Skip to content

Bee, Sides

October 8, 2007
by

Well, haven’t we been lucky here, two whole weeks with wonderful entries by someone other than me! The downside of that is, during that time I’ve accumulated a large amount of stuff to show, mostly because I was nearly done with two big projects when last we met. But first I have to explain some of my title by showing the relevant items.

This is a side.

If you are scratching your head over this one, think Elizabeth Zimmermann. It is a side of her Ribwarmer from Knitting Workshop. The opening in the middle is the armhole and the straight edge without the tab is the center back. See it?

If I were to do it again I would do some shaping for the armholes but I love the curved front edges done with short rows. The yarn is the endless Rambouillet that I dyed in the fleece in 4 colors and then combed together and navajo plyed to get a sort of worsted weight yarn. It was an interesting experiment and I have enough yarn to knit a whole ‘nother rib warmer if I feel like it. It was not a big project – I started it on the 28th of September and blocked it a week later. I used size 8 needles even though the yarn gauge was inconsistent, and it seems to be fine.

More conventionally, this is a side.

This is the right front of the Tailored Scallops cover sweater from Lace Style. I started this on the 29th and it is knitting pretty fast because it’s on size 9 needles. I’m using Elann Peruvian Sierra Aran which is wool and alpaca, and it is a lovely yarn to knit – soft with just a touch of sheen. I’m counting on blocking to open this out, because when I used size 10 needles I just didn’t like the look of the fabric – too open and floppy, and the one in the book certainly doesn’t look open and floppy.

The reason I got to do all those sides was that I finished both the afghan AND Bee Fields, within 5 days of one another! I love it when that happens! Here is the afghan (“Saffron Cables” by Kathy Zimmerman from Interweave Fall 06):

Of the three photos, the top one is the most accurate as to color and the second one gives the best look at the stitches themselves.

It’s really more like a throw – it’s about 4 feet by 5 feet because I used smaller-gauge yarn than the pattern called for. Also, I can’t exactly use it as an afghan with the little wool pigs in the house:

I worked on it from May 19th to October 19th and never was bored – the cables are lovely. I used 18 or 19 balls of Cascade Bollicine Holiday that I got on clearance from WEBS – superwash merino with a little acrylic, which is perfect for an afghan and didn’t feel cheap.

It’s been said that the photo in the magazine shows an afghan with 4 repeats of the main chart but that the directions only say to repeat 3 times. Because of my gauge I did 4 repeats, and I went back and picked up and knitted down from the bottom to lengthen the seed stitch border to use up all my yarn. I’m very pleased with it, except that I have to hide it…

I also finished Bee Fields. This was a really entertaining knit.

The bees and hives:

The swarm (this is my favorite because it looks exactly like what it’s called):

The fields:

She wanted a consistent edging all the way across the sides so she had you finish by grafting the edge stitches in the center, and I suck at lace grafting. Can you see how the edging pattern doesn’t exactly meet?

If I were to do something designed like this again I might try to figure out a way to do it without grafting.

This is what the edging looks like everywhere EXCEPT where I grafted it.

It came out HUGE. It was too wide across the top to fit on my 6 foot blocking board, and with the wool pigs in the house I had to be able to get it off the ground after it was pinned, so I couldn’t lay down the side panel to make it a foot or two wider. Also it was too tall at the point for the 4 foot depth of the board. It is really decadently big.

I started this on July 21 and finished on September 24th. The yarn is Jaggerspun Zephyr in the color I think is called ‘Real Red’, and I used size 5 Bryspun circular needles. I didn’t see any real errors in the pattern, just a couple of things to watch out for. On the side edge throughout, the instructions tell you to bind off two stitches and then knit one and then yo-k2tog-psso-yo. However, that ‘knit one’ is the stitch you knit in order to bind off the second stitch. DON’T knit a stitch after you bind off the two little extra stitches. It is clearer if you use the chart, but be warned. Also, at the end of the last chart before the edging there is some language telling you to move the markers to the arrows as you did at the end of other charts, but at that point there are no arrows and you don’t need to do it – that must have been one of those famous copy and paste errors.

