Skip to content

Finished, Started and Tagged

May 31, 2007

The Faux Russian Stole is finished. This was such an enjoyable knit. All those lovely diagonals, crosses and diamonds appeal to my love of symmetry and balance. One of my dear friends who is an accomplished quilter really likes this stole. I really like her quited tote bags. A trade is in the works.

The yarn is a Shetland jumper weight, but I have no idea what the brand or shade number is. I got it in a trade with Angela a few years ago. It’s a lovely deep blue with flecks of dark green. I knit this exactly as written, imagine that. Here’s an “in use” shot so you can see how big it is.

There has been lots of plying going on around here. Back in March I was spinning this wonderful Deep Sea superfine merino acquired from my favourite purveyor of fine yarns and fibres, Lisa Souza. The finished yarn is a three ply heavy worsted weight. I really like the way the colours blended. I’m thinking about knitting the sweater on the cover of Lace Style with it, or perhaps something from one of the Noro books.

While the Rose was tied up with all that plying, I have been spinning some Blue Moon Fiber Arts merino/tencel in the Puck’s Mischief colourway on the Little Gem. I have been using the LG more often since I got the E Flyer. The ceramic inserts on the flyer and yarn guide make for much smoother spinning, and the LG just seems to hum. Great colours, eh?

The perpetual sock is all but done. These are knit in my favourite every day 3 x 1 rib pattern with Mountain Colors Bearfoot. Nice warm socks, just a little out of synch with the seasons. I started these in March when it was still cold. They feel very nice on my feet. It must be the mohair content that gives them such a nice cushy feeling.

Also on the go is the Prairie Blanket from Oat Couture. The yarn is an acrylic called Marble. This is for Project Linus, so it has to be machine wash and dryable.

Last week I started the Gothic Leaf stole, another wonderful Sivia Harding design. There’s a link to the knit along on Sivia’s site if you want to join in. I’m using Elann’s Baby Silk fingering weight (so soft!) on a 3.75 mm needle.

Vanessa tagged me for the Seven Things meme, so here goes:

1. I lived in Montreal during the early 70s when the FLQ (Front de Liberation du Quebec) crisis was happening. I was in a building when it was bombed. Incredibly, no one was hurt. When the dust settled I saw that the cinder block wall that had been behind me had moved forward with each brick coming further forward than the one beneath it. The top of the wall was hanging over my head, but it didn’t fall.
2. I was born on Halloween.
3. I love food, yet I find cooking a challenge. I would rather wash up than cook. My first cookbook was titled “The I Hate to Cook Book”. I still use it. Dining chez nous is always unpredictable. I once served a completely inedible chicken dish to dinner guests. DH saved the day by calmly bringing the garbage can into the dining room, dumping the contents of our plates into it and serving up drinks while we waited for the pizza to arrive.
4. I love symmetry. I like od numbers and am particularly fond of the number five.
5. I am a complete homebody. There is no place I would rather be. I have very little desire to travel, unless it’s to a fibre festival. I am never bored and I am never lonely at home.
6. Into each day there should come a little chocolate. Dark chocoate. Just a little, every day.
7. I rarely have more than five knitting projects on the go, and more commonly have only three. I am monogamous to the project on the needles, which is why I only come out to play here on KnitMe every six weeks or so. Otherwise I’d bore you to tears showing you the latest inch of this or that.

I’m supposed to tag seven other bloggers to offer up seven random things about themselves. So Caroline, Sam and Jan, my three blogmates here on KnitMe, and Kerry, Vicki, Kim and Jen, consider yourselves tagged. Or not, if you’re not keen on memes.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2007 6:25 am

    Wow Mel I’m glad the wall held its own! I have to agree with the chocolate rule. I wish I could live by monogamous project rule!

  2. May 31, 2007 7:56 am

    I’m not interesting.
    Your shawl is GORGEOUS! I don’t know how you can part with it. The Deep Sea turned out great, too. Such a rich combo.
    Kerry

  3. May 31, 2007 8:00 am

    Wow I love the way you scroll down, and down, and down, and the shawl photo keeps going…
    That yarn would be great in that cover sweater. I’m still pondering what yarn I might want to make that in.

