Skip to content

Parallel parking

January 8, 2007
by

You know how when you parallel park, you go back, and forward, and back, and forward, and when you’re done you’re sitting still? That’s what this weekend was like in knitting.

I knitted and knitted and knitted every night on my Spinners Shawl while listening to back episodes of Cast On, and realized about 1/3 of the way through the border pattern that I would NEVER have enough yarn. I briefly considered spinning more, then I decided I should just rip back. So I ripped out 10 rows of border, and two 10-row repeats of the main pattern, then started going forward again. I have now knitted 16 rows of the border, but this one is going to look the same as it did last week until it’s actually being worn.

I turned the heel on my feather-and-fan sock #2 and knitted the gusset. While I was working on it during the week I suddenly thought – oops I’ve done too many gusset decreases – there are 16 stitches on each needle on the leg and I had gone past 16 on the sole needles. So I ripped back the extra decrease rows. Then on Saturday while knitting during Emily’s swimming class, I realized that I was supposed to decrease down to 14 on each of those needles so I’d have 60 foot stitches. So when I got home I ripped out the one inch of foot I’d knitted and went back to add two more decrease rows on the gusset.

I forgot to take my photos until after dark, so they are not the pretty natural-light shots I’ve been getting since last month.

I kept spinning my brown bluefaced leicester. I knitted a swatch with it too:

This is moss stitch, on size 7 needles. It made a nice fabric, but I was shooting for 22 stitches and 28 rows over 4 inches and I got 21 stitches and 26 rows. Too big for what I was hoping to make with it. I had a brainstorm last night as to what pattern might work – we will swatch again this week and see if my guess is right.

I also got some 100% cashmere yarn in a light DK weight from the eBay seller ‘colourmart’, enabled by Jan… Because it came oiled on the cone, I hanked and washed it before knitting so I would actually get some enjoyment out of the process. It still needs more washing, but after 2 or 3 soaks in Dawn about 60% of the oil seems to be out of it.

I wanted to knit something special – something light, not cabled or ribbed, and with a little lace, but not a LACE item necessarily… I ended up starting the Trellis scarf, by Evelyn Clark from a back issue of Interweave Knits.

I think this will be just right – I won’t block it hard or fight its tendency to fuzz, so it won’t be the perfect lace, but I think it will be quite pretty.

That’s all I have today. Here is a cuteness shot of a little old kitty having her nap.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    January 8, 2007 11:13 am

    I can already see that Trellis is going to look fabulous in the cashmere yarn. I bet you’re going to love wrapping yourself in that! I had a back and forth weekend too. I sewed the sleeves into Fern and didn’t realize that they were not in properly until after I was well into knitting the shoulder saddle. Shazbot!
    Bridget looks so comfortable and serene. That’s the kind of picture you want to come back and look at when you’re feeling harried.

  2. January 8, 2007 11:50 am

    I envy your ability to knit lace. I’m beginning to think that I do not have the attention span…worked on the ‘Alpine Lace’ scarf and managed to screw it up twice. Of course, I was reading from the chart, not the best strategy for moi. Should probably revert to writing-out each row of the chart on note cards.
    Ang

  3. January 8, 2007 12:51 pm

    Hm. Notecards. Interesting idea for something that doesn’t have many rows and where the chart somehow doesn’t work for my brain…

  4. June P permalink
    January 8, 2007 1:57 pm

    Ooh, your BFL looks so perfect! It’s really lovely spinning that you do, Ms. Caroline! I wish I were your kitty right now, it’s cold here in KY!

  5. Jan permalink
    January 8, 2007 3:07 pm

    Beautiful biffle and the cashmere is lush. So, would you prewash the next cone the same way?

  6. Zeila permalink
    January 8, 2007 4:08 pm

    Is that your sweet Brigid? I really miss my late kitty.

  7. January 8, 2007 8:41 pm

    The cashmere is perfect for that scarf. It will be loverly.
    I love watching cats sleep. I wish I could curl up like that!

  8. January 9, 2007 11:54 am

    I just listened to the most recent podcast of Cast On because of your blog. I’m new to podcasts and have found some of them to be pretty inane. But I figured if you were listening to back episodes, Cast On must be worthwhile. Thanks for the recommendation. And if I haven’t mentioned it, I love your Winter’s Eve socks.

  9. January 10, 2007 9:24 pm

    I want to kiss your kitty, sooooo cute. 🙂

  10. January 10, 2007 10:13 pm

    your bfl looks too perfect to be hanspun!

  11. January 14, 2007 1:59 pm

    Can’t wait to see the lace tam knitted up!
    I LOVE the BFL — and it IS too perfect for words. Your description of “it looks nice” is the ultimate understatement. You are an awesome spinner and knitter!

Leave a Reply

