Skip to content

Up to our ears in meow

April 30, 2007
by

(Emmy had naming rights to this one, she’s Lily-Blue.)

(Mommy has naming rights to this one and hasn’t made up her mind yet.)

(Beanie Babies included for purposes of scale. I’d forgotten how little 8-week-old kittens are!)

Big brother Toby and big sister Bonnie are rather pissed off, but showing signs of a long-term detente.

To avoid unnecessary angst, WIPs now reside here:

A second empty box waits for me to start the afghan from the fall issue of Interweave Knits. These are terrific little bins, purchased from The Evil Empire for less than $5 each.

What’s in the bin? Emmy’s shawl is still in there and growing. I think it’ll be done in a couple of weeks.

I had enough yarn left from Cats’ Day to make myself a lace scarf. This is the wide border of the blue scarf on page 90 of Victorian Lace Today.

It will have a total of 4 points across, because I decided to follow the directions in the book instead of the directions in the errata for making a scarf that matches the pictures. I was not born yesterday. I can tell that there are 3 points in the scarf in the photos. Luckily there are already 3 pages of corrections for Victorian Lace Today (this opens as a PDF).

The Cable Down raglan is growing, I will be done with the body in a day or two.

I started a pair of socks with the Crystal Palace ‘Panda’ yarn (bamboo, cotton, and nylon).

I’m making them toe-up because I want to use up all the yarn. I love the fabric it’s making, it’s cool to the touch which will be a great thing in a warm-season sock. It’s also showing the stitches well. The pattern is from Evelyn Clark’s “Retro Rib” sock pattern in the new Interweave favorite socks book – I started off to knit that pattern, but 64 stitches was just too big around for me in this yarn so I’m making a 56 stitch sock toe-up but using the same 8-stitch pattern repeat. I hope this yarn wears well as I’m prepared to love it and buy more. It’s a tad splitty but not terribly so, and the result is worth it.

Last but not least, remember this photo, which Rebecca alertly pointed out contained – horrors – a dropped and running stitch? (operative location circled)

Well it now looks like this. Phew!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2007 11:28 am

    Sweeeeet kitties! Love calicos. Good job on catching up that stitch ~ can’t even see it! whew. Dropped stitches in lace = eek.

  2. April 30, 2007 12:34 pm

    adorable kitties!
    and good save!

  3. April 30, 2007 4:12 pm

    What sweet kittens!
    I’m also making a pair of socks from the Panda cotton, and like you, I’ve also scaled down the number of stitches I usually use for my socks because of the elastic. I’d love to see yours when they’re finished!

  4. April 30, 2007 5:23 pm

    What a delightful introduction to your Blog! I remember new kitten days …and they are absolutely enchanting, always! I seriously doubt there is such a thing as an ugly kitten …but they are just at the age when they *will* take over the house!

  5. April 30, 2007 8:39 pm

    Oh! I am so jealous! Kittens! Nitro and the doggies would eat them up at our house. . . but I hope you just have a ball with them! 🙂

  6. April 30, 2007 8:59 pm

    Some beautiful knitting !
    Ang

  7. Melanie permalink
    April 30, 2007 10:18 pm

    New babies! What a great name Emmy picked.

  8. May 1, 2007 2:04 am

    Beautiful sweater! Amazing fix. Well done. 🙂

  9. May 1, 2007 10:32 am

    Enjoy your babies! I’m looking forward to trying some of that Panda cotton soon!

  10. Sam permalink
    May 1, 2007 12:53 pm

    O.k., those are amazingly cute kitties! I hope all settle well. It’s good to see the WIPs safe, and good save on the shawl! 🙂

  11. May 1, 2007 6:55 pm

    One of YOUR kitties looks like one of MY kitties! Torties are fun. Congrats!

  12. Zeila permalink
    May 2, 2007 11:15 am

    Awww – I got a new tortie this year too….named Kiko

  13. May 2, 2007 1:08 pm

    Wow your gorgeous work is a treat to look at!!! Wow. And I just bought the same color yarn yesterday as your raglan there, and can’t wait to play with it.

  14. May 4, 2007 12:43 am

    What adorable kittens!!! I could just squeeze them.

  15. May 6, 2007 3:43 pm

    Such adorable kittens! Gorgeous lace & that cable down sweater is looking lovely. Thanks for the link to the corrections to VLT, too!

Leave a Reply

