Skip to content

Meme again?

June 4, 2007
by

I don’t know if it’s entirely kosher for someone to tag a person that posts on the same blog as they do, MELANIE I’M TALKING TO YOU… heehee I doubt I can think of 7 random things that are actually interesting, but I’ll try.

First to get the more interesting stuff out of the way. Here’s an in-use shot of the Cable Down raglan sweater – I was trying to give a good idea of how the sleeves are shaped and blocked out,

I lengthened the sleeves a little, because I was thinking, why would I want a sweater this weight that had 3/4 sleeves? I’m glad I did as they turned out a perfect length – long enough, but not hanging down to my knuckles. The yarn is very soft and smooth and I’m pleased with how this turned out.

The afghan is, of course, slow going, but it is pleasant knitting, poofy and plush.

I’m beginning to think I’m burning yarn too fast, so I’m going to start scrounging the swap lists for more.

I made some progress on Ylva, too, and got past the motif on the back.

I shortened the length of it just a tad because I didn’t want it to be an unflattering length for me, so I did the motif about 2 inches sooner than the pattern called for. I love the Agatha shell I made a couple of years ago, but it ended up sort of the least fortunate length on me, so I’m going to try to head that problem off at the pass this time.

I am liking the Hempathy yarn well enough, it’s dry and stiff like cotton but it has a sort of crunchy-granola hand to it that makes me think it will soften with washing. I have to decipher the markings on the label, as there are no verbal washing instructions, and I’m not fluent in international washing symbols.

I also have half a second Panda sock done so it’s just the round and round from here.

Now, the triumph and tragedy of spinning. I finished my silk/merino and got ready to ply it with the cashmere. It was clear from the beginning that I was going to have more yardage of the cashmere.

So, I persevered. Of course. What else is there to do?

The tragedy:

6 grams of lovely fine-spun cashmere singles that turned instantly into a tangled mess when I tried to ply them up. What a waste. It was yards and yards, it took me 15 minutes to make the andean ply bracelet.

But what was left was pretty good.

Fifty grams and about 300 yards. I think it will knit as laceweight. Handspun yarn just doesn’t have the yardage for its grist that millspun yarn has, does it? I have never been able to make it do so. Less air in it I guess.

It’s soft and shiny, if a little underplyed I think.

I love it white like this, but it would probably be cool dyed also, the two plys would take the color differently. I have never been a scarf person but lately I seem to be wanting lots of soft lacy scarves. Hm.

My next project is yarn for a scarf for Emily.

This is superwash merino top from Winderwood Farm, one of my favorite eBay sellers. Sam inspired me a couple of weeks ago with the rainbow yarn she made from some similar fiber from the same vendor, and Emily had mentioned this winter that she would like another scarf. I intend to try to spin this fine enough to 3 ply it for the color runs.

Now how about seven random boring things about me?

1) Prudence is not my real name.
2) I live in Baltimore. The Washington DC area is the farthest south I have ever lived, I am a Yankee through and through. The farthest west I’ve ever lived was Michigan if going to school counts, and Northern Virginia if going to school doesn’t count.
3) My daughter is graduating from kindergarten today.
4) I have four cats. There is no prayer that anything in our house is totally free of cat hair.
5) I rarely buy anything new. Clothes, shoes, books, records, electronics equipment. I am very cheap. I consider it a major enhancing factor in our lifestyle. Even spinning wheels – one is used and one is new, AND another used one is going to come to our house later this summer, stay tuned for major wheel yummies….
6) I hate to cook and I hate math. My daughter loves to cook and loves math. Hmph.
7) When I was in junior high I was a MAJOR fan of ‘Dark Shadows’ and was crushed when it went off the air in 1971. I joined Netflix specifically so I could rent my way through the entire show on DVD, one disk at a time.

I think everyone I know who blogs has done this or been tagged to do it, so I can’t help pass on the infection… Sorry I’m not as interesting as some people I’ve seen do this meme! Maybe Sam will come along behind me and say something inspired… Sam?? Sam??

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan permalink
    June 4, 2007 11:47 am

    The sweater looks fabulous on you. Your handspun is gorgeous. Such sheen. I think the loose plying will work up to make a lovely, lovely lace. I agree about the yardage/grist of handspun. Maybe that has something to do with the way it knits up into unique beauty! Thanks for sharing the bits of yourself. I feel like I know you better. Fun!

  2. June 4, 2007 11:59 am

    You said nothing about playing the fiddle!
    I love your new sweater – it looks great on you! I would advise against wearing it with red pants again, though. 😉

  3. June 4, 2007 12:55 pm

    That sweater is *stunning*! And it looks great on you!

  4. Melanie permalink
    June 4, 2007 4:00 pm

    Did I hear someone call my name? Hee hee.
    The top down raglan looks wonderful on you. You have a real gift for creating garments that fit perfectly.
    The cashmere silk looks scrumptious – I’d like to bury my face in it. For me, the trick to Andean plying or plying from a centre pull ball is to let the yarn rest for a long time so that the twist is not active any more.
    I’ve got Retro Rib socks on the needles too, but top down instead of toe up.

  5. June 4, 2007 10:15 pm

    What a beautiful sweater! I’m linking to it on my page.

  6. June 6, 2007 5:58 am

    I love the sweater! I think you are right o about the legnth of Ylva. Mine is just a tad too long;-(

  7. June 6, 2007 9:16 am

    My heart breaks for you about the cashmere. I’ve been in that place before… You need a master de-tangler to get it back on to a niddy noddy or a swift.
    The 2 ply is gorgeous. I’m not knowing if you’re happy with it plied loosely (it’s fine as it is) or whether it would appeal to you to ply it a little tighter. Here’s my experience: Put the skein on a swift near your wheel. Loop the beginning of the skein through the leader on your bobbin and slowly spin *in the same direction you originally plied* to add more twist. I had to do this with 500 yards of sockweight because I was concerned about catching the individual plies as I knit. I wound up with about 3% fewer yards.
    Fwiw…

  8. Sam permalink
    June 7, 2007 12:15 am

    Caroline, I think that’s an exceptionally flattering color on you – what beautiful knitting! Everything’s looking great, though I’m sorry about the cashmere. What a bummer. 😦 But, hey, you know someone who loves to take on the tangly messes! I can’t wait to see Emily’s scarf – that fiber is so lovely to spin. I finsihed a second bump for another rainbow scarf for the girl. 🙂

  9. June 7, 2007 12:24 am

    Gorgeous, lovely sweater! Too bad about that plying, cashmere is a terrible thing to waste. Frustrating, too.

  10. June 7, 2007 3:06 pm

    Wow – that cable down sweater fits your perfect! And I love Winderwood Farms – way to go!

  11. June 8, 2007 10:08 am

    The cable down sweater is perfect on you!

Leave a Reply

