Skip to content

Too darn hot

May 28, 2007
by

to give you an in-use shot of the Cable Down Raglan.

Maybe next week after it’s totally dry.

I was really pleased with the WEBS Colrain yarn. You can see from the photo how much of a sheen it has – see how the stockinette parts look a totally different color than the reverse-stockinette parts? The purl fabric reflected the light of the flash differently. It’s very nice stuff.

Now that I’ve made this, there are a couple of things I wish I had trusted my instincts on, and done differently.

The sleeves are knit straight, no decreases, and no extra stitches are cast on at the underarm. When the stitches are removed and held for the sleeves, no extra stitches are cast on for the body, and then none for the sleeves when the stitches are picked up again. I think if I were to do it again I would cast on a couple of extras, and decrease them out over a couple of inches. The sleeves were a bit tight in the biceps, and this would have fixed them without me having to block carefully.

There is nothing done to take into account cable flare at the bottom edges of body and sleeves. Perhaps this is intentional, and it is ok on the body, but on the sleeves it could become annoying – who needs bell sleeves? I tried blocking so that the body of the sleeve widened to match the width of the cuff edging, but decreasing a couple in the first knit round after ending the cables would have done the trick too, for free. It would also have been logical to put a bit fewer stitches on for the neckline, and increase at the beginning of each cable, it might have made everything lie down better.

We’ll know for sure how well blocking made up for these little details, when I get the thing on.
I finished one Panda Cotton sock. I really like how it came out and I hope I can concentrate better to get the second one done faster.

I knitted this on size 1 needles, using the You’re-Putting-Me-On toe-up sock pattern with heel gusset, and the rib pattern from the Retro Rib socks by Evelyn Clark that are reprinted in the new Interweave sock book. The stitch definition is really good in this light solid color. This line of yarn must be succeeding with customers, because they’ve just come out with some pretty painted colors in it.

It’s turned humid here so I’ve started a summer knitting project.

I’m using the Hempathy yarn that the pattern calls for. Like her Silky Wool, I just cannot bring myself to knit this yarn at the gauge on the ball band. I swatched, and it was a lovely light fabric, but it was very loose and I’m afraid it would sag – it is about half cotton, after all. So I went down a needle size and up a garment size and we’ll see. It’s making beautiful stitch definition at this gauge and the design is lovely and elegant like all Lavold’s best work.

As far as spinning, I finished my one ounce of white cashmere

and I’m spinning one ounce of white silk/merino to ply with it.

Oddly enough, guess which one is harder to spin. Yeah. Who’d have thought.

Hope you are having a peaceful easy day and getting all the snooze you can use.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    May 28, 2007 3:40 pm

    The stitch definition in both the cable down sweater (lovely!) and the socks is incredible. It’s too bad you had to fiddle with the blocking to compensate for the pattern.
    It sure is heart warming to see the kitties all snugged up like one happy family.

  2. June permalink
    May 28, 2007 7:59 pm

    Gorgeous, gorgeous knitting Caroline! I would put off the in use photo until it’s cooled down a whole lot! The color will look fabulous on you! 🙂

  3. May 29, 2007 11:57 am

    Lovely cable sweater – the color is great. Must look into that yarn. Hope the second sock goes quickly, it owes you. Will you dye the casmere/merino/silk yarn? Won’t it make a lovely lace scarf? Kittycats are always the purrfect ending to a knitblog entry. How cute that you’ve a calico in two sizes!

  4. May 29, 2007 12:49 pm

    The cable down raglan is gorgeous! I love that design:-) My absolute favorite socks that I have are the Retro rib. Mine are in LS sock in teal, yum. You will love yours. I just finished my ylva. I decided to leave raw cable around the neck and armholes. I love it though. I really like the color you chose too!

  5. May 29, 2007 7:21 pm

    I can see you in that glorious color. The stitch detail must have made for an interesting project, keeping your attention all of the time, eh? How do you like the Panda Cotton? How much different is the bamboo combo than regular cotton? Less of a pain in the joints?
    You have yourself quite the pile O’ kitties and how lovely that they tolerate one another, with the little ones sneaking in to cuddle with the big ones. What a lovely transition and what a colorful bunch. (I love Calicos, big time!)

  6. May 30, 2007 12:00 am

    My gosh that sweater is gorgeous! Wow.
    btw, you won my contest!

  7. May 30, 2007 4:15 pm

    I love the Panda socks! I have checked out the yarn several times and I really wish they had some more uhh, Joanne-like colors. Maybe they’ll extend the colors even more when they realize what a success it is? The cat photo was cute!

  8. May 30, 2007 4:39 pm

    I wish I had done what you did with the Hempathy. I’m knitting Bonne Marie’s Ariann in Cascade 220 and am spot on with the recommended gauge, but I find the fabric so ‘mushy’ feeling. I really wish I’d just gone up a size or two and done the knitting at a smaller gauge.

  9. Jan permalink
    May 30, 2007 7:55 pm

    I love how Cables is turning out. I looked at the photo at IK and sure enough, I see the strong shaping built in at cuffs and hem, and the willowy upper arm shaping. You have the figure to carry it off — you will look smashing in it! Nice sock and new projects too, and the spinning is mouth watering! Sweet kitties, give them a snuggle for me.

  10. May 31, 2007 3:26 pm

    What a beautiful job you did on the sweater… makes my fingers itch to knit it too… and I don’t do many sweaters!

Leave a Reply

