Skip to content

Up to my ears in baa

May 7, 2007
by

Picture heavy entry today because, after all, I was at Maryland Sheep and Wool on Saturday with NO STROLLER. Emmy had fun doing other things while I went to the festival with only myself to manage. I felt so light and fast and it felt so uncrowded. I have no idea whether any of those things were true, but they FELT true.

My first stop was the booth of Sheila and Michael Ernst, just to say good morning.

They were doing a roaring business in their lovely glass circular and double-pointed needles.
Janel from Spindlicity was there, sharing Sheila’s booth space with her Chameleon Colorworks fibers and some Spindlewood spindles.

From there, I went straight off to the main building to get a chance to spin on a wheel I’ve eyed for two years and been unable to get near.

It was beautiful. It was fast. It was single treadle and double drive. It was my first experience of using a big fast single-treadle wheel. I wanted it, even though double drive is not my thing by any means. I haven’t got anyplace to put it and really shouldn’t be plonking down that much cash. So I did the grown-up thing and walked away. I think if it had been scotch tension I might not have been able to walk away.

Fortunately there was much to distract me from my broken heart. (Please excuse the slightly blurry photos, the light was inconsistent and I wasn’t always good about waiting for my flash to recharge.)

This gorgeous wheel by Norm Hall took my breath away. Later on it had a sold sign on it and if I’m not mistaken I finally followed it to the parking lot.

The colors of Brooks Farm:

The colors of Tess Yarn:

On my second pass through the fleece sale, I found this stunning fleece, a Coopworth cross with something I would not have thought would be at all nice – Leicester? Lincoln? maybe Romney? Anyway it was absolutely gorgeous. Bold crimp, long staple (at least 6 inches), and such luster.

If someone had been there to split it with me I’d have bought it on the spot, but it was $12 a pound and almost 9 pounds.

When I arrived at 9:40am, the t-shirt line stretched from Building 1 all the way up the hill back toward the entrance and almost to the skein and garment building. With 5 hours to spend there, I didn’t see the point in spending 2 hours in a line, so I passed it by. Later, when lunch rolled around, everyone evidently went off to stand in food lines, and the t-shirt line reached only to the corner of Building 2, so I stood in the line and ate my lunch and finally got the shirts I needed.

Before we get to see what I bought, let’s see some sheepy faces.

(OK, these may be goats. They were next to a sign that said ‘Kid Hollow Farm’ and they had teeny little horns.)

Most of the sheep were Corriedale and Romney.

This delicate girl was, I’m pretty sure, a Bluefaced Leicester – did the picture catch the slightly blue-grey cast of the skin showing through the fleece on her face?

And this is a Wensleydale. Look at the long, slightly straight fleece.

So, what did I actually buy?

Not much, but really nice stuff. A two-ounce ball of angora/silk/wool roving in a shade called ‘Bluegrass’ from Wild Meadow Angoras, which is the same stuff I bought last year and spun into my Swallowtail shawl. I want a scarf out of this gorgeous fiber, and since I’d forgotten the name of the vendor I was very glad to see them sitting in the exact same spot as last year. A skein of sock yarn that was new this year at the Barefoot Spinner (no website). Another skein of Tess sock yarn, blue and purple and an attractive minty green. Another skein of Mountain Colors Bearfoot, because I can’t leave that yarn alone, in a mix of forest green and shades of pink called ‘Meadow’. A beautiful Bosworth midi, with a cocobolo whorl and a bloodwood shaft. A cocobolo pen and a yarn gauge from Turnstyles.

Later on, we had a small gathering at my house, and the last thing I did before I lost the ability to sit upright was bind off Emily’s shawl, made from Lisa’s Sock Merino.

She wore it off and on all afternoon yesterday and has taken it off to show-and-tell at school today.

No other significant spinning or knitting was done this weekend, unfortunately. Once I recuperate from the fatigue, I always want to immerse myself in all my fiber toys. So instead I post a million photos and sigh about the wheel I let get away.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2007 9:05 am

    Gorgeous spindle and other goodies! Ahh, the Brooks Farm booth, one of my favorite ways to spend my money.

  2. Sam permalink
    May 7, 2007 11:01 am

    Everything looked to be as much fun, and as gorgeous as ever! How cool that you got so many pictures. Taylor and I are ogling the sheepies most of all – she loves her some Border Leicester. 😉 I’m glad you had such a good time – you got great goodies!

  3. May 7, 2007 12:40 pm

    Beautiful!!

  4. Melanie permalink
    May 7, 2007 12:47 pm

    Thanks for the virtual trip to MDSW. Your new Bosworth is gorgeous – I have wood grain envy.
    It’s sweet that Emmy is so happy with her shawl. You’re a great mamma.

  5. May 7, 2007 2:55 pm

    Wow. Sigh. Drool. Thank you for letting us all live vicariously through you! It looks wonderful. 🙂

  6. May 7, 2007 5:23 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing the photos. Looks like you had a lovely time!

  7. Kristin permalink
    May 8, 2007 5:52 am

    love the lil sheep faces. Thanks for sharing

  8. May 8, 2007 5:07 pm

    Oooohhhhhhhh.
    Almost as good as being there. Thanks for the photos.

  9. LisaK permalink
    May 10, 2007 11:57 am

    Thanks for the experience! I love Emily’s shawl. It is perfect for her.

  10. May 11, 2007 3:18 pm

    I actually forgave myself for not getting much done on Saturday! After lugging the Hitchhiker around, I was exhausted by the time I got home. Thanks for finding me and chatting on the bench!

  11. May 14, 2007 5:17 pm

    Wow, where to start? I think my favorite picture might just be the two dozing sheep, one with its head resting on its companion’s back. 🙂

  12. Roberta permalink
    June 2, 2007 11:14 am

    Reading your blog was the next best thing to being there. Thanks for taking the time to post all those wonderful pictures for us stay-at-homes. Now off to play in your scrumptious fibers.
    Roberta

Leave a Reply

