Skip to content

Spinning and Knitting in Hawaii

February 5, 2007

Aloha from Molokai.

I brought my spindles, my needles and wheel.

I brought my patterns and books.

The skein.

The plan.

The WIP.

Which grew.

And sagged, and sagged.

And sagged.

The RIP.

This week has got to be better.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2007 3:33 pm

    Hi Jan! Lovely pictures! Glad to see you here!

  2. February 5, 2007 4:04 pm

    The yarn is lovely. What fiber is it? Looks a little like silk. yes?
    Ang

  3. Jan permalink
    February 5, 2007 4:24 pm

    Good eye! It’s a tussah top called ‘Darling Clementine’ from Carol Weymar (www.thesilkworker.com). Spinning and plying Clementine was the maiden voyage of my Little Gem2 wheel, which made the 2500 mile trip with less jet lag than I did.

  4. February 5, 2007 5:13 pm

    Aloha Jan,
    The scarf looked lovely 😦
    A shame about the growing.
    I hope that you are enjoying Molokai for me.

  5. February 5, 2007 6:08 pm

    Too bad about the scarf – it looked very pretty… but the yarn is gorgeous, and, well, at least you’re in Hawaii!

  6. February 5, 2007 9:03 pm

    Jan,
    gorgeous yarn! Sorry you had to frog your scarf, but if I had to rip a project I’d sure rather do it in Hawaii! 😉
    Your pictures always make me long to be back there!

  7. Mel permalink
    February 5, 2007 9:28 pm

    Gorgeous silk! The scarf was lovely too. It’s a bummer that it sagged. Thanks for the taste of Molokai.

  8. February 5, 2007 10:11 pm

    OMG. I hate it here so much. Why can’t I be in Hawaii?
    So what’s the next plan for the silk?

  9. Sam permalink
    February 6, 2007 12:58 pm

    Jan, the yarn is lovely – it will find its project, I’m sure. And with views like that? Well, I suppose there are worse places to work out a yarn problem. 😉 Thank you for the lovely colors, both yarn and location.

  10. February 6, 2007 3:47 pm

    Oh Jan it was so pretty I’m sorry it sagged. I’m glad you are having nice weather. We are freezing over here.

  11. February 7, 2007 12:38 pm

    good to hear from you, Jan! Silk does sag. Yup. It is beautiful though, and remember, we like knitting. (right?) so maybe you can reknit it in a more textured or ribbed stitch? That helps with sagging…
    Glad to hear your Little Gem made the journey well, and the photos are lovely.

  12. February 7, 2007 3:45 pm

    that’s too bad about the sagging. the yarn was showcased well in that pattern. i’m sure you’ll find a better one for the yarn.
    molokai is great for star-gazing.

  13. February 8, 2007 1:12 am

    I once had a silk scarf that I’d made quite long, that sagged to such great ridiculousness that there was no way… I cut it in the center into two scarves and made two people happy with it, and it worked. Just in case that might help at all next time.

  14. February 9, 2007 10:18 pm

    Wow! I chanced upon this site while doing a search for Fiesta Yarns Kokopelli.
    Neat to see another knitter who reads the same political blogs that I do! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

