Skip to content

WIPped out

July 23, 2007
by

I can see it coming. My two WIPs are both big long commitments. I can see myself in about a month, still working on the same two things, wondering when it will all end. Right now, though, things are ok. The ‘Saffron Cables’ afghan (should I call mine Raspberry Cables?) is still fun to knit, and is good for watching movies. I think I am about half done.

I have embarked on the famous Bee Fields shawl by Anne of Knitspot. I am using red Zephyr. It is a really interesting knit so far, I have done the 11-row setup and one complete repeat of the 20-row beehive chart. (This picture was taken when I had done about half the beehive chart.)

I love the edging that runs down the side – the ingenious little nupps at the edge and the fagotting that’s built right in. The Zephyr is also nice to knit with, this is the first time I have used it. It has enough heft to it that I can feel it in my hand.

I started this on my Knitpicks needles because I love those pointy points, but I found very quickly that they were too slippery for me to keep control of the fiddly little beginning of a lace thing. I switched to Bryspuns – the points are sort of a pain at times but they don’t try to get away from me at least. My only other alternative was Clover bamboos, which have even more rounded blunt points.

I plyed some more this weekend, I wanted to see the results of Jan’s handiwork, which I showed you last week. I plyed my cashmere and her Colourmart 3/84 cashmere/silk together. This skein probably weighs half an ounce or so, and it’s about 90 yards.

It’s weightless and plush. I decided that I wanted more than anything not to underply it, so I put more twist in when plying than I thought advisable. The resulting hank twisted in the Z direction quite significantly, but when washed it straightened out to the point that it only went about half a turn in the Z direction. I remembered Judith Mackenzie McCuin’s advice in her new spinning book, that if a skein is balanced right off the niddynoddy it is probably underplyed, and I forged ahead, and I’m glad I did. Since I do tend to underply (except when I really overply), it will help me end up with better yarn.

I wanted to spin something I could do sort of rustic and thicker than some of what I’ve done lately, so I dug a bump of wool and alpaca out of the bottom of my spinning stash that I have been sitting on for about 2 years. I got it from the Barefoot Spinner (no website) at Maryland, I loved the silver and purple of it.

I am not loving the spinning of it, so much. Maybe when I see it in a hank of yarn I will love it. We’ll see.

I did manage to finish one Hourglass Rib sock.

I love how these are turning out. And, when I added them as a WIP in my notebook at Ravelry (yes I’ve fallen into that rabbit hole too), I found out that other people were also knitting them! How fun is that?

See you on Ravelry. I am ‘fiddletwist’.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2007 11:17 am

    Love your projects!!!!!

  2. July 23, 2007 11:26 am

    I have some of the wool/alpaca from Barefoot spinner at MDSW from two years ago, too! Mine is green, though. I was surprised that it was so fuzzy, I’d thought it would be a smooth one with the alpaca in it.
    I really like those socks!

  3. July 23, 2007 2:46 pm

    I love my barefoot spinner sock yarn. Stunning stuff…I’m starting my second pair now. As usual, your projects amaze me! I’m glad your plying worked itself out. After I emailed about it, I thought some more (and plied some) and realized my yarn often has considerably more than a half-turn in it when I take it off the wheel and before I set the twist. I think this plying stuff is somewhat more flexible than I initially described!
    I like those socks. Very slick…if a sock pattern can be described that way?

  4. July 23, 2007 2:52 pm

    The afghan and the sock both look great! The afghan is going to be an heirloom. The wool/alpaca is a lovely colour – are you spinning it for socks?

  5. Jan permalink
    July 23, 2007 9:10 pm

    Fantastic plying! That’s one utterly comfortable, happy skein. Any tips to pass along on plying from tp rolls?
    Great knitting projects. The retro rib socks would go ‘business casual’ very nicely. Bees is gorgeous in the red yarn. I love the crisp look of the holes ‘n solid bits. I’ll bet the alpaca blend will look great when it’s done.

  6. July 24, 2007 1:51 am

    you may not be enjoying the spinning of the wool/alpaca but I’m certainly enjoying the looking at part :]
    very pretty

  7. Roberta permalink
    July 24, 2007 8:09 am

    Love both the color and cables of the afghan. Inspiring! Even though I’m committed to the Mystery Stole KAL, I would like the try the Bees shawl, so will be following yours closely.
    Roberta

  8. Mary in VA permalink
    July 24, 2007 5:18 pm

    All the projects are lovely, but I’ll really enjoy following the Bee Shawl. I didn’t see it on Anne’s blog until it was done, so seeing it from the get-go will be nice. Especially since I’m fighting the urge to add it to my WIP list!

  9. July 25, 2007 9:58 am

    I am (not so patiently) waiting for my yarn to arrive so I can get started on my own “Bee”! 🙂
    Thanks for the close-up of the edging – it really does add a nice touch.

  10. Sam permalink
    July 25, 2007 8:42 pm

    Wow – afghan looks great, Caroline! I think the colors of the Barefoot Spinner stuff are gorgeous, so I hope you end up liking the yarn. Can’t wait to see your Bee Fields progress!

  11. July 27, 2007 5:04 pm

    Ooooooh. All lovely as always, Caroline! Gorgeous stuff.

Leave a Reply

