Skip to content

Swathed in cashmere

January 29, 2007
by

I finished my Trellis scarf the other day. I am so delighted with it. It’s the perfect combination of luxury and utility.

It ended up about 6 feet long and 12 inches across and used almost all of one cone of DK weight cashmere (really more of a sport weight when knitted up) from the eBay seller Colourmart (they also have their own website now, apparently). It took several soaks, in the skein and also at blocking, to get the spinning oil to come out, but it’s very soft and beautiful now.

The pattern is easy to knit (even the odd maneuver with knitting 7 together into 5 is not difficult once you find a small enough crochet hook and get the hang of it) and I will absolutely knit it again. I didn’t block it hard, because I wanted it to stay cushy and scarf-sized, so the lace is not as open as you might see in other photos of laceweight versions.

When I got to the end of the scarf, and finished the ending border chart of 13 rows, I was astonished to see that the end was not going to have points like the beginning. This totally floored me, so I put it down and googled to see what people had done. Turns out that this was a well-known ‘feature’ of the pattern that many others had already discussed. There appeared to be three schools of thought on the subject: Knit it as written and live with it having one pointy end and one flat end; knit it as written and block the bejeezus out of it; knit a second end like the beginning and graft it onto live stitches so the scarf will match.

Being me, I decided to try a fourth approach. I ripped back the border rows and improvised a solution as I went along that I believed would introduce points. I don’t think I could tell anyone exactly what I did, but I think it worked quite well and if I can do it anybody can do it. I increased in the center of the plain stockinette sections, and decreased on the sides of them, and it magically worked out. You can see in these photos that there is a slight difference because I didn’t realize for a few rows that I could put the yarn overs back in and get a better match, so there are a couple of holes missing, but I am really happy with how it came out.

I wore it this morning in the cold and wind and I’m just in love with it. My cushy ribbed merino scarf is just going to have to take a vacation while I bond with this one.

I finished our angora hats last week.

When I got all done, I wished I hadn’t put the little blue edge on mine, but it’s still a soft cushy warm hat. If that yarn (Elsebeth Lavold Angora) comes back on clearance at WEBS again, I will probably buy a little more.

I finished one of the Monkey socks and started the next one. It’s looking very nice in that Tess yarn. Oddly enough, that sock is the only thing I have on the needles right now. I started knitting something with my brown bluefaced leicester that is not yet finished being spun, and after awhile it became clear that while it was making a very nice fabric, I wouldn’t have enough yarn to finish the item. So, I frogged, and have to wait for the pattern I think is going to be my perfect fit for the yarn. I guess I will just knit my sock until something else inspires me…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    January 29, 2007 10:59 am

    I think that’s a perfectly elegant solution – nice job! You’ll be so happy wearing that cushy baby. It looks soooo warm. The hats are also lovely – let it snow! You and Em are ready. 🙂

  2. January 29, 2007 9:01 pm

    Great job on the scarf! A very elegant solution.

  3. January 29, 2007 10:19 pm

    cashmere, yum!

  4. January 29, 2007 11:38 pm

    That scarf is lovely. Very nice work. That cashmere must feel luxurious!
    Ang

  5. Lisak permalink
    January 30, 2007 11:34 am

    Beautiful! I love your version of the ending border. I think I will have to try something like that if I ever get to the end of the one I started.

  6. January 30, 2007 4:00 pm

    Thanks ms beannut and you are the 1900th comment on our little blogette. You win the fabulous prize of a big smile from us!

  7. January 30, 2007 4:39 pm

    Trellis is just stunning. I think I will have to give it a try before next winter.
    The hats look cozy and warm. I’ll be sure to keep my eye out for the next WEBS sale.

  8. February 2, 2007 1:45 pm

    Trellis is gorgeous!!

  9. February 2, 2007 10:50 pm

    Wow, what a yummy scarf! I had no idea about the ends not matching. You did a fabulous job of fixing that glitch. This was on my list of things I wanted to make, so thanks for the fourth solution!!
    The hats look wonderfully warm. Nicely done!

  10. Melanie permalink
    February 3, 2007 12:06 am

    Fantastic job of matching the ends of the scarf! It’s beautiful, and it must feel wonderful having yummy cashmere around your neck. The hats look soft and warm and yummy.

  11. February 5, 2007 4:04 am

    the trellis scarf is beautiful!

  12. February 5, 2007 9:15 am

    That scarf looks beautiful. I would probably have done the tricky grafting solution b/c I wouldn’t have thought of the easier way. (But it would drive me nuts to not have the ends match!)

  13. February 5, 2007 9:08 pm

    Wow! I love the scarf! I’m with you, the mis-matched ends would have driven me crazy and I like the solution you came up with.

Leave a Reply

