little girl attached to those blue-socked feet. You’re a good mamma to knit with yarn you hate because your kiddo loves the colour.

  10. December 14, 2006 9:30 pm

    You can never have too many photos of handknit sock collections!

  11. December 16, 2006 4:50 pm

    Your daughter looks adorable in her socks — but I know what you mean about hating yarn/project. Was the blue from hand dying? You sure have made a lot of socks and I love Marseilles! Can’t wait to see it finished. I agreed with your comment about Eris and the cables — I hide a lot behind cables. I made Rogue and have the yarn for Eris — maybe that should be my next start. I say “start” because it does not guarantee a finish. Thanks for visiting our blog!!

Leave a Reply

