Skip to content

Daphne says

May 21, 2007
by

Pay more attention to me!

You knit too much.

Well, she may say so but I think I’m not knitting enough.

Here is one Panda sock, not quite done.

This is making a lovely sock but I feel like it’s taking forever to knit and this is just the first sock. I think this yarn has a problem with the time/space continuum. I got the heel and gusset done in no time but the straight-ahead knitting is endless.

I got one sleeve done on the Cable Down raglan and I’m racing against time to finish the second one before it’s too hot to knit with a whole sweater in my lap. You have your choice of two shots, one with no flash and thus blurry but with a better overall idea of the patterning, or one with flash thus sharp but somehow losing some detail. Either way, both are better representations of the actual color of the yarn than any pictures I’ve gotten up to this point. Excuse the cat tail, Bonnie was helping.

I did manage to finish my diamond scarf from Victorian Lace.

It turned out just as I wanted – not too long. The pattern wanted me to do one more repeat of the center pattern before putting on the second border, but I wasn’t sure I had quite enough yardage left for 32 more rows, and I really wanted a scarf I could knot around my neck and not be able to sit on the ends. I think it’ll be perfect. It’s about 4 feet long, I didn’t block it hard because I didn’t want it growing much in either direction.

That being done, I finally started the afghan from the Fall 2006 Interweave Knits. You can’t really tell what it is because right now it’s just seed stitch, over and over for about 225 stitches across.

The yarn is perfect for an afghan – I wouldn’t want it for a sweater, the 30% acrylic comes across in a sort of dry hand, but it’ll be perfect for something that has to be washed a lot. In my house things that lie around on couches and chairs need lots of washing. The color isn’t quite what I expected it to be when I looked at it online, but it is a lovely sort of watermelon-raspberry shade that I think will be pleasant to have around. It’s going to be a little smaller than the one in the magazine, because it’s not as fat a yarn, but that’s ok.

It’s kind of funny to think that I am making an entire blanket on fewer stitches per row than many fair isle sweaters….

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2007 11:24 am

    Wow. Everything is gorgeous, but that sweater! It is absolutely divine, my dear Miss Prudence! *g* The color is wonderful. I can’t wait to see it on you! 🙂

  2. Sam permalink
    May 21, 2007 12:04 pm

    Alright, put those needles down and give that kitty a scritch under the chin. 😉 O.k., that’s better. Now, the sock looks great – will prolly have to try that yarn now, and the top down cable is looking great. This is one I’m looking forward to seeing modeled! The scarf looks great, too – will be just the thing to perk up a winter day! Lovely work.

  3. Melanie permalink
    May 21, 2007 1:09 pm

    How can you get any knitting done with that little cute pie asking for attention? What a sweetie.
    The Panda yarn is giving you great stitch definition. I hope you get the sweater done because I’m dying to see it on you. It’s so pretty. I didn’t know you had started the scarf, and there it is, all done. Very elegant.

  4. May 21, 2007 3:12 pm

    i started the cable raglan, and couldn’t decide on an increase that i liked. so it got put on time out until i get over my current summer top flurry.
    daphne is really cute!

  5. May 21, 2007 6:52 pm

    I’ve got a cat that always has to be the center of attention too. Good thing your Daphne is so cute! You may have just convinced me to knit that Cable Down raglan. Gorgeous, and just my color! I can’t wait to see the fit.

  6. May 22, 2007 8:37 am

    Your cable down raglan is gorgeous!!! What a cute little kitty, even though she looks quite unhappy in that picture…LOL 🙂

  7. May 22, 2007 4:35 pm

    Oh – I remember that kind of kitty face 😀
    Pay attention to me now!!!
    The cable down raglan looks great – just my colour, the scarf is so pretty and the sock looks very comfy. I’ll have to go looking for some of that yarn.

  8. May 22, 2007 7:23 pm

    I LOVE that photo! What a cute kitty.

  9. May 23, 2007 4:31 pm

    What a great pic of kitty!

Leave a Reply

