Skip to content

Stymied

January 22, 2007
by

After having no winter for most of winter, we got one half of one inch of winter last night and today is a mess. Schools are opening two hours late. The neighbors who said Emily could wait with them when schools opened late apparently rolled over and went back to sleep. So I might as well get the blogging done since I have to be on vacation for awhile this morning. Not that there is blogging to do.

This weekend was wonderfully cold. Definitely sweater weather. Yesterday for some reason I didn’t want to knit my wool sock, I wanted to work with something cushy. So I picked up some Elsebeth Lavold Angora that I got on clearance at WEBS and started a hat for Emily. The first picture is a better representation of the color and the second one is a better representation of the hat itself.

This stuff is making the most wonderful hat. I’m glad I also have two hanks in magenta for myself. It really is nice yarn, but I can see why it didn’t take off the way Silky Wool did. The yardage is terrible (90 yards for an original retail of I think about $9) and a sweater in this would be hot and heavy. But it is the most perfect hat/scarf yarn, and now it’s only 3.99 on closeout so it’s a good deal for a really nice hat.

I am using my favorite hat pattern for it.

I have turned the heel on my first Monkey sock in my Tess yarn.

I think these are going to be pretty. I can’t tell yet how the legs will fit.

I am keeping on with the Trellis scarf, which should be done this week. The nice thing about a rectangle is that the rows don’t get longer as you go along….

Well, that’s all I got. I need to go fret about when I’m going to be able to call my sleepy neighbors again. Argh.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2007 10:44 am

    All of that knitting is just gorgeous. What is the name of the pattern for the hat? The link didn’t work for me.
    Ang

  2. January 22, 2007 11:58 am

    The trellis scarf is on my list, and yours looks beautiful! I’ve had one failed attempt at lace, so the shape of this pattern appeals to me. I won’t have to increase to 300 or 400 stitches! And cashmere…yummmm.

  3. January 22, 2007 3:00 pm

    Oops they updated their site. The hat link has been updated in the entry so it should work now!

  4. January 22, 2007 6:43 pm

    That looks like a wonderfully soft and cushy hat. I’m really liking the Tess’ Yarns colourway with the Monkey socks, very successful combination of pattern and yarn. The Trellis scarf looks beautiful, guess I’ll have to go and see if I can find that pattern at some point 😉
    Hope your snow woes have cleared up.

  5. January 22, 2007 7:34 pm

    Love the shot of the hat on the keyboard! And am looking forward to seeing that scarf all blocked out.

  6. January 23, 2007 2:05 am

    Oh, what a bummer about the neighbors! If I were your neighbor, I would be THERE for you. Did Emmy get to get out and enjoy the sprinkling of snow? Where’s the mini snowman pictures?

  7. Melanie permalink
    January 23, 2007 3:28 pm

    Mmmm, nice cushy hat for Emmy, hugs for the head, as Kerry would say. The Tess colours are working beautifully in the monkey sock, and Trellis looks lovely.

  8. Sam permalink
    January 27, 2007 1:52 pm

    That looks like a wonderfully soft hat! I also think the colors are working great for the Monkey sock. Good choice of pattern for color. I’ve still got a skein in stash – time to get to turned into something. The Trellis is lovely – hope we get to see some modeling pictures. I hope Emmy got to have the big fun in the snow!

Leave a Reply

