Skip to content

New to who?

June 25, 2007
by

LilyBlue says, “Good morning. I have only been in the world for 17 weeks, so everything is new to me. I know that the rest of you are not so lucky…”

Here are the Panda socks, finally complete.

I really like this yarn and the way the socks come out. It is as splitty as you could imagine, so fixing a dropped or splitted stitch is a royal pain, but it makes a lovely fabric. It’s also vulnerable to gauge variations. When I finished the second sock, having carefully counted the exact same number of repeats on the leg as I did on the first sock, it was more than half an inch shorter. I picked out the sewn bindoff and added 4 more rows to make it come out looking more like the first one. The foot is a little smaller, too, but not so much that they can’t be worn.

I tried to take a picture of the completed back of ‘Ylva’ along with the half of the front that I have completed, but it was too blurry, so you are spared.

This is the afghan, after almost one complete pattern repeat. I am feeling better about my yarn usage, and I may even do an extra repeat of the pattern if I have enough yarn, to get closer to the length I’d have gotten with the recommended yarn. I am going to count how many balls I used for the border plus one pattern repeat, and save off that many for the other end, then see how much yarn I have to dedicate to the rest of the middle. It’s not a very forgiving pattern, having 76 rows in the pattern repeat.

I’m still spinning the rainbow merino and hope to ply next weekend. I couldn’t quite fit the entire 4 ounces on one bobbin so I have one bobbin plus a bit on the other.

I also decided I was sick of my black plastic cell phone cover, and made myself a little felted cell phone cozy.

It took about half an hour to knit (worsted weight yarn) and 15 minutes to felt by hand in the sink with hot and cold water. I found the ‘pattern’ in blog comments someplace when I searched for ‘felted cell phone cozy’, and changed it by adding a one-row buttonhole near the top. If I were to do it again I’d make it longer and narrower, but it fills the bill.

I hope to have something next week that will be new to you as well as to LilyBlue. Meantime, lie around in the shade as much as you can.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    June 25, 2007 12:40 pm

    Gorgeous stuff today! Especially the cat…we just got a new kitty that looks just like yours. Her name is Ginger!

  2. Melanie permalink
    June 25, 2007 3:18 pm

    The afghan is really pretty and so are the socks. Thanks for the review of the Panda yarn. The kitties look like they have become one big happy family. Can we say r-e-l-a-x-e-d?

  3. June 25, 2007 3:37 pm

    I love your kitty! The socks are fantastic!

  4. June 25, 2007 11:38 pm

    There are no words to tell you how jealous I am of that cat photo. I still have one that refuses to get along with the others and someone’s always mad at someone else. That looks so peaceful!

  5. June 26, 2007 1:44 am

    The kitty is too too cute! ๐Ÿ™‚
    And everything else, too, of course. You amaze me!

  6. Jan permalink
    June 26, 2007 12:37 pm

    Sweet kitty! I love those big eyes. The socks are classy! I’m glad I’m not the only one with glissando gauge…what a practical, invisible fix you did.

  7. Sam permalink
    June 26, 2007 2:27 pm

    How *that’s* a face! What a sweet girl. The socks came out fantastically – glad to hear the yarn review, as well. Blanket’s looking good, and I’m looking forward to seeing *your* rainbow yarn!

  8. Sam permalink
    June 26, 2007 2:29 pm

    Um, that should have been *Now* that’s a face, of course. Slinking back to my corner now to drink more coffee. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. June 28, 2007 3:12 pm

    What adorable kitties! And they are all doing what i wish I was doing….having a bit of a lie-in…..

  10. Heather permalink
    June 29, 2007 3:29 pm

    How do you manage to keep your bed quilt so clean with those adorable kitties lounging about? I only have 1, and he leaves his black fur everywhere!

  11. June 29, 2007 5:33 pm

    It’s kitty heaven!

Leave a Reply

