Skip to content

If sleeve is an island…

April 16, 2007
by

then what is edging? An archipelago? I am just about all edging all the time these days.

I am still working my way around the edging of Cats’ Day, having done 2 1/2 sides and 2 corners.

I think there are a couple of errors in the corner directions, I’ve sent off my questions to Blackberry Ridge and we will see if the problem is the pattern or me.

Now that this is half off the needle I’m beginning to get an idea of how big it is…

Meanwhile I started last weekend to knit a Victorian Shoulderette (Sivia Harding design) – Sam’s version from a couple of entries ago inspired me to haul out the remains of the green bluefaced leicester I spun a year or two ago.

This picture does not at all do justice to how nice it’s coming out. My yarn is fatter than what the pattern calls for, so it is very cushy. It just needs… edging. This edging goes much more quickly than the other, and I ought to be able to finish it in short order. I’d have been done by now if I hadn’t omitted about 6 rows between the lace border and the edging, and had to tear off all the edging I’d knitted so I could go back and put in those 6 rows.

In non-edging news, I am still working on Cable Down and am past the underarms. It goes faster when the rows are shorter and just include body stitches.

This is the first raglan sweater like this that I’ve knit that doesn’t have you cast on a few stitches at the underarm once you remove the sleeve stitches. I don’t know whether I should be worried about that, or not…

Emily’s shawl is technically the right size for her now.

However, I am going to keep knitting, I want it to be big enough that she doesn’t outgrow it.

No spinning for the past couple of weeks. I’m not sure why, exactly, as I have tons of lovely stuff to spin…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2007 11:14 am

    A reef. I think the edging is a reef.

  2. Melanie permalink
    April 16, 2007 11:32 am

    Emmy looks like a real little lady in her shawl. I don’t know which project to oooh and ahhh over, they’re all lovely. That sweater is going to look smashing on you.

  3. April 16, 2007 9:37 pm

    your bfl is lovely, as is emmy’s shawl πŸ™‚

  4. April 16, 2007 10:55 pm

    What are you using to knit cable down? I really like that sweater. I think it will look amazing on you!

  5. Jan permalink
    April 17, 2007 10:21 am

    Everything is so colorful and pretty. It’s fun to see your projects taking shape and growing.

  6. April 17, 2007 3:13 pm

    Ohhing and Aahing over all the knitting! The green handspun is gorgeous, and the lace knitting is dear to my heart.
    Reef is good; archipelago is good. Sometimes I think it’s truly a black hole – time sucked into a vacuum… You think it will a drop in the bucket compared to what you’ve just accomplished knitting the body of the shawl, and then it sucks impossibly more time than is calculated and/or reasonable.

  7. Sam permalink
    April 17, 2007 7:45 pm

    Everything is looking just beautiful. I think an edging on Emmy’s shawl is a great idea, and I’m so looking forward to seeing Cat’s Day finished. The shoulderette is great in the BFL. πŸ™‚ Oh, and a reef – yes, definitely, a reef!

  8. April 18, 2007 12:53 am

    Yep a reef! Love the Shoulderette you are making. You do such lovely work.

Leave a Reply

