Skip to content

My Blue Period

March 29, 2007

Color me crazy, but I think I’m sensing a new color trend in my life.

Here’s some yarn that recently came off of the Journeywheel:

It’s a superwash merino/tencel blend that I Navajo plied for a sock yarn. This is the first time I feel that I have a really successful sock yarn. The grist is equivalent to Lisa S Sock! or STR Lightweight. The twist is tight enough to be durable, but not overdone – whew! I’m so pleased with this yarn! One skein down, one to go.

Next is a skein of merino in a color way called “Turquoise Jewelry” that I also Navajo plied.

This comes in at a light worsted/DK weight. I’ve got another pound and three-quarters to spin yet, but this is such a lovely fiber, and one whose color I find very soothing. My immediate plans for it are this. I’ve been drawn to this sweater since it was first published, but it wasn’t until I saw it knit up at the Brooks Farm booth at Stitches West that I really got excited about making it. I think the yarn and pattern will be a good match.

Some lovely Shetland roving that I found recently. Gorgeous color, eh? It’s only 4oz, so I’m not sure what it will be once it has been spun. Ideas, anyone?

Sheila and Michael Ernst must have been bitten by the same bug. These are called Desert Sky and Copper Blue:

and

And it’s not just fiber and needles – it’s yarn, too! This is what’s crept into my life over the last year:

And one of my favorite projects from this year?

This is a sport weight , two-ply yarn that I spun from a couple of Crosspatch Creations batts. It’s Sivia Harding’s “Victorian Shoulderette” pattern. This is such a quick and enjoyable project – and only 250 yards of yarn.

Yup, I’m definitely detecting a color theme here!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2007 8:02 pm

    Beautiful stuff Sam! I’ve been going through a blue period myself. πŸ™‚

  2. March 29, 2007 8:24 pm

    OH, than merino tencel yarn is to-die-for gorgeous… and are those handmade glass circs? Get out! So pretty… Thanks for the eye candy!

  3. March 29, 2007 8:28 pm

    Everything is gorgeous! I’m very impressed with your sock yarn. Every time I think I might have done it I find I’m not even close. All of it is just beautiful!

  4. Melanie permalink
    March 29, 2007 11:41 pm

    Sam, your spinning is perfection! Your yarns are just gorgeous and the colours are right up my alley. Your work never fails to inspire me.

  5. March 30, 2007 7:43 am

    Bwaha you’re coming over to the Blue Side!!! That sock yarn is particularly pretty.

  6. March 30, 2007 9:53 am

    I’m sure that Angela will quite approve of this new color direction. πŸ˜‰
    Sam, your spinning is just perfect and lovely. Just incredible yarn! I can’t wait to see the finished sweater.

  7. March 30, 2007 10:09 am

    Think of all the music you can listen to that will match your blues! Wow, and imagine the art. Is it Picasso that did a blue period? :)Gorgeous stuff.

  8. March 30, 2007 11:19 am

    I am in awe of your Navajo plying. I always end up overplying when I do that…I guess practice is the only way to make it better. Gorgeous, gorgeous yarns.

  9. March 30, 2007 2:57 pm

    Did you use the JW for all of the skeins here?Each is lovely! But the dk skein jumps out…so even, the twist just right, the color so lively; it’s calling to hop on your pretty glass circs.

  10. Sam permalink
    March 30, 2007 6:09 pm

    Thanks to everyone for the very nice comments! Joanne, I love the blues, so this period fits right in – and yes, I do think it was Picasso. I wonder what the knitting equivalent of a Picasso is? Could be skeery. πŸ˜‰ Jan, I used the Rose for the dk skein, and the Journey for the sock yarn, but the Journey would have done both fibers equally. It’s a great little wheel. Thanks again, everyone!

  11. March 31, 2007 9:44 pm

    Lovely, lovely, lovely.
    And speaking of lovely, thanks for your engagement wishes. We’re delighted, of course.

  12. March 31, 2007 10:16 pm

    hey, those are my colors πŸ˜‰
    i can’t believe you spun that first yarn,it is GORGEOUS!

  13. April 3, 2007 1:08 pm

    Gorgeous work in my favourite palette!
    Seriously, you’re spinning is divine and I am inspired to take the plunge into 3-ply sock yarns.

  14. April 3, 2007 9:03 pm

    Whoa! You have gone blue! You have some beautiful knitting and spinning Sam. What great colors!

  15. April 5, 2007 1:58 pm

    Lovely handspun! I was in a blue mood/phase until I started knitting for my soon-to-arrive baby girl. Now it’s all peach, magenta, tangerine!

Leave a Reply

