Skip to content

Me Myself I

April 2, 2007
by

I want to clarify something for you, People frequently comment here as if they think there is one person doing all this work. There are in fact FOUR of us. I’m Prudence (not my real name but it might as well be…) and I live in Baltimore and I am the regularly scheduled Monday programming. Then we have Sam who posted about blue stuff last week and lives in Seattle. Sam doesn’t post very often, the naughty person. Then we have Jan who posts from Hawaii in the winter and is raising silk worms in North Dakota and spins a lot of silk. Then we have Melanie who lives in British Columbia and posts all those ever-so-perfect photos of spun and knit items arranged just so. Really, there are four of us.

OK now that’s cleared up…

I don’t have much this week. Saturday I finished the border on Cats Day at last.

A warning for anyone who is working on this pattern: she throws a loop at you and I spent all day Saturday straightening myself out because of it. The border chart only shows odd-numbered (right side) rows UNTIL YOU GET TO ROW 69. After row 69, every row is charted. I did NOT catch this until I had already knitted rows 70 and 71, so I had to spend hours going around the shawl and taking 7 stitches down two rows and reknitting them and moving on to the next spot and taking down 7 stitches… It took a long time and once or twice I lost something and had to rebuild… but I think I got everything right because the knitting itself was not difficult. So beware.

Last night I started the edging. It took me about half an hour to get it going in the right direction. I could NOT figure out how to cast on for the edging using a provisional caston and also end up going in the right direction. Once I threw that idea out and went back to Legends of the Shetland Seas to read the directions there, I did better. The edging definitely has a right side, so assuming you didn’t get messed up beginning the border and attach that whole thing wrong side out, you need to keep going counterclockwise around to attach the edging – you want your even numbered inbound rows to be the right side, not the wrong side. Sigh.

Once I sorted that out I knitted 4 edging points in about an hour. I think I have about 50 do to but I am not positive. The thing is about 800 stitches around, and each edging point repeat takes up about 15 stitches. Unfortunately on this pattern the corner is not charted, it’s just written out, so I foresee some hair pulling when I get to the first corner…

Last weekend I began working on the Cable Down Raglan from the spring Interweave Knits, in WEBS ‘Colrain’. I have been obsessed with getting the shawl up to the edging, so this has languished. But it is really attractive. I love the neck edge.

The color was washed out a little bit by the camera, it is called ‘Grape Jelly’ but it is a lovely wine color. They should have called it ‘Shiraz’. It’s nice yarn, soft and smooth.

I was bemused by something in the chart for this center front cable you can see in the photo. The cable begins with a 3×3 cross, then each 3-stitch outer leg begins to split until you have a lattice in the center framed by a single outside stitch. What puzzled me was that just above and below the places where the lattice crosses happen, the traveling knit stitches are surrounded not by purls but by knits. It’s just the single row above and below the cross. Why would you do that? I can’t tell from the magazine photo but I can’t see any interruption to the single well-raised knit stitches traveling. So I ignored that, and kept the traveling knit stitches on a constant background of purls. If anyone knows anything about this, please comment. I always hesitate to believe there are errors in patterns because I have been known to see errors where there are none….

I continue working on Emily’s shawl. It looks the same only bigger.

This is a great pattern to use when you want to just make a garter triangle but would prefer to dress it up a wee bit.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2007 11:21 am

    It doesn’t sound like you’ve gotten any relaxation from your knitting at all this week! I love how that sweater is shaping up.

  2. Sam permalink
    April 2, 2007 11:36 am

    Well, Miz Prudence, if it’s any consolation at all, everything looks smashing. 🙂 I hope there will be modeling photos of everyone wearing everything!

  3. April 2, 2007 2:29 pm

    Thanks for clearing up that there are 4 of you – I stumbled across the blog only recently and it’s all new to me!

  4. Melanie permalink
    April 2, 2007 3:56 pm

    I can’t wait to see Cat’s Day spread out in all its glory. The Colrain yarn certainly provides lovely stitch definition – those cables just pop, and it’s a glorious colour.

  5. April 3, 2007 10:48 am

    I am so excited about your Colrain yarn and that sweater. It is going to be stunning! As to the Cat shawl, well, we both knew you had a lot more patience than I do, but this just reminds me again! Wow!
    Sometimes I’m jealous of your projects! I would love to knit some of the sweaters you choose, but I know they won’t look good on me; we have such different body types. Instead, I try to enjoy your fabulous creations from afar–at least I can look at photos of you wearing them and looking stunning!

  6. Jan permalink
    April 3, 2007 12:20 pm

    The sweater is beautiful. You have an eye for detail! And you shawls are coming along. Those are lovely summer colors.

  7. April 3, 2007 2:11 pm

    I know there are four of you, but I’m still mightily impressed by you all! 🙂
    I love the Cable Down yarn color. That is mouth wateringly gorgeous! Can’t wait to see the kitty cat shawl.

  8. April 7, 2007 5:44 pm

    Thanks for the nice comments about Oregon, Melanie! I will have to lose 15 pounds and or re-block it to fit the way I really want it to, but that’s how the knitting crumbles. And the first method (weight loss) is far less likely since the Easter Bunny will be stopping by tonight! 😉

  9. Kay permalink
    April 7, 2007 6:55 pm

    I looked on Mannings website for the Swing Coat pattern but they don’t have a picture. Could you tell me if this is the Sue McClain pattern # 150? Yours is just amazing. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