  4. Spinndiva permalink
    May 31, 2007 10:23 am

    Hi ! I am a friend of Sam and have taken to read this blog with all the wonderful knitting and spinning going on.
    I just had to say .. What a wonderful shawl! so pretty! and I love the color!
    What great work!

  5. May 31, 2007 12:39 pm

    Wow, that shawl is beautiful (and so is the spinning!). It certainly appeals to our mutual sense of symmetry!

  6. May 31, 2007 12:58 pm

    Wow! What absolutely gorgeous work, Mel!
    My husband’s birthday is on Halloween, as well. 🙂 And count me in as another lover of symmetry, home, food (but not cooking) and chocolate! Wonderful!

  7. May 31, 2007 3:28 pm

    My jaw dropped at everything in your post, Mel… the FR stole is drop dead gorgeous, your spinning is marvelous, especially the stunning Deep Sea yarn, and I really enjoyed reading the little-known factoids about Mel. Thank you for sharing these preciousnesses…

  8. May 31, 2007 9:53 pm

    Everything is gorgeous as always Mel! I’ve got another two pounds of Deep Sea on it’s way here right now that is destined for more three ply. I love the way it looks. And Kerry sent me the rest of her Puck’s From BM. I think we’re on the same wavelength.

  9. Sam permalink
    June 1, 2007 2:30 am

    Wowza, wowza, wowza…everything’s just perfect, Mel! The stole is scrumptious, and that yarn – ai yi yi! Gonna have to lay me some hands on the Deep Sea. I have the Pacific, and the South Pacific, so I’d better keep with the water theme and grab some. 😉 Gorgeous work, as ever!

  10. Jan permalink
    June 1, 2007 10:50 am

    Stunning stole, Mel. Your squares are so square and the holes–both sizes!–are so round and even. Lovely knitting, brought out by perfect blocking. You rock! The trade you are cooking up will make two people equally happy. Neat! I love what you are doing on the LG. Those ceramic inserts are the best thing since peanut butter!

  11. June 1, 2007 11:43 am

    You’re knitting and spinning makes me happy. What beautiful things you make!

  12. Zeila permalink
    June 1, 2007 4:27 pm

    Oooh, I’ve been wanting to do Faux Russian for a long time. Maybe now is the time!

  13. Roberta permalink
    June 2, 2007 11:21 am

    The Faux Russian shawl is on my list. How perfectly beautiful it is and so large. Have you done other Russian shawls? I’m trying to track down a pattern for a square one.
    I love seeing the pictures of all your lace projects, actually, and your socks, and your spinning projects. : )
    Roberta

  14. Kate permalink
    June 4, 2007 1:52 pm

    Melanie,
    I found your site as I was searching for wedding shawls. The shawl you created for your DIL is simply a stunner! I was wondering if you had decided to share/publish/sell your pattern? I would love to knit it for a bride I know (also named Sarah).
    Thanks,
    Kate Williams

  15. June 4, 2007 3:37 pm

    Love the stole!! It is just gorgeous, and HUGE! Your spinning is also beautiful -I wish I could do that…

  16. June permalink
    June 4, 2007 8:37 pm

    Wow, Mel! What more can be said??!! Gorgeous work/play as usual 🙂 I so love seeing what you’ve been doing, since we *are* cyber-twins. . . 🙂

  17. June 7, 2007 12:19 am

    Every single thing is so gorgeous! The Faux Russian stole – amazing. That merino/tencel is especially yummy, love the colors.

  18. June 11, 2007 6:19 am

    melanie melanie melanie, where to even begin!
    the faux russian is stunning.
    as for #6, why only just a little 😉

  19. June 27, 2007 1:10 am

    Amazing, all of it! I love it all!
    And boy do I wish I made gorgeous quilted bags right now!
    The I Hate to Cook Cookbook was the first cookbook I ever read and is one of my favorites too. The Hilary Knight illustrations are perfect. Peg Bracken is (was? okay, no ‘is’ I looked it up) hilarious.

Leave a Reply

