Skip to content

Tangled Yoke

December 10, 2007
by

I finished Tangled Yoke last Wednesday.

I am very happy with how it fits. I made the smallest size, knowing that I would probably have just a hair bigger gauge than called for, and it turned out right. It is as light as a feather – I only used 6 50g hanks of Silky Wool.

I found some plain plastic buttons on eBay for really cheap – off white with a little swirl in them. They are perfect. And I have about 65 of them now, in a little bottle, waiting for the next time I need plain 1/2 inch buttons…

The shape is quite elegant – the yoke sits in exactly the right place on the shoulders and the waist shaping is subtle.

This took exactly 2 months to knit, I started it on October 5th. I used my Knitpicks Harmony size 5 needle points and they were very nice to work with.

I cast on for Autumn Rose on Thursday, but somehow the photo I took of it didn’t make it where I needed it to be, so you won’t see it this week. I have completed the 15 rows of ribbing and am ready to start the pattern. I think there is already an error in the pattern – based upon reading what it says and looking at the picture. After the ribbing rows, you knit a single setup/increase row in the main gold color. Then it tells you to start the chart, and the first row of the chart is a row in the same gold color. But if you look at the photos, it is totally clear that there is only ONE row of gold before the medallions begin. So, I am taking the setup row as row 1 of the chart, and moving on from there.

In other news, I started the second Selbuvotter mitten while I ponder what else I would like to be working on right now. I’ll get that finished up fairly soon, and then we can set them aside until Emily is about 10.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2007 11:35 am

    Brava Caroline! Another gorgeous sweater that fits perfectly. It looks fabulous. You’re right, the cable is in just the right place on the yoke. Beautifully done.

  2. December 10, 2007 12:29 pm

    Beautiful! I bet you get a lot of wear out of that sweater!

  3. December 10, 2007 5:09 pm

    That’s a beautiful sweater, and I’m excited for you that you finished 🙂 Makes me start itching to pick up mine instead of my Christmas knits!

  4. Jan permalink
    December 10, 2007 7:07 pm

    Oh wow. So pretty.

  5. December 11, 2007 1:12 am

    Oh, Caroline, it looks lovely! Good job!

  6. December 11, 2007 7:09 am

    elle est trs jolie, ta veste!

  7. Sam permalink
    December 11, 2007 9:23 pm

    Caroline, that’s beautiful and is a perfect fit! Lovely, lovely work. 🙂

  8. December 12, 2007 11:53 pm

    Tangled Yoke is gorgeous! Lovely!

  9. June permalink
    December 13, 2007 2:13 pm

    Looks great on you! I bet it gets a lot of use in the upcoming winter months!

  10. Lisak permalink
    December 14, 2007 4:57 pm

    Very nice. It is perfect.

  11. December 15, 2007 8:00 am

    Truly Beautiful!! You are AMAZING!!
    Such Talent!!

Leave a Reply

