Skip to content

Many many pictures

January 15, 2007
by

We have a day off today so I am catching up on all the things I haven’t gotten taken care of around here. I forgot to post the mittens last week – they were done fairly quickly and finally have all the required parts.

To my surprise I find they are not all that warm. Maybe it’s the fact that the yarn is very light and I am used to mittens done in heavier yarn. Fortunately this winter is not all that cold so it’ll be ok, and next winter Emmy will get worsted weight mittens. Meanwhile, I bought a few more colors of the yarn (Knitpicks Palette) to attempt to recolor them in shades of pink and purple with an accent of grey. Since I am color impaired this will be a very interesting experiment. The yarn is a nice all-purpose fingering weight yarn that would make light-weight sweaters for those who do not live in an aran weight climate.

I finished up my feather and fan socks this week, too, and wore them immediately.

I really like this pattern (from the XRX book Socks socks socks) – it fits my leg very well and the pattern is much more elastic than I expected it would be. I didn’t knit the heel flap as written and wouldn’t recommend that to anybody – it’s just ribbed, no heel stitch for durability. I suppose that is why it seemed to be so short – the pattern calls for 20 rows of ribbed heel, and 20 rows is usually the length of heel flaps I make for Emily. I lengthened it, but not enough, and I would lengthen it more next time I make the pattern.

The yarn is Fleece Artist sock (the ‘fat’ version) and it was perfect for the pattern.

I was thinking I would lay off sock knitting for awhile – I made 7 1/2 pairs for myself last year and 2 for Emily – but I have so much beautiful yarn and so many nice patterns that I started another pair right away. The picture didn’t come out good so there isn’t one, but the pattern is the ‘Monkey’ sock from the winter issue of Knitty, and the yarn is some Tessyarns sock yarn in beautiful shades of purple, medium blue, and blue-green. Oddly enough, it’s bleeding blue dye on my fingers which I didn’t expect from this yarn. I guess these will go into a vinegar and hot water bath before I wear them the first time. I love the colors and the way it’s working up.

I also finished my Spinners Shawl (the new pattern by Evelyn Clark).

This was made from some of Lisa Souza’s superfine merino in the color ‘Wild Things’, spun two-ply at a sort of dk weight.

It came out really big – it’s almost four feet tall at the point. I tried to use up all the yarn, and came fairly close. The thing to know about this pattern is that the border is much deeper than you expect – the main pattern repeat is 10 rows, which you do as long as you feel like, but the border is almost 40 rows and eats up a lot of yarn. I knit the main pattern 13 times but it was clear about halfway into the border that I wasn’t going to make it, so I ripped back the border rows plus two main pattern repeats and did it again and it was much better. I’d almost say the border alone takes half of the yarn. The border is quite pretty.

This is the softest, cuddliest thing. I seem to have a predilection for purple shawls. I have to say, though, that I think Flower Basket is her best all-purpose shawl pattern.

I continued knitting on the Trellis scarf with my cashmere yarn. I think it will be lovely.

The little maneuver where she decreases 7 stitches into 5 seems insane at first, but once you get the hang of it and knit the pattern repeat a few times, you can see how beautifully it works.

Emily has inherited my old 2 megapixel camera and is running around the house photographing me, cats, herself, furniture, etc. etc. This is her photo essay on mommy spinning.

“I wanted to take a picture of Mommy with the spinning wheel.”

“I like to take pictures of Mommy because I like to see the yarn she’s making.”

“I like the spinning wheel.”

“I like Mommy’s spinning wheel because it’s beautiful and I like the color of it.”

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2007 3:11 pm

    Emmy’s a great photojournalist! As usual, your finished objects are lovely. Regarding the mittens, you can always “double mitten” in colder weather. (tuck one mitten inside another) It’s a little harder to move your hands but it’s oh so warm for super cold days. (if we ever have one of those again…)

  2. January 15, 2007 3:18 pm

    Lovely stuff! What kind of spinning wheel is that?

