Skip to content

I got mine…

March 6, 2007

You can get yours here: Selbuvotter.

Go see Angela and Vanessa’s beautiful glove and mitten samples knit for the book. I bet you can’t resist buying it.

Comments from 2/21/07 post:

You people are way too kind. Your comments just blew me away.

The Perendale fleece weighed nearly 8 lbs. I sent 2 lbs. to a local processor to be pin drafted, and I washed and combed the rest of it myself. I wanted to see how the pin drafting would compare to hand combed fibre. Pin drafting is great, but combing is still a nicer prep. The yarn for Fern was all wheel spun. I don’t know if it’s the nature of Perendale fleece or if I was just very lucky with this one, but it was so nice to spin, very silky and lustrous. I enjoyed every moment of it.

About the i-cord short rows. To make attached i-cord, you knit the i-cord border stitches on the knit row, but slip them on the purl row, so there is only one row of stitches actually worked on the i-cord edge for every two rows worked on the body of the piece. Every few rows you need to work an extra row on the i-cord border without attaching it to the body to give it a bit of extra length. Knit the i-cord stitches, then slip them back to the left needle and knit them again, then knit the body stitches. If you don’t give it a bit of extra length here and there, it will pull the edge up so that it will curl and not lie flat. I think I probably did an unattached row every six or eight rows.

After all that grey, I got myself a colour fix. This is Evelyn Clark’s Shetland Triangle Shawl from the Wrap Style book. It’s knit with one 500 yard skein of lace weight silk, hand dyed with lac by a local artisan. The lace is the fir cone pattern and it was a soothing knit. This would be a good pattern for a beginning lace knitter. The finished shawl is scarf sized at 56″ wide by 24″ deep.

I like the way the stitches flow around the cone motifs.

And the art shot. The colour is true in this one:

New socks, classic and conservative for work attire. I commute by bus, and warm socks are a necessity. The pattern is an old favourite from the 1983 Fall/Winter Vogue Knitting, and the yarn is Phidar Preface.

In the spinning department, there have been a few smaller wheel spun projects. The top skein is alpaca, about 8 oz, hand dyed by my friend Kerry. The colour makes me think of a frozen pond, frost covered and surrounded by snow. I think it will become a hat and scarf and maybe some wrist warmers.

The bottom skein is merino/silk that I thought was a tweedy green. It didn’t bleed much when I washed it, but now it’s more grey-blue than green. It might become more conservative socks for work.

This was spun from a braid of Fleece Artist Bluefaced Leicester. I wish I had a photo of it before spinning. It was a Christmas gift from my friend Fran, and it was so pretty that I put it in a bowl on th table to look at until it got the better of me. BFL has such beautiful loft, you just want to squeeze it every time you look at it.

Another new spindle (yes, I AM spoiled). This is a Spindlewood, 26g. in olivewood, purchased from Chamelelon Colorworks at the Madrona winter retreat. I love the wood grain and the detailing at the top and tip of the shaft. The fibre is silk from The Artful Ewe, also purchased at Madrona – gorgeous stuff.

And finally, on the wheel, superfine merino from Lisa Souza in the Deep Sea colourway. I’m trying to decide if I want to two or three ply it. Decisions, decisions.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2007 3:31 am

    So much beautiful stuff!The shawl, the yarn, the socks. It’s all gorgeous. The color of the shawl is really stunning.

  2. March 6, 2007 7:46 am

    Wow, I fall asleep at the switch for one day and Melanie comes up with a whole new terrific post. I agree with you about the BFL, I have my blue/green stuff in a basket and I love to look at it. I am spinning some silver merino/tencel now that I’m thinking would make a nice Shetland Triangle.

  3. Mary in VA permalink
    March 6, 2007 9:45 am

    Wow! I don’t know what is the most impressive here! I have some of the Phildar Preface in my sock yarn stash. Thanks for reminding me how gorgeous some of the basics can be!

  4. March 6, 2007 12:20 pm

    WOW! It’s all so lovely… thanks for bringing such pretties into my morning!
    Of course, you don’t even mention what the subtly heathered cabling behind the Spindlewood is…
    Query (from a newer reader, forgive me if you’ve answered this before): Do you do much bulk spinning on your drop spindles? Is is possible match yarn from your spindle-spinning and your wheel spinning for the same project, so you could enjoy both methods?

