Skip to content

New Spinning Wheel

June 17, 2007

I’ve been tagged for a meme and I haven’t forgotten, but it will have to wait for another post, because there is big news at my house: a new spinning wheel and its first FO!

I’m still pinching myself to make sure that I’m not dreaming. Last month Sivia Harding decided to sell her Journey Wheel, and she allowed me to buy it. It’s a single treadle, double drive wheel. Whisper light, responsive as a sports car, and thanks to the double drive, oh so very smooth. I do love a driven bobbin!

I sat down to spin right away, and within a few days it announced ‘I’m Cherry Berry.” So Cherry it is, and Cherry she will stay. I wanted to make something special for the JW’s first project.

I chose Lilibet.

Lilibet is a finewool/kid/silk blend from The Silkworker. I did the math and spun it carefully according to Anne Field’s formulas, doing the singles and plying based on the crimp of the wool (14 cpi would you believe) and the loft of the fiber. Lilibet rewarded me with a fingering yarn that is bouncy and full of life, and glows as if lit from within.

What did Lilibet turn into?

Here’s a clue:

It’s the graceful tip of Sivia’s Diamond Fantasy Scarf. Here is the DFS blocking.

I made Lilibet into the DFS as a tip of the hat to Sivia’s great design, and as a big thank-you for entrusting me with her JW.

Thank you, Sivia!!!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2007 12:49 am

    Beeeeee-yoooo-tiful. šŸ™‚

  2. June 18, 2007 12:51 am

    I am so flubbergasted… it is so freeking gorgeous, and what an amazing tribute… you are a wonderful spinner, better than I am obviously!!!! You definitely deserve the JW, long may she spin up gorgeousness like this for you!

  3. June 18, 2007 1:14 am

    Wow! Lovely!

  4. June 18, 2007 7:32 am

    Jan enjoy the wheel, and the shawl – it’s so beautiful!

  5. June 18, 2007 7:57 am

    Congratulations Jan!!! The shawl is amazing too!!!!

  6. June 18, 2007 8:25 am

    It was obviously meant to be! The shawl is more than beautiful.

  7. June 18, 2007 9:01 am

    Wow! a new wheel, it’s first yarn, and the shawl it turned into! The DFS is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see what you and your new wheel work on next.

  8. June 18, 2007 11:02 am

    Goodness me, I’m drooling! Exquisite tools to make exquisite things – does it get any better?

  9. Sam permalink
    June 18, 2007 11:56 am

    Oh, Jan – you’ve done each other proud! What a gorgeous wheel, what a gorgeous yarn, and what a gorgeous project. I think you and Cherry are going to be very happy together. Massive congratulations!

  10. June 18, 2007 3:07 pm

    I love your dfs. I need to be finishing mine, but it has been so long I am almost afraid of it. I think that your new wheel is just perfect for you.

  11. Melanie permalink
    June 18, 2007 3:31 pm

    Your spinning is beyond perfection, and the shawl (one of my favourite designs) is lovely in perfect summer colours. I can hear how happy you are with the wheel, and just looking at it and what you have created with it makes me happy too.

  12. June 18, 2007 3:51 pm

    Whoa. Good work, Jan, it’s gorgeous! Enjoy your wheel–you obviously have a good thing going with her!

  13. June 19, 2007 11:40 am

    YOU are truly Amazing! My jaw drops just thinking about all that you did!
    What beautiful yarn you made…and then turned it into that Gorgeous (!!) shawl!
    WOW!!
    Congratulations on incorporating Cherry into your life….she certainly loves you!

  14. June 20, 2007 8:44 am

    Beautiful, beautiful shawl! Have fun with your new toy!!

  15. June 20, 2007 7:03 pm

    wow wow wow all the way around!

  16. June 20, 2007 7:49 pm

    My, you are fast! Beautiful work!

  17. June permalink
    June 21, 2007 7:58 am

    Wow Jan, that is some gorgeous spinning and knitting! Lucky you, on the Journey Wheel find! So glad you are getting along so very well! šŸ™‚

  18. June 21, 2007 3:03 pm

    That is just beautiful. Spinning is on my list to learn someday, except it will cut into my knitting time.

  19. June 27, 2007 8:46 am

    Jan, your shawl is gorgeous. I love the colors!
    I think those little Journey Wheels are so cute.

  20. June 27, 2007 1:46 pm

    Wow! You don’t need me to tell you but wow that’s gorgeous!

  21. July 3, 2007 11:41 pm

    Your shawl is beautiful! What a wonderful tribute.

  22. Michelle & Zooey permalink
    July 4, 2007 3:37 pm

    Hi Jan,
    I just checked out the Journey Wheel on their website… I love how it folds up… by day a mild-mannered wooden suitcase, but night a spinny flurry of activity.
    What you’ve made with it is breath-taking. The yarn! The shawl! It’s beyond words.
    You are remarkable!

  23. July 21, 2007 2:06 am

    Jan, the DFS is gorgeous! Lucky you – new wheel!

Leave a Reply

