Skip to content

Embarrassment of riches

March 7, 2007
by

With Jan and Melanie posting so much the past few weeks we really have had some rich days here. I had my pictures all ready to post yesterday but wanted to give Melanie a day or two on the front page before cutting in line, but I just need to get them out there before I forget!

I had jury duty last Monday so I knitted 1 1/2 Dulaan hats. Here’s the one whole one. I used Elann Peruvian Highland Wool from a stash swap I participate in.

I finished another one over the weekend and am getting ready to cast on a third. I committed to 5 hats this year. I used my favorite hat pattern from Frugal Knitting Haus (which used to be free but now costs a very cheap 99 cents), which I can now knit in my sleep. It gives a nice warm rollup cuff over the ears and is cushy too.

Cats Day still looks like a sack o’ string but I have knitted maybe 1/3 of the vertical depth of the border.

It got put in timeout last night because I knitted halfway across the first side and realized I’d made an error on the row below and couldn’t get my head around it, so I tinked back to the beginning of the row and set it aside to work on the swing coat which is coming along nicely. Here are the two fronts:

Here is the beginning of the back:

I think the back is brilliant. You would never know from looking at the photo on the pattern, because it shows the front, just how brilliant it is. It creates the semblance of a box pleat, by having a panel of reverse stockinette up the center, with a slipped knit stitch on either side of the panel to create a little pseudo-fold, and with the back shaping decreases done mostly inside that panel so it gets narrower as it goes up until, at the base of the yoke, it is down to 2 stiches. I am just delighted by the cleverness of this.

I made a mistake in reading the pattern, and did my outside-edge decreases every 16 rows instead of every 18 rows – and it’s a good thing I did, because my row gauge is a tad larger than the pattern calls for and I ran out of length to the yoke only about 6 rows after completing the last side decrease. I have found a couple of teeny errors in the pattern, which I will post in our sidebar errata area once I finish – when you are doing a pattern in eleven(!) sizes, it’s hard to imagine that one or two of those teeny numbers wouldn’t end up wrong.

I am at the armholes now on the back, and just finished off half of my yarn yardage, so I think I will be fine with the yardage I’ve spun so far.

I couldn’t wait any longer to spin something, so I started on 4 ounces of merino/tencel that I got from Mama E, who is a member of my spinning group.

Photos do not do justice to this – the sheen of the tencel, combined with the subtle coloring, gives the look of spun silver. It’s very cool. When I saw this photo on Erin’s blog I had to have some. I am trying to spin it fine so I can knit a shawl with it.

I also ordered yarn from WEBS, after much agonizing over what yarn I should use for the Cable Down Raglan in the spring issue of Interweave Knits. I swatched and it looks like it will be just right.

Something to look forward to when I finish my swing coat…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2007 11:25 am

    That yarn looks gorgeous – could you possibly share how you are spinning it? I have some merino and silk that looks very similar,

  2. Jan permalink
    March 7, 2007 11:51 am

    Oh my, what a potful of riches – big, small, present and future! I love the way you keep the projects rolling. Amazing, that swing coat. It looks like the height of simplicity. You have a keen eye for a great pattern. Beautiful spinning, so even. The stuff of an heirloom!

  3. March 7, 2007 12:23 pm

    Wow, so much goodness coming from this blog! The hat looks warm and toasty, just what the Dulaan kids need. I really love the swing coat, ever since I saw it on your blog I have been wanting to purchase the pattern. I have not been able to find it in stock at any LYS – can you tell me where you got yours? The spinning is gorgeous as always! I can’t wait to hear what shawl you plan to make from it. And the Colrain – I just bought a slew of it to make a cardigan, but in the Caramel colorway. It’s a great deal at their price, and they order like 600 bags at a time, so if you run out, chances are they will still have your dye lot.

  4. March 7, 2007 1:32 pm

    Thanks everybody for your comments and I am going to try to answer all the questions here, I hope you come back!
    Emma, I’m not really spinning the merino/tencel any particular way because I’m not that skilled or precise a spinner. I use scotch tension because I find it easier to manage, and I have the takeup as loose as I can get it without the brake band falling off entirely. Then I can draft little short segments at a time and on the fastest whorl I get a lot of twist. I have been splitting the sections of top in half lengthwise and then spreading them out horizontally rather than drafting lengthwise, I find that helps me draft better.
    I got my swing coat pattern at Mannings in PA – the only other online place I found it was Angelika’s yarn shop but she had a minimum shipping that was more than the price of the pattern. It is very new and will probably be showing up anyplace that carries their designs.
    I am not sure what shawl to make yet, but this fiber makes me think so much of spun silver. I won’t have enough for Stephanie’s snowflake shawl, but maybe Evelyn Clark’s Shetland Triangle in the Wrap Style book which is mostly fir cone lace…

  5. March 7, 2007 3:20 pm

    Mmmh, thank you for all the inspiration and eye candy! You knit many of the sweaters that I wish I could wear..I can’t wait to see how the swing coat and Cable Down Raglan come out!

  6. Melanie permalink
    March 8, 2007 12:31 am

    I don’t know where to begin … the hat looks like it will keep little ears toasty and the lace looks fantastic. The swing coat styling is ingenious. You do have a knack for picking out patterns with interesting construction techniques. The fiber is awesome, I think it would make a perfect Shetland Triangle shawl.

  7. March 8, 2007 12:39 am

    You’ve been a busy bee too, Caroline!
    I don’t think Cat’s Paw looks like a sack of string though. 🙂
    The swing coat shaping is clever and I can’t wait to see it finished.
    I just finished spinning some merino-tencel from Chameleon Colorworks and I loved it! I just flows onto the wheel.

  8. March 10, 2007 4:42 pm

    very cool detail on the swing coat!

  9. March 11, 2007 4:04 pm

    As usual…absolutely beautiful work, one and all!!
    I am making something in the colrain colorway as well. I just love the richness of that color.

Leave a Reply