Phew! Isn’t that enough for one day? We’ll save other things for the future: spinning cormo using a flick carder, an experiment in rainbow dyeing, sock progress….

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2007 3:00 pm

    Amazing My Dear!! How do you have time to go to the market and buy food, let alone all the other things that you have to do? I am awe struck by your abilities!!
    The Bee Fields is SO Frickin’ beautiful!! Underscore!!
    I am looking forward to seeing your bright face at Stitches East…in a few short days….YIPPEE!! 😉

  2. October 8, 2007 4:57 pm

    OMG what a feast for the eyes! Bee fields is a knock out! Awesome knitting. See the grafting, why no, not really. You’re way too hard on yourself.
    The afghan is gorgeous. Maybe when those little wool pigs get a bit more mature you’ll be able to display it. I’d want to be looking at that all the time.
    Tailored Scallops is on my to do list too.

  3. October 8, 2007 8:05 pm

    Bee Fields is gorgeous! And hey, you actually knit your Tailored Scallops front the *right* way!
    I’m eager to see your experiment in rainbow dyeing!

  4. Sam permalink
    October 8, 2007 9:18 pm

    Well, just when I was tapping my toes and wondering when we were going to see some beauty from your needles, the bounty arrives! Gorgeous Bee Fields, gorgeous afghan, gorgeous start to the lace scallops, and cozy, warm rib warmer. I’m so glad you found a project for the Rambouillet – I just want to squooge that thing. A very coloreful feast for the eyes!

  5. October 8, 2007 9:38 pm

    Wow. You are amazing! I can’t believe the gorgeous stuff you whip out!

  6. October 9, 2007 8:03 am

    Your Bee Fields shawl is absolutely gorgeous!
    I really like the color you’ve chosen.

  7. October 9, 2007 9:54 am

    I LOVE the afghan. My home is destined to have one, but what colour?!
    And the Bee Fields is up there on my list to knit! I LOVE it! And yours looks great!

  8. October 9, 2007 10:45 am

    WOW! I am in AWE! I love your cat in the last picture too – so typical! You’re definitely inspiring me.

  9. June P permalink
    October 9, 2007 2:11 pm

    Wowza Miss Caroline!! How gorgeous everything is! I love the afghan and now I will have to go find that pattern! :0
    The shawl is simply the best! Thanks for all the up close shots –

  10. October 9, 2007 11:25 pm

    Oh. Wow. That Bee Fields shawl is awesome! Just fantastic. I’m so impressed!

  11. October 10, 2007 2:10 am

    Where do you find the time? AND stamina? Bee Fields is beautiful and I really dig that afghan. I didn’t think you’d finish it so quickly!

  12. October 10, 2007 3:09 pm

    I love your Bee Fields! Your rib warmer looks great too. Wow, where do you find the time for other things with all that beautiful knitting?

  13. October 10, 2007 7:16 pm

    I love how your afghan/throw turned out. And the Bee Fields is stunning. I love it in red.

  14. Jan permalink
    October 11, 2007 5:18 pm

    Your lace is always so beautifully lacy. Bee Fields is ethereal as a bees wing.

  15. October 12, 2007 6:02 pm

    I think your shawl looks beautiful. I’ve just cast on for this and am not yet at the point where I understand why this is supposed to work. Guess I’ll figure it out if I keep trying.
    Lovely:)
    Ang

  16. October 14, 2007 6:38 pm

    Wow! I especially love the
    saffron Cables throw. the bee fields shawl is beautiful, ubt the bees in the pattern give me the willies. I know it’s silly of me, but there ya go.

  17. October 23, 2007 2:30 pm

    Oh. My. Gosh.
    Bee Fields is beautiful.
    The afghan looks snuggly from here!

Leave a Reply

