Skip to content

Too early and too late

March 12, 2007
by

I hate this time change. Well, I hate all of them, but this one is the worst. I feel as though I was dragged out of bed before dawn but am very late at the same time. How can I be this late when I got up that early??

At least the knitting and spinning are moving forward. Here’s the merino/tencel about 3/4ths spun.

It’s almost impossible to capture the silvery sheen it has, especially in such a blurry photo… Maybe when it’s a skein at last I can get a better shot in the sunlight. I am intending to ply it from a center pull ball – I hope that will work and not make me nuts.

I finished the Lupine Lace socks (Fibertrends, Evelyn Clark). Here are two bad photos. The color is better in the sunlit one, while you can see the details of the pattern better in the other one.

I made the smaller size in the pattern and it seems to fit quite well. I have already stomped all over creation this morning and they are not bunched around my ankles yet.

The yarn is Knitpicks Gloss. I like it a lot – I wish it came in more colors. Fortunately they are offering the undyed version so I can make my own colors.

With the socks off the needles I started a shawl for Emily. She has been asking for one for awhile. The yarn is Lisa Souza’s Merino Sock in sapphire.

I am using the garter lace triangle pattern in Traditional Knitted Lace Shawls by Martha Waterman – it is an incredibly easy pattern whose repeat I can carry around with me on a scrap of paper, and it looks like lace.

The Cats’ Day shawl still looks the same pretty much as it did last week. In an hour I can do one pattern row and one plain row of border so it does not grow fast. It’s a very simple pattern, however, so while it is slow going it is not requiring great effort.

I did finish the back of the Swing Coat, and attached the shoulders. I changed the pattern so that I could do the shoulder shaping with short rows and join them with 3 needle bindoff. I think it is going to be very cool to wear.

The color shows up better in the first photo. I don’t know why two photos of the same yarn taken in the same place at the same time should show up different colors, but that’s the mystery of digital photography…

Well, that’s all I have time for here… I’m late.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan permalink
    March 12, 2007 12:56 pm

    Gougeous socks! You are going to make me a long-and-lacy socks convert yet. Emily will look like a princess in her royal blue shawl, and it will keep her snug and warm. You’ve scored another great pattern pick there. It sounds like the perfect portable project!

  2. March 13, 2007 12:42 am

    Love the socks – really pretty! You are so productive!

  3. March 13, 2007 7:04 am

    love your lupine socks!
    it’s funny, i started a pair of socks with gloss, and hated knitting with it.

  4. March 14, 2007 3:27 am

    Love the socks!

  5. March 14, 2007 2:08 pm

    Wow! Gorgeous eye candy as always! How do you do it?

  6. March 15, 2007 12:00 am

    Ooooh..pretty…I’m in love with that swing coat!

  7. Melanie permalink
    March 16, 2007 4:07 pm

    Very nice socks! The colour of the singles you are spinning is very etherial. I bet it’s just going to shimmer when you ply it. The amount of stuff you get done is really awesome.

  8. March 16, 2007 8:41 pm

    The socks are beautiful! I can’t wait to see your swing sweater coat. I have often thought I would like to make something like that…it’s a flattering style for hiding a few flaws 🙂

  9. March 18, 2007 12:55 pm

    WOW!! Wow!! The swing coat is to die for!! AND…so are the socks!! I have trying to talk myself into making a pair of fancy socks but I’m scared!! My lace knitting ability is still at the beginner stage….BUT when I see something so beeeutiful it kicks in my want to make them again.
    Thanks,

Leave a Reply

