Skip to content

Rhinebeck

October 23, 2007
by

I would love to write you an essay about the lovely day spent at Rhinebeck but I’m just too late and too harried to wax eloquent. So, pictures with a minimum of chat. More pictures can be found at Laura’s blog – she’s in my spinning group and came along to be my roommate. She bought a fleece…

We were blessed with totally perfect weather although I could have wished it were cooler. This is one of the main thoroughfares at the fairgrounds at 10:30 in the morning.

What are two differences between this and any given equivalent at Maryland? 1) You can see a small mountain away in the background with some autumn foliage on it (although not as much as I expected – I guess fall peaks later now than it did when I was a kid). 2) You can see space to walk around. Rhinebeck seems not to really get busy until after lunch.

I really only bought 2 things, and the first one came at practically the first booth we saw when we arrived – I think they were called the Sheep Shed or at least that’s who made this lovely rack of 50/50 merino and tencel.

Right across from them was a ceramics vendor with lovely tiles and this awesome sheep sink.

It made me wish I had the right kind of bathroom setup for it. Adorable.

Somebody’s wall of autumn skeins.

We met up with Annmarie and Joanne and no matter how I fooled with the camera I couldn’t get a shot with good lighting, so you’ll have to have a shot with bad lighting.

We met lots of cute alpacas and llamas, and a giant German angora bunny.

Some pretty skeins, including merino/silk blends and other stuff.

At Carolina Homespun’s booth, Nancy of Chasing Rainbows dyeworks had a lovely display of bombyx and bombyx/merino blends.

Not far away, I kinneared Stephanie in her gorgeous awesome Kauni cardigan, which she kept on despite the fact that temperatures climbed into the mid 70s. I would have done the same in her place.

It was Bluefaced Leicester year at Rhinebeck so there was a batch of pretty BFL sheep to visit. (No fleeces, alas – I think it may have been the time of year.)

Snack:

Yes, we hates the flash.

This girl is obviously a show veteran, she can catch some calm in the middle of things.

These little guys are Shetlands. Look how messy they’ve gotten just in the time they spent hanging out together in their pens. Now I know why every Shetland fleece I’ve laid hands on has been full of VM. It seems to be in their nature!

I think this curly kid is a Wensleydale.

This is what a big whack of knitters looks like having raffle drawings.

My pictures of Jess and Casey came out so bad they would thank me for not posting them… Ravelry and their sponsors threw a lovely party.

This is all I bought – sorry for the blur. One skein of Chasing Rainbows bombyx silk top in something she called teals but I call emerald.

Six ounces of Sheep Shed merino/tencel in a colorway called ‘Ice’ that had my name written all over it.

I would go back. I would stay in the same little humdrum Quality Inn, as it was the perfect location. (I would prefer not to drive 5 hours home with a rear tire I didn’t trust, but that had a happy ending and new tires have been gotten.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    October 23, 2007 10:46 am

    Wow – eye candy, sheepies, other animals, Annemarie and Joanne *and* Stephanie? An autumnal feast for the eyes! 🙂 Thanks for the photo journal! You make me even sorrier I missed it.

  2. October 23, 2007 10:54 am

    Wow! It looks like such a wonderful time! I am so jealous. 🙂 I’m going to try to make it next year!

  3. October 23, 2007 11:31 am

    Great pictures! And way to exercise restraint!

  4. October 23, 2007 12:30 pm

    Thanks for the sort of panoramic shot of the tents and barns and people. I’ve had trouble imagining what the set-up at Rhinebeck looks like, and now I know!

  5. October 23, 2007 1:39 pm

    Ahhh, the sheepy goodness! Thanks for sharing the photos and your haul. It looks like you had fun!

  6. October 23, 2007 2:21 pm

    The pictures captured the feel of Rhinebeck beautifully. Now it feels like fall!

  7. October 23, 2007 3:20 pm

    Good thing I didn’t go because you may have had to arm wrestle me for the merino/tencel. The critter photos are wonderful.

  8. October 23, 2007 4:06 pm

    fun!!!!!

  9. Casey permalink
    October 24, 2007 12:45 am

    Thanks for not posting the pictures of Jess and I. Next time we will try to end up at a more flattering angle – standing on chairs, not a good idea.

  10. Jan permalink
    October 24, 2007 10:26 am

    I love the alpacas and sheep!
    Jan

Leave a Reply

