Skip to content

A snail’s pace

June 11, 2007
by

Well, nothing seems to be growing very fast, and what’s more, all my photos are blurry.

I am doing the armhole shaping on Ylva, with the lovely little cable detail running up it. This has the added advantage of snugging the armhole edge a little bit in the vertical dimension, so I won’t have to worry about it sagging there.

The color of this yarn is hard to describe, it’s sort of part brick and part red rose.

The afghan is still growing, I’m almost halfway through the first of three pattern repeats.

I’m enjoying this knitting, Kathy Zimmerman’s cables are always fascinating.

I started spinning the rainbow-dyed superwash merino for Emily’s scarf. I’m trying for the longest possible color runs, so I’m not splitting the roving lengthwise – I’m just tearing off a section, whacking it on the wheel to soften it up, and then trying very hard to spin one color at a time. It’s working out pretty well, this stuff is easy to spin.

Being short on good fiber material, I have no choice but to fall back on beautiful cats.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    June 11, 2007 10:46 am

    I love the armhole cable on Ylva. I bet Emmy’s excited about the rainbow spinning. The kitties look like they could be siblings.

  2. June 11, 2007 1:23 pm

    A friend sent me your blog link to look at your Saffron Cabled Afghan since I’m also knitting it. Yours is looking great! Along with all your other knitting projects. I just can’t seem to get in enough knitting time lately. I’ll be back to watch how yours progresses!

  3. June 12, 2007 1:43 am

    They are beautiful cats! Are they an exotic breed, or just exotic looking tabbies?

  4. June 12, 2007 3:34 am

    You new yarn looks so funky! Are you going to ply it?

  5. Jan permalink
    June 12, 2007 12:03 pm

    That rainbow bobbin is a blast! What fun!
    Jan

  6. June 13, 2007 10:07 am

    Your kitties are beautiful!

  7. June 14, 2007 4:58 pm

    That cable detail is rather special – I love it!

  8. June 18, 2007 4:09 pm

    Ohh, what a Yummy blog. Since you are spinning the rainbow from and end……what are you going to do when plying it…?? Will it match in color if you are spinning half of it, on one bobbin, and the other half on another bobbin?? Or are your plans to Navajo ply it?? But I LOVE the colors!!
    And congrats on your wheel, in your newest post…..and the shawls looks gorgeous!!:-)

Leave a Reply

