Skip to content

Oh Gee!

July 7, 2007

I’ve started the Ogee lace shell from the Jaeger JM04 book. This one has been on my To Do list for a long time.

The yarn is Louet Gems Pearl fingering weight in the Eggplant colour. In the right light it seems to be showing off the lace nicely.

There are more stitches on the needle for the back of Ogee than there were for the entire Gothic Leaf stole, which is finished. Voila!

It only took 9 x 25 g. balls of Elann Peruvian Baby Silk, 80% baby alpaca, 20% silk on 3.75 mm needles. It is wonderfully soft and has lovely drape. The stole is knit in two pieces and grafted in the centre so that the ends are symmetrical. It can be knit all in one piece if you’re not obsessive about symmetry. The finished size is 72″ long by 23″ wide. It could have been blocked longer, but my blocking board is 72″ long, which works for me. That lets me block on the dining room table instead of on the floor. This was truly an enjoyable design to knit.

Here’s the centre where the leaf stems meet and head back in the opposite direction.

In the perpetual sock on the needles department here is a pair of Retro Rib socks from Interweave Knits Winter 2004 (also in the Favorite Socks book). The yarn is a cotton/wool/nylon blend called Cotton Spirit, colour 3006 from Meilenweit.

The Blue Moon merino/tencel from my last post is all plied up. The colour is Puck’s Mischief (what a great name!) and it makes me think of irises in bloom. I was hoping to get enough yardage to knit the Wing-of-the-Moth shawl but I’ve come up a bit short. At 17 w.p.i. it’s a light fingering weight but there’s only 725 yards in the skein, which weighs just over 8 ozs. I wonder if the tencel adds to the fibre density. Please jump in and add a comment if you can enlighten me on that score.

I bought a little Cormo fleece when Treenway got its shipment of specialty fleeces from New Zealand last year. I combed it a few locks at a time last wnter and I have begun to spin it now – pictures and whinging about neps next time.

So, for fun spinning, I started this Blue Moon Sheep 2 Shoe superwash merino on the other wheel. I didn’t quite get the top split evenly, so the resulting yarn may be, shall we say, interesting. I can’t imagine how all these colours are going to come together.

I jumped on the Mystery Stole 3 bandwagon too. I’m not worried about not liking the finished shawl because I have never seen one of (the other) Melanie’s designs that I didn’t like. I was up late last night working on Clue #2. The yarn is Zephyr in the Indigo colour, with #8 hex cut beads on a 3.5 mm needle. Here it is at row 137.

To Kate, who left a comment on my last post regarding Sarah’s wedding shawl: Thank you for your kind words. Sadly, I haven’t written the pattern up. I honestly keep meaning to, but then with what little time I have to myself, I’d rather be knitting or spinning … you know how it goes.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2007 5:40 pm

    Oh Gee, oh wow! love everything about it! The shawl is so beautiful – I really had to look to find the grafted line. That MS3 is going to be beautiful, too.
    Your Puck’s is perfect, as always. You do such incredible work.

  2. July 7, 2007 9:31 pm

    melanie, you are the queen of kitchener!
    and you puck’s mischief is gorgeous as usual πŸ™‚

  3. Mary in VA permalink
    July 8, 2007 7:17 am

    Its all gorgeous! I was just admiring the Ogee lace sweater in IK recently, but I think this shell is even nicer. How are you liking hex cut beads on the shawl? I considered them for mine.

  4. July 8, 2007 9:03 am

    Beautiful stuff! I don’t know if it’s tencel that adds to weight, or if it’s just handspun. I never feel like I have the yardage for the weight I perceive my product to be.
    Your graft is so perfect. How are you liking the Meilenweit? I’m knitting with Meilenweit cotton/wool too. Indigo is one of my favorite colors.

  5. July 8, 2007 9:31 am

    Oh, your stole is lovely. I love how your mystery stole is turning out too!!

  6. spin permalink
    July 8, 2007 10:31 am

    What beautiful lace!

  7. June permalink
    July 8, 2007 3:33 pm

    Oh Mel, your work is always such a joy to see! I love the colors you have chosen lately. It looks like purple is floating your boat now! I would love to know where you purchase your BM Roving from, it’s really gorgeous stuff! πŸ™‚

  8. Jan permalink
    July 8, 2007 10:21 pm

    So many different things and all so lovely! Those purples do call out to become a moth wing. Might it work as a shoulder shawl?
    Jan

  9. July 9, 2007 10:32 am

    Such lovely stuff! Ogee is also on my Someday List. I am guessing that fibers like tencel and silk are heftier and lower yardage spun than they appear because they lack crimp and compact unless spun from the fold. Just a guess.

  10. July 9, 2007 12:02 pm

    Wow, Mel! It is all *so beautiful*! I’m drooling. πŸ™‚

  11. Sam permalink
    July 9, 2007 10:20 pm

    I just knew that would be a gorgeous MS3 choice! The Ogee is making me itch to begin, and the Gothic Lace is Wow! Love the Puck’s Mischief, and yes, I believe the fiber comnposition densifies things a bit. πŸ™‚ Another spectacular showing!

  12. July 10, 2007 9:40 am

    Wow….lots of fabulous things happening here. I love, love the Ogee shell and the shawl is stunning!

  13. Marilyn permalink
    July 10, 2007 12:57 pm

    I just found your site by searching for a finished “Decapo”……your knits are fabulous! Did you post a photo of finished Decapo? I am thinking of knitting it, can you tell me a little about the construction? do you have to cast on thousands of stitches to start? Thank you

  14. July 10, 2007 1:17 pm

    Marilyn, I think that the Da Capo WIP was posted a long time ago by someone who doesn’t post with us anymore. Sorry!

  15. July 12, 2007 5:46 pm

    I’ve had that Jaeger book for a long time – love the shell, yours is probably the first one I’ll see “live.”

  16. July 12, 2007 10:27 pm

    Oh Gee, Whiz!
    Mel, all is lovely – the Ogee, the Treenway, the Gothic Leaf, the Blue Moon, the Retro, the MS3… And I went back to look at Sarah’s shawl. Oh Gee – I’d like to knit so beautifully (and prolifically)

  17. Roberta permalink
    July 15, 2007 11:53 am

    Always love seeing what you are doing. The lace pieces are elegant. The Ogee will be on my to do list now.
    Thanks,
    Roberta

Leave a Reply

