Skip to content

More of the same

February 19, 2007
by

The knitting around here is just more of the same from last week. Here is the left front of the Swing Coat, in the brown handspun bluefaced leicester.

I’m really excited about how this is turning out, despite the fact that my knitting does not show knit/purl patterns well for whatever reason. I’ve made good progress on the right front too, maybe 6 inches.

The Lupine Lace sock is also progressing nicely and has part of a foot, but the photo of it came out so blurry that I’ll just defer that one till next week.

Here is the Cats Day shawl – looking like a mushed up net bag now that I am knitting the border. It will look like this until I get it done. It’s on a 40 inch circular needle and has 500 stitches per round and I’m about to begin knitting 70 rounds where I increase 8 stitches every other round, so it’s going to go slower and slower and slower and slower…

I have a peeve with this pattern. If anyone is planning to make this shawl be aware that the directions for picking up for the border, if followed exactly as written, will have you knitting the border on wrong-side-out. Let me see if I can explain. She has you knit the center square, in stockinette lace, which means it has a definite right side (specifically states the wrong side rows are purled), then end the square with a wrong side row and begin picking up stitches down the side and all around to knit the border circularly. As I read it, that would have you picking up stitches clockwise. However, when I knit circularly I progress COUNTERCLOCKWISE. Therefore, I omitted the last wrong side row she tells you to knit on the center square, and picked up my stitches down the side beginning at the end of a right side row so that I would be knitting my right side rows of border with the right side of the center square facing.

Well, that is a terrible explanation, but I hope at least somebody knows what I mean. I thought I was nuts so I asked this question on a list I’m on, and at least one person responded to me that she had the exact same problem with ‘Rosy fingered dawn’ and would have had the border on backwards if she hadn’t realized what was going on, ripped, and figured it out on her own. So, don’t be afraid to use your own judgment at times like this. You know how to knit.

Thanks for all the kind comments on little Bridget. She was the best cat ever, and we miss her a lot. I hope that you didn’t miss the Monkey socks in the knitting entry posted the same day, they came out quite lovely and I recommend the pattern.

PS the handspun fix of the week at the Yarn Museum this week is my yarn!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2007 9:13 am

    I’m glad you caught that mistake in the pattern before proceeding on with the edging. Ripping that out, even after only a couple of rows, would not be fun! Goodness, your skein at the Yarn Museum looks perfect!

  2. Melanie permalink
    February 19, 2007 11:07 am

    I love how the swing coat is knitting up. It looks like it has wonderful drape and is going to be snuggly. Love that BFL.
    Re: Cat’s Day – it sure pays to be a thinking knitter! At the rate you knit, we’ll be seeing the finished shawl in no time at all. I can’t believe the size of that ball of yarn!

  3. February 19, 2007 4:45 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about Bridget. She was a very good soul and I was glad to have met her.
    Congrats on your handspun! Weird coincidence–mine is up in the “Anything Goes” gallery..page 3, but yours deserves a place of honor. It’s gorgeous. I also really dig how the swing coat is coming out. It will look great on you!

  4. February 19, 2007 7:52 pm

    Ohh Pru the handspun fix of the week is gorgeous!!!
    The cat’s paw is looking lovely! I can’t wait to see this one blocked out. You really seem to be moving along on this one!
    The swing coat looks like a very flattering shape!

  5. Sam permalink
    February 20, 2007 2:57 pm

    Wahoo – great photo in the yarn museum, and the sweater is looking *great*, as is the shawl! Congrats. 🙂

  6. Jan permalink
    February 21, 2007 12:53 am

    Love that swing coat. The yarn is perfect for it! Congrats on scoring with the yarn museum. All your WIPs are tantalizing.

  7. February 22, 2007 1:25 am

    I love the sweater! Gorgeous. And, of course, you will wear your cat shawl pin on your cat’s day shawl, right? Right? 😉

  8. February 22, 2007 7:31 pm

    Gorgeous color for the shawl. Can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

