Skip to content

Knitting for Daughters and Other Small Comforts

May 15, 2007

What do you do when your daughter, who has dressed exclusively in the Bruise Palette for the last five years, suddenly pipes up with a wish for a rainbow scarf? Particularly when said child has never asked you to knit her a single thing? You get spinning, of course! It started as this:

and then became this:

and is in the process of becoming this:

Thus far, she pronounces it, “Cool…” so I think I’m on the right track. I tried to talk her into some texture pattern, but she declares that she wants it, “Just flat.” Um…o.k. I can do that. She’s aware that it will have a tendency to curl, even with the garter selvedge, but she thinks she can live with that. Whew!

Spring has finally arrived here in the NorthWet and the sun is shining, so this will be a short entry. I’ll leave you with other small comforts that are making me happy to be a human today:

A bag of freshly picked fawn colored Shetland, waiting to be carded:

Another Shetland, drying in the sun:

Fiery geraniums on my deck:

Beautiful lilies in my window (pretend you don’t notice how badly said window needs to be washed):

And, last but not least, a sock in progress in the most gorgeous Apple Laine Apple Pie yarn (thanks, Jen!. The color is Earthly Delight. How could you not love yarn with a name like that? I wish the camera could capture the silk sheen of this yarn. It’s just the loveliest stuff.

What can I say – it’s a happy day!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2007 2:18 pm

    Wow! Gorgeous eye candy, Sam! The scarf is really beautiful and I *love* the sock colorway. πŸ™‚

  2. May 15, 2007 2:20 pm

    You just gotta love the PNWet in the spring. Gorgeous sunny days, blooming flowers. So inspiring, along with that lovely scarf. A garter selvedge it is. Sigh. She will come around, give her time!

  3. May 15, 2007 4:58 pm

    Happy day and happy-inducing fibre shots.
    I’m loving the rainbow-scarf πŸ™‚

  4. May 15, 2007 5:56 pm

    A beautiful day, indeed!!

  5. Melanie permalink
    May 15, 2007 6:15 pm

    That is a very cool scarf, the colours are so pretty. I can see the subtle pink tones in the fawn Shetland. You will have some happy spinning hours coming up. Any plans to dye the fleeces?

  6. Vicki permalink
    May 15, 2007 6:36 pm

    Beautiful spinning. Just gorgeous. I’m a novice, you inspire me. Not brave enough to process my own fibre yet. How does one get the colour blocks rather than barber pole affect in the plying? thanks for the inspiration.

  7. May 15, 2007 6:58 pm

    Such beautiful spinning, knitting and FLOWERS!
    It’s still chilly here in Atlantic Canada, but the daffodils are up which means more flowers will follow.
    Did you chain/navajo ply the rainbow yarn? It’s absolutely gorgeous.

  8. Sam permalink
    May 15, 2007 7:27 pm

    Thanks to all for the nice comments. Vicki, Hope has it right. I Navajo plyed the single to keep the color runs together. There are very short areas where there’s a little barber pole, but those just become the heathered “between” spaces on the rainbow. I’ve been really pleased. Thanks again to everyone!

  9. May 15, 2007 7:50 pm

    What a great project for spring! I love the socks, too.

  10. May 15, 2007 8:29 pm

    I love the scarf. You answered my question that I wondered about in my post. (Hope you didn’t mind me adding the photo)
    http://donyale.wordpress.com/2007/05/16/got-a-few-minutes/

  11. May 16, 2007 7:50 am

    That roving is beautiful, I want some! And I would so have navajo plyed that. Thanks for posting pretty things.

  12. May 16, 2007 10:12 am

    Pretty, pretty, pretty!

  13. May 16, 2007 11:41 am

    I don’t know what my brain was thinking but I read, “freshly pickled” instead of “freshly picked.” What’s worse, I didn’t give it a second thought because of all the other weird words and terms in knitting and spinning! I figured pickled fleece was just something I hadn’t heard about before. I need some coffee.

  14. May 17, 2007 11:19 am

    beautiful!

  15. Jan permalink
    May 18, 2007 4:53 pm

    The scarf and sock are really pretty, and the fleeces…oh yum!

  16. June permalink
    May 18, 2007 9:44 pm

    Wow, Sam how gorgeous that spinning is! I am truly jealous of your Shetland Fleeces. . . especially the white with black tips! πŸ™‚

  17. Spin permalink
    May 19, 2007 8:56 am

    Hi there Sam!
    Love the fiber! can’t wait now, to be done with all the work and get out my wheel…
    and that second Shetland fleece is Oh-so-yummy!!!!
    Well.. all the fiber is beautiful.

  18. May 20, 2007 11:25 am

    wow wow wow wow wow!!!!! on the rainbow yarn and scarf!!!

  19. May 20, 2007 6:07 pm

    Beautiful post!!
    Your daughter is a lucky soul to have such a talented Mom…to say the least!!
    Your spinning just knocks me out. Something to aspire to in my life!
    The fleeces are absolutely beautiful!!
    I WANT a Fiery geranium NOW!! I have never seen one before. They are amazing.

  20. May 21, 2007 7:25 am

    Love the yarn you spun. Gorgeous. The scarf is looking just lovely.
    Ang

Leave a Reply

