Skip to content

Loksin!

December 3, 2007
by

So, if these socks are called Loksins, this must be a Loksin.

This yarn makes me happy. I am going to have to get more Sky Drama stuff from Lisa.

One might expect that such a colorway would totally obscure the patterning on the sock, but I don’t think it does. Of course, it would show more in a pale solid, but I think it shows up amazingly well in this intensely colored yarn.

We are done with hats for awhile! Here is the finished Greenery hat.

I am pretty happy with how it turned out, it was a good pattern to show off the two yarns I used. I did block it, because unblocked it was too long and narrow. It could still use another block to rearrange the shape a bit more.

Tangled Yoke is coming down the home stretch.

I’m not the biggest fan of raglan shaping in general, but I do like the magic moment when the thing drops off your needle and IT’S A SWEATER.

I just have the buttonbands left to do, and I have to find 9 1/2-inch buttons that match up with this beige tweed. There just isn’t anyplace to go get ordinary La Mode buttons anymore, not within half an hour’s drive.

This is a detail of the center back of the yoke pattern.

I kept playing with my fast whorl on the Symphony – I grabbed a few miscellaneous combed samples and started spinning really fine. This is about 75 yards/12 grams of what I think is laceweight – the single was 1/3 cormo, 1/3 rambouillet, and 1/3 shetland X merino.

I then started spinning some of the camel/silk blend I have been struggling with on my spindles for a year or more. This is much easier.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2007 9:06 am

    i’m jealous! I’m still not finished with the yoke chart because Rosarie caught my eye. I picked up the tangled yoke last night and did a few rounds. I really want to finish the knitting of it this week! Yours looks gorgeous!

  2. December 3, 2007 10:37 am

    Tangled Yoke is really coming together fast! It’s so pretty. I have to go on a button quest too since our local store closed down.
    The camel/silk is much easier to spin on the wheel. I love that combination of fibres.
    Loksin looks great – no problem seeing the pattern at all.

  3. December 3, 2007 9:38 pm

    Wow! How do you get so much done!
    The socks look great and I really like the hat too.
    The tangled yoke sweater is on my list too. I can’t wait to see you model it!

  4. December 7, 2007 7:46 am

    You are amazing Caroline! I do alot better on my wheels than I do on my spindles too! Your Tangled Yoke is really pretty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

