Skip to content

Ever eat a computer?

July 2, 2007
by

“Many parts are edible….” Remember those commercials? Well, if parts of this had been edible I would have eaten them.

Don’t even ask. Up until June 11 this was my functioning computer. There will be another functioning computer at my house later this week, because this one could not be made to function again although some moron took it so far apart that the service manual I have doesn’t explain how to reassemble some of those parts because nobody takes them apart. Don’t even ask. However, I did manage to put it together again. It doesn’t run, but it looks like a computer again and not a box of parts. I have redeemed the hard drive, so I am no longer hysterical.

Ahem. So. Knitting etc. It was plying weekend at my house. I finished the rainbow superwash merino for Emily’s scarf.

It’s three ply, about 120 grams, and what seems like a ton of yardage, over 300 yards. This is for a scarf for Emily. It didn’t come out as nice as what Sam posted a few weeks ago, but I think it will give a pretty candy-colored effect she will like.

I also finally got through another skein of that Rambouillet that I dyed 4 colors in the fleece and am blending on combs. I have three big hanks now. I don’t know what I will knit with it as I am not going to have enough yardage for a sweater and it’s pretty fat yarn.

It would make a good hat and mitten set, I think, but I will probably have more than that. There is probably one more hank’s worth left to comb and then we will see.

It is impossible to express the amount that these photos suck, but they are all I have to show my progress on the Ylva shell. I think it will be done by next weekend.

This is the front, one side is done and I’m nearly done the other side.

This is the back.

Neither shot really shows the color well. This appears to be a very difficult color to photograph.

I started another pair of socks also, this is the ‘Hourglass Rib’ pattern that I got from Lisa, and some Meilenweit Lana Grossa wool/cotton that is showing off the stitch pattern well.

This is the most extraordinarily clever pattern. If you look closely, you can see that the vertical ribs are made to curve in and out by alternately having garter stitch and ribbing between them – the garter stitch rows push them apart and the rib rows pull them in. I know that is a lousy explanation but if you squint at the photo for awhile you will see it.

Because I have an overabundance of feline beauty at my house now, I can give you another adorable kitten picture, this is Daphne having an afternoon nap.

Finally, last but not least: someone turned 6 yesterday. How about that??

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2007 11:45 am

    Aaaw, six looks very happy!
    Your yarn is gorgeous! Maybe you’d have enough Rambouillet for an EZ ribwarmer or some other little bolero-like vest or shrug?
    The hourglass ribs: very clever & attractive.

  2. July 2, 2007 12:14 pm

    I love the hourglass ribs! It is wonderfully clever!
    Happy Birthday to Miss Em!

  3. July 2, 2007 2:10 pm

    Wow! Big Birthday! Now you can read her the A.A. Milne poem…”Now I’m six, and as clever as clever, and I hope I’ll stay six now forever and ever!”
    Also, awesome yarn, of course. I wonder if your pinky Rambouillet could be a vest, as Meg wondered. It is stunning stuff!

  4. Jan permalink
    July 2, 2007 6:17 pm

    Condolences on the computer. Here’s to new and better! I love the clear colors of your rainbow yarn. They pop! I love the pink heather, too. Only combing could do that! My vote goes to a vest, too. Happy big 6 years to Miss Em!

  5. Melanie permalink
    July 2, 2007 8:25 pm

    Happy Birthday, Miss Emmy! Mwah!
    The computer photo is very scary. Never the less, I cannot imagine you ever being hysterical. Ylva has sides? I’ll have to wait and see. The rainbow yarn is going to make Emmy very happy, and the rambo is such a lovely heathered colour. It looks very soft.

  6. July 2, 2007 9:03 pm

    What a grown-up girl! Happy Birthday, Emmy!
    The rainbow yarn looks like it was fun to spin and will be fun to knit as well.
    Your kitties are beauties!

  7. July 3, 2007 12:25 am

    Happy birthday Emmy!
    Gorgeous WIPs (as usual). 🙂
    Good luck on the computer!

  8. July 3, 2007 10:12 am

    I think the rainbow yarn looks great! Who wouldn’t be happy wearing a scarf made of that? 🙂

  9. July 4, 2007 9:45 am

    Where does the time go?! Happy Sixth Birthday to Miss Em.
    Everything looks beautifully done, as always, but that combed Rambo skein really takes the prize. I need to go back to see how you dyed the fleece. Whatever you make from it will be special.

  10. July 4, 2007 10:09 am

    That picture of the computer actually makes me a little dizzy.

  11. July 4, 2007 10:14 pm

    totally cute kid pics! Both the fuzzy child and the non-fuzzy one!

  12. Sam permalink
    July 5, 2007 10:30 am

    Happy birthday, Miz Emmy! She looks great, as do all the projects. I think Emmy’s rainbow is gorgeous. Those ribs are really quite clever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

