Skip to content

Yarn…

October 29, 2007
by

I spent a lot of time this weekend spinning on my Quebec wheel. I almost finished another bobbin of my flicked cormo, but not quite. I’m getting a nicer single now that I’m only flicking the bits that have good lock structure, and saving the disorganized poofs to get a trip through the combs.
I did, however, finish the first 8 ounces of shetland last week. I have 3 skeins of about 300 yards each of two ply. It’s really nice – this Louet fine shetland top is awesome. I have 8 more ounces to spin.

I spun a skein of grey CVM/Romeldale roving that I got at my LYS. This is just over 3 ounces and about 200 meters give or take. It is much nicer than it looks in the photo, very springy and soft.

And I wound yarn. I couldn’t decide which of my Lisa Souza sock yarns to use next, so I wound two. Hardtwist Petite in Blue Flame and Sock! in Sky Drama. I think Sky Drama is probably my all-time favorite Lisa colorway. I’m toying with several different patterns for these.

I finished my Widdershins socks, in Gypsy Knits bluefaced leicester sock yarn. I sized them up to 64 stitches and they fit great.

I quit the cables partway up the calf and did a picot bindoff, and they fit great – don’t fall down!
I also finished Emmy’s red and green socks, but no picture yet.

I finished the body of Tangled Yoke and started a sleeve.

I am loving the way this yarn is feeling in this pattern.

I also have two fronts, a back, and one sleeve of Tailored Scallops finished. Sorry for the strangely lit photo.

I should be done with the knitting of this very soon and ready to do the blocking, which will be time consuming.

Finally, here is a friend I made last Monday. He was wandering the parking lot of Sam’s Club near a busy intersection. I scooped him up and put him in my car, where he proceeded to purr on my lap as we drove all over creation looking for a safe place to leave him. (My house is full.) He finally ended up at the Maryland SPCA where he can stay till he is adopted. He was the sweetest cat, I hope he finds a good home.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2007 11:39 am

    You’ve been busy! LOVE your spinning…nicely done!

  2. Jan permalink
    October 29, 2007 11:48 am

    Beautiful spinning! You and the Quebec wheel are a great team. I love Widdershins. These socks are made for wearin…..
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the sweet kitty.

  3. October 29, 2007 3:41 pm

    Thanks for saving an animal! It’s a great thing to do. 🙂 I spun on my Canadian Production Wheel last week and thought of you. I’m spinning an endless amount of blue merino/silk on it, been spinning it off and on for years, but it’s the zen calm that matters to me on that wheel…not the yarn. So glad I got to see you at Rhinebeck!

  4. October 29, 2007 4:32 pm

    Wow, you’re incredibly productive! All of the handspun skeins look so yummy. I can’t wait to see Tailored Scallops all done up – that one’s in my queue. The Widdershins turned out great too.
    I’m glad you were able to rescue the kitty, and I hope he finds a good home soon.

  5. October 29, 2007 5:14 pm

    Good for you for scooping up the kitty! I hope he’s adopted quickly.
    Widdershins looks really great, I’m surprised how well the pattern shows in a variegated yarn, but it does! Yet another project to add to the queue!

  6. Sam permalink
    October 29, 2007 10:55 pm

    That’s one gorgeous heap of spinning – nicely done! That Shetland is soooo pretty. Plans yet? And thank you for the kitty rescue – a face like that will be sure to find a good home. 🙂

  7. October 31, 2007 7:39 am

    Wow, you’ve been productive! Great work! And that’s an adorable cat, I hope he finds a good home.

Leave a Reply

