Skip to content

Borderline

September 17, 2007
by

I’m knitting borders. And borders. And none of them are photographed here because they look just like they looked last time.

I finished the Bee in field chart on the Bee shawl and turned the page only to find out that before I can do the 13 rows of edging there are 12 more rows of Bee in field extended. Sigh. But I should be able to get into the edging in a few days. It takes me an hour now to do three rows.

I finished the seed stitch end of the afghan. But, having one more ball of yarn and having cut short the seed stitch at the beginning to ensure I would have enough yarn, I have picked up across the cast-on edge and I’m knitting one more 50g ball of yarn’s worth of seed stitch on the other end now. Seed stitch is SLOW. Slower than the cabled rows, it seems.

I’m working on socks for Emily for this winter. She picked out two colors from my leftovers, so her socks are going to be St Valentine and Emerald City from Lisa’s studio. I’m doing a simple garter rib and they are coming out nice and cushy. They are top-down, so I will be able to make them longer when her foot grows.

I finally finished spinning the annoying silver and purple wool and alpaca. Pardon the slightly blurry photos, I was trying to reproduce the color accurately and so I turned the flash off.

I have 4 2-ply hanks that are between 3 1/2 and 4 ounces each and about 160-170 yards,, which is sort of an aran weight. I also have that oddball skein at the top, which is what I couldn’t cram onto the last bobbin – it turns out that the center of the bump wasn’t blended as much, so there wasn’t much alpaca, only wool. I guess you could use it to put an edge on a felted bag or something. That one is about 50 yards I think. The entire bump was a pound so the final heap is just under a pound.

I just can’t love this yarn. I think it is because it was such a pain to spin. It would probably felt well. If you are indignant with me that I can’t love it, maybe you would like to buy it from me for the cost of the fiber?? I don’t know what I will do with it other than stick it in a bag. If you don’t want to adopt it, do you have any ideas as to what use a pound of aran weight wool/alpaca yarn could be??

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2007 11:32 am

    Maybe with the right stitch pattern, or just the right pattern it would make a pretty sweater for your daughter? You could try over-dyeing it, or combining with a brighter yarn in stripes of fair isle pattern.

  2. September 17, 2007 1:14 pm

    I love it. If I didn’t have a pile in the works just like it I would buy it from you.
    There has to be a vest pattern somewhere…

  3. Linda permalink
    September 17, 2007 3:17 pm

    Perhaps you should just put it away until the pain subsides. In a year or two, you may suddenly feel much better about it!

  4. September 17, 2007 3:34 pm

    Wouldn’t that make a handsome tweedy felted bag with the darker colour for handles and edging?

  5. September 20, 2007 9:25 am

    That is lovely yarn. I’m sure the right project is just around the corner for it. Great socks too!

  6. Jan permalink
    September 21, 2007 9:53 pm

    I love the socks! The garter rib is so classy. So is the foot! You and Emily rock!
    I say find the yarn a new home and free up the stash space and your psyche for something you’d like to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

