Skip to content

Ghost Shawl

April 18, 2007

I can’t seem to get a decent picture of this shawl because it just melts into the background like a ghost. This is Hyrna Hergobar from the Three Corner and Long Shawls book knit with Kidsilk Haze in shade 601, a dusty, greyed-out green. I love the design and will probably knit it again with a darker or brighter colour.

And what’s this? Mmmm, Brooks Farm Harmony, a sensuous blend of kid mohair, silk and fine wool that I got at last year’s Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival. It’s very soft and scrumptious. I don’t know what the colourway is called, but at night it looks like shades of beige/tan/pewter and by day it looks more like beige/khaki/slate blue.

It has become the Wool Peddler’s shawl from the Folk Shawls book by Cheryl Oberle. The shawl was a gift for my MIL, who turned 79 this week. She absolutely loves it, so I’m very happy. I wanted something warm and big enough for her to snuggle into. It took about one and one-half skeins of Harmony to knit the shawl with three extra repeats of the horseshoe lace border. One skein would not have been quite enough to finish the shawl without the extra repeats.

These are the Waterlily Socks designed by Sivia Harding done in Koigu. I love this design; it’s so elegant with its subtle use of beads as the waterlily stem.

And now I’m knitting this …

With this …

How do you know you’re knitting with really sticky yarn? When the ball doesn’t collapse until there are only about two yards left. This is the start of the Faux Russian stole from Gathering of Lace using the Shetland jumperweight yarn called for in the pattern. Knitting with Shetland yarn after the Koigu and Harmony feels like knitting with barbed wire. This shawl, however, will still be around when the others have turned to dust. Shetland yarn is very durable stuff.

I’m test driving one of the new Addi Lace circular needles. I’ve been leery of the pointy tips. Can an old dog learn new tricks? The jury is still out. I’m developing rough patches on the sides of both index fingers where the points slide against them, and I keep jabbing my right index finger because of my habit of pressing on the point to provide resistance as I slide the stitches forward with my left hand. Ouch! On the plus side, those tips are great for working K3 tog or P2 tbl or for tinking, not that any of that ever happens around here. 😉

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2007 12:51 am

    Wow, you’re an industrious lady! The shawls are both gorgeous – I must say the Peddler’s shawl is more to my taste than the lovely laciness; could be the chilly spring we’re having… 🙂 The socks are indeed elegant, and unusual. I’m looking forward to watching the Faux Russian Stole progress, I have the book and like that pattern.
    Thanks for sharing your wealth of knitties!

  2. April 19, 2007 1:43 am

    Wow, Mel, what gorgeous eye candy! I love the hernia shawl *g* and the wool peddler’s shawl is lovely! And the socks: pure poetry! I knew that was the start of the faux Russian. I’ve had that on my list and in my stash for quite some time! I’ll be watching yours take shape! 🙂

  3. Sam permalink
    April 19, 2007 4:15 am

    Wow absolutely stunning – that is all I have to say! 🙂 I love WP, and the Hyrna is amazingly gorgeous.

  4. April 19, 2007 6:14 am

    Ohh I push the point of the needle out with my index finger too! I thought I was just weird like that;-) The Hamburger shal is lovely!!! and so is your mil
    s. I bet it just slid through your hands!I’m going to have to try one of Sivia’s sock patterns it is really nice!

  5. April 19, 2007 7:19 am

    that’s the most beautiful ghost i’ve ever seen!
    lovely gifty for your mil!
    the socks are gorgeous!
    and i also use my right index fnger to push, and usually end up with a painful hole if knitting a lot 😉

  6. April 19, 2007 7:45 am

    I love the shawl in that color! It looks like it would float in the air.
    I can see why you loved working on WP – that would be a fun project to have sitting in your lap. Soft and cuddly and beautiful colors – no wonder that you MIL loves it!
    Sivia did it again with the sock pattern!

  7. April 19, 2007 8:30 am

    Oh my gosh! Your projects are all lovely – especialy the shawls – they are gorgeous!!

  8. April 19, 2007 8:54 am

    Mel, everything is so lovely, but your hyrna is simply breathtaking! How I love that pattern – maybe someday…
    And the wool peddler looks so cozy and pretty. What a wonderful gift for your MIL.
    I push my needle just like you describe and my finger does get sore on the rare occasions that I have extended knitting time with smaller/pointier needles.

  9. April 19, 2007 9:08 am

    The shawls are spectacular. It is true inspiration and motivation for me to get to work on another shawl. Lovely!

  10. April 19, 2007 10:15 am

    Everything looks great! So pretty!!

  11. April 19, 2007 10:21 am

    OH MY!!!!! gorgeous.

  12. Lisa S permalink
    April 19, 2007 10:32 am

    Mel! When do you sleep? Everything is just beautiful and what a wonderful gift for your MIL…we make woobies for the babies and when you get to the other end of the cycle…a woobie is a great idea.

  13. April 19, 2007 11:10 am

    Wow. Amazing. That hernia hamburglar shawl (whatever it’s called?) is incredible. A work of art. The Wool Peddler looks so cuddly! Of the two, I’d steal the wool peddler, so I’m glad to hear it’s going to your MIL!:) You are so gifted! I’m always impressed by what you do.

  14. April 19, 2007 11:24 am

    mel, the shawls are lovely. makes me yearn for time to do lace.

  15. April 19, 2007 12:01 pm

    Mmm. I love big cuddly shawls. Too bad I need to use my hands so much in real life…
    That ‘faux russian’ shawl has a pattern just like or very similar to the center pattern of Siberian Winter, I just love it. It’ll be really neat in navy blue.

  16. April 19, 2007 2:21 pm

    Wow! They’re all beautiful but I am totally in love with the Hyrna Hergobar…stunning!

  17. April 19, 2007 2:22 pm

    Both shawls are truly gorgeous but I love the yarn you used for the Wool Peddlers Shawl. I had never been interested in doing that shawl because of all the garter stitch but seeing yours has changed my mind. I am going to look for that yarn!

  18. April 19, 2007 5:10 pm

    Woah… that’s cool! You have one ghost shawl, and one ghostly physics-defying ball of yarn.
    All beautiful, by the way.

  19. April 19, 2007 7:48 pm

    I miss you and seeing your gorgeous work! Lucky MIL.
    I’ve long been a fan of the Faux Orenburg so I can’t wait to see how it progresses!
    Big hug.

  20. April 19, 2007 10:32 pm

    Purty, purty, purty! Everything looks so gorgeous. 🙂

  21. April 20, 2007 8:21 am

    All of your knitting is exceptional!!! Such beautiful work and so much of it!! You are a knitting machine!!

  22. Jan permalink
    April 20, 2007 3:52 pm

    Lovely, all.
    Jan

  23. April 21, 2007 8:57 pm

    Everything is beautiful, but I’m especially drawn to the Hyrna. What a lovely color!

  24. April 21, 2007 11:25 pm

    The shawls are beautiful! I love the halo on Hyrna and the colors on the Wool Peddlar’s shawl.

  25. Jessica permalink
    April 28, 2007 1:55 pm

    Wonderful ghost shawl!

Leave a Reply