  5. March 6, 2007 3:38 pm

    Thanks for sharing your gorgeous stuff. You’re right, I couldn’t resist Selbuvotter, especially after seeing the closeup of the cover photo.

  6. March 6, 2007 3:56 pm

    I like the color your green turned into! Your yarns are all so perfect. That scarf/shawl is so pretty. I’m going to see if I can dig up that sock pattern, too.

  7. March 6, 2007 5:12 pm

    That last colourway is SO LUSH! Love it. I am new to your blog – what wheel do you use?

  8. March 6, 2007 5:27 pm

    This whole post is just eye candy! I especially love the photo of the spindle lying on the cables. Gorgeous!

  9. March 6, 2007 7:33 pm

    Wow. Gorgeous! I love the beads on the shawl. Delicious eye candy. 🙂

  10. March 7, 2007 2:41 am

    Wow, Mel, you’ve been busy! Where to start?
    That shawl is just breathtaking, I can’t believe you finished it already! I love that yarn too. You really managed to capture the terrific variations and sheen it has with your photo. You’ll have to remind me where you got it so I can make sure to buy some when I come to Vancouver.
    OH and your spinning is perfection as always. I really like that spindles shot!

  11. March 7, 2007 8:33 am

    Everything is so lovely. Whenever I become full of myself and my spinning/knitting, a trip around blog-land is sure to bring me back to reality ~ sigh. As the old saying goes: “I’m not worthy!”

  12. Jan permalink
    March 7, 2007 11:42 am

    Beautiful pictures. The yarn comes alive on the screen. Your lovely lac shawl is fascinating. The color of royalty. Thanks for the info link. Your conservative socks meld a fine design with the perfect yarm. Classy! I can hardly wait to see what you do next. That gem of a spindle is a real charmer. Your spinning is exquisite as always. Love that feast of blues!!!

  13. March 7, 2007 1:44 pm

    Melanie, everything is beautiful (as usual). I miss you – coffee this weekend?

  14. March 7, 2007 3:14 pm

    Beautiful stuff! I love the colors in the shawl and the Deep Sea singles.

  15. March 7, 2007 7:11 pm

    Wow – I might just have to make that shetland triangle in silk! Yummm!

  16. March 10, 2007 4:41 pm

    melanie, every time i read your posts, i need to wipe the drool off my screen 🙂

  17. March 12, 2007 8:33 am

    Love the new spindle. Am working on learning this art myself. Your’s looks fabulous.
    Ang

  18. Anne Lindenfeld permalink
    March 15, 2007 7:25 am

    The shawl is gorgeous. I am making one myself (my second) in Artyarns silk rhapsody. I was thinking of putting beads at the points, as you did.
    How did you do that?
    String the beads on the skein or affix afterwards?
    Or another way?

  19. March 15, 2007 10:59 pm

    Umm, are you sure that those gorgeous cabled socks are in the 1983 Fall/Winter Vogue Knitting? I bought a copy of that issue on eBay this week because I so loved your socks, but unless I’m just totally overlooking it somehow, I do not see any sock pattern at all in this issue. Can you please clarify or verify the pattern source, pretty please??

  20. March 15, 2007 11:07 pm

    Umm, me again, so sorry, never mind… I went back thru the coveted issue VERY slowly this time, and opps, what’s that? There’s the pattern, shown in a tiny photograph on page 99. So I did find the pattern after all, just wish I’d done so before posting the previous comment!

  21. March 17, 2007 3:01 pm

    In reply to some questions:
    For Donyale: My wheels are both Majacraft, one is a Rose and one is a Little Gem II. I do most of my spinning on the Rose.
    For Sue: I’m glad you found the pattern. It was written for a very fine yarn, so you can just use a single strand of regular sock yarn. The socks pictured in the post are the man’s pattern.
    For Anne L.: I don’t string beads if I don’t have to. I ususally hook the beads as I go, as described in Sivia Harding’s article in Knitty http://www.knitty.com/issuespring06/FEATseducedbybeads.html

Leave a Reply

