Skip to content

In which Prudence catches up

October 15, 2007
by

OK so where were we? Stuff I’ve been doing but didn’t squeeze into last weeks entry. Yeah. But first how about Stitches East?

Now, last year I brought my camera and took pictures, sensible of the fact that the XRX people actually BAN cameras and will throw you out if they catch you photographing the wrong thing. I guess this is like nuclear secrets or something. This year, I decided that I would not sneak around under their rules to give THEM free publicity. I’m going to give the publicity just to my friends.

Here are my goodies I got from Lisa Souza.

From back to front: a hank of Hardtwist Merino in the ‘Peacock’ color, which I have had in the back of my mind since last year. Of all the different yarns she had this color in, the Hardtwist was the one that took the color the most strongly and really had that shade of green I wanted. In the middle: a hank of merino/angora in ‘South Pacific’, which Emily picked out for herself. I want to make her something that won’t have to take a lot of wear and that she won’t outgrow – maybe a vest like the Ribwarmer, just a tad smaller than mine. Finally, in front, a hank of ‘Fat Bunny’ angora blend in ‘Sapphire’, which was a gift to Emily from Lisa for a hat. She will have a hat from that very soon.

Here’s my goodie from Sheila Ernst.

I have had this button on my mind since Maryland Sheep and Wool, and it waited for me. She had buttons just like this in the 3/4 inch size, a set of 6 or 7, but I decided what I really wanted was the one big one. And, I am nothing if not consistent. I brought this home and laid it beside the Sheila button I bought at Maryland in 2005 and they are the same colors.

There was an unplanned purchase, I got snagged on my way past Ellen’s Half Pint Farm where I grabbed this hank of wool/bamboo sock yarn – a colorway I saw at Maryland a couple of years ago and passed up but not this time:

My final stop was WEBS – I wanted to pet some of their yarns and the new ‘Sheffield’ merino/silk/angora was the one I had to have this year.

Sorry for the dark photo, that yarn is a lovely light purple.

It was also a beautiful day in Baltimore and we enjoyed spending some time visiting with our west coast friends.

Now for the catching up, of which there is still a lot.

My rainbow dyeing experiment – it was pretty successful actually. I had a hank of the original Knitpicks undyed merino ‘color your own’ in fingering weight, and fortuitously a pack of Jacquard acid dyes had dropped onto my doorstep a couple of days before, containing just the colors I wanted to play with. My intention was to start out with primary colors just to get a sense of how this would work.

Here’s my soaked yarn in a plastic-lined baking dish.

I wasn’t sure the best way to lay it out so I just improvised.

Here it is with the dye dumped on it – scarlet, royal, and bright yellow. I tried to get a little color overlap so we could see the colors of the rainbow – I should have done more overlapping, as it turned out.

Then I covered the whole thing with more plastic, poked a couple of holes, and microwaved for 8 or 9 minutes. It was hard to figure out how much dye to put in, because in some places I had pools that I feared would lead to mud on the bottom side, and in a couple of other places I had white spots. But on the whole, it turned out ok.

It was pretty easy, the entire thing from soaking the yarn to rinsing the final product took an hour.

The interesting thing I’ve been doing is trying to spin my cormo fleece without sending it to process. I got a flicker and gave it a try.

This is what it looked like after flicking when I was ready to spin it.

And this is what a wool pig looks like when she’s getting as close as she can to the goods.

Some of the fiber was not quite well organized enough to flick well – I think the stuff that has fallen out of lock shape too much will get one pass on the combs as I was not able to control the yarn as well as I wanted to with the less organized fiber. I have one skein – about 2.5 ounces and about 130 yards – it is incredibly yummy and just how I wanted it in most ways, but I need to strive for a bit more uniformity. Luckily, there is plenty more fleece to spin…

Now, not to be boring, but we do need to show knitting progress here. I started ‘Tangled Yoke’, Eunny’s phenomenally popular cardigan from the fall issue of Interweave. Hundreds of people are knitting this, if you judge by Ravelry, and many are using Silky Wool as a substitute for Rowan Felted Tweed, so I felt like I had made a good yarn choice. It’s working up beautifully. I just finiished the ribbing at the bottom of the body.

And I have two fronts for Tailored Scallops. You will have to excuse the blurriness as I didn’t have time to take another photo. Here they are with the Sheila button in the center that I am proposing to use for a closure.

Oh, and this was supposed to be in the ‘Sides’ entry of last week. Two socks, not a pair.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2007 10:35 am

    The Cormo yarn looks wonderful! I’d like to give it a squeeze, and I bet missy wool pig would too. I really like how the Silky Wool is working up for the Tangled Yoke, and the button really compliments Tailored Scallops. Great spinning and knitting!

  2. October 15, 2007 5:03 pm

    Wow! I love looking at all your accomplishments. πŸ™‚ It’s a vicarious thrill. Your Cormo looks great and I’m so glad you’ve tried out flicking. It is one of my favorite ways to process things by hand. (you know, besides carding, teasing and combing?!) I think maybe I’d become a wool pig at your house too?

  3. October 15, 2007 5:48 pm

    I love the “goods” from Stitches East! Thanks for showing the good stuff! That fat bunny hat will be so soft and warm. I’m looking forward to seeing it hop right off your needles.

  4. October 15, 2007 9:43 pm

    Boy, you have been incredibly productive! And great work, too!

  5. Jan permalink
    October 19, 2007 1:06 pm

    The LisaS blues and the SheilaE button are charming. You have Cormo karma! Beautiful fleece, beautiful spinning.

  6. Sam permalink
    October 20, 2007 2:09 pm

    The button looks great with the lace! Thanks for sharing the bounty of SE – just wanna dive on into those Lisa S yarns. πŸ™‚ Nice job on the dyeing, too – looks like you had fun.

  7. October 23, 2007 2:27 pm

    There is a LisaS Love group on Ravelry πŸ™‚
    I’m liking the Tangled Yoke cardigan in Silky Wool – I’ll be keeping an eye on your progress with a great deal of interest.

Leave a Reply