  3. January 15, 2007 4:41 pm

    Emily is right, your spinning wheel is indeed beautiful! As is the shawl, the yarn that you used is absolutely perfect for it.
    I seem to remember wearing gloves inside mittens when the weather gets really cold, too… something to consider since the mittens you knit are so lightweight. They’re so pretty though! The new colorway you’re going to try sounds good to me too, but I’m severely color illiterate, so I guess we’ll both have to wait and see!

  4. January 15, 2007 6:07 pm

    All the FO’s! How do you get so much done? The spinners shawl is gorgeous, I love the colorway. You can just tell from the photo how warm and cozy it is. That’s on my list of things to knit. I am glad to see that I am not the only one to have child photo essays. Digital cameras are great for the kids, you can delete all the photos that did not turn out. Of course, Emmy seems a bit more talented than mine.

  5. January 15, 2007 7:08 pm

    love love love the shawl!
    emily’s photo essay is wonderful, she has a great eye ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. January 15, 2007 7:47 pm

    That shawl is glorious! I love the size, and being merino there’s plenty to spare if it starts shrinking away. Love the photo essay, Emily has a real knack with the camera.

  7. January 15, 2007 8:04 pm

    Good job, Emmy!
    I love that spinner’s shawl! I even have some of that same yarn spun up… hmmmmm….

  8. Elaine permalink
    January 16, 2007 2:45 am

    Is that a Kromski Symphony I see? Hmmm… How do you like it? I’ve thought about one. How long did it take the squeakies to go away from oil, oil, oil some more? I hear that is what it takes for that leather to get good and saturated… but it is a beautiful wheel… Love the shawl, I have the yarn ready, but haven’t yet bitten the bullet and started on anything that complicated yet… simple Pi’s are all I’ve done. Soon, though… February, I think.
    I wish I’d made it to Madrona last year. I am trying to convince myself to go this year, even though the classes I wanted are FULL, and I’d have to shell out major for what/who is left. Worth it?
    Elaine

  9. January 16, 2007 12:00 pm

    I always like gloves under mittens in really cold weather, so you don’t have to have bare hands to fumble with keys. And I love the Feather and Fan socks, and am in complete agreement about the heel flap. What were they thinking?

  10. Melanie permalink
    January 16, 2007 3:36 pm

    Emmy’s photo essay is priceless! I hope she does more of them. She has a good eye with the camera. That she loves your wheel just tickles me pink.
    The mittens and socks are lovely, but, oh my, I love the shawl! That one just moved up a notch on my list. How much fibre did it take? I have some of Lisa’s Deep Sea BFL calling my name.

  11. January 16, 2007 5:12 pm

    I can see that I am going to need to find the pattern for that Spinner’s Shawl – it’s gorgeous!
    Love the mitts and socks as well (is it a trick of the monitor, or do the colour families match?)
    Give Miss Emmy a big hug for me. The photo essay is wonderful.

  12. January 16, 2007 8:44 pm

    Your FOs are all gorgeous. I love your shawl and that is handspun. I need to knit more with my handspun.

  13. Barb permalink
    January 17, 2007 2:00 am

    Great job Emily! Being on the warm side most of the time, I love those mittens even more now. They are beautious. The spinners shawl is in my patterns for upcoming shawls soon. I love how yours turned out. Now I must hurry and get through my current projects so I can start mine.

  14. January 17, 2007 9:01 am

    Hi everyone! Yes the wheel is a Kromski Symphony and I really like it a lot, I have got it all tuned and oiled and waxed to the point that it runs like a dream.

  15. January 17, 2007 4:54 pm

    The shawl is beautiful! I have to get me some of that Lisa Souza fiber.

  16. January 17, 2007 11:53 pm

    Wowza! Gorgeous gorgeous stuff, Ms. Caroline! And nice pics too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. January 18, 2007 4:52 pm

    Your shawl is gorgeous!!

  18. January 30, 2007 4:46 am

    Ohh, your kitty really look a lot like Rosy…..except for the eye color!:-) And your knitting looks absolutely Yummy!!:-)

Leave a Reply

