Skip to content

Puttering

January 7, 2008
by

I’ve been knitting little things, whether because I want instant gratification or because I can’t seem to get any sustained time to do anything lately. I finished the Selbuvotter mittens. These are NHM #9, in 2 colors of Knitpicks Telemark.

I absolutely love these mittens. The yarn is probably a bit on the heavy side for them, but they fit pretty well even so, and will be warm. These two colors of Telemark seemed easier to knit with at this gauge than the two colors I used for Emily’s mittens, for whatever reason, so they were not as hard on my hands to knit.

There is one teeny error in the pattern – on p. 108 where you are picking up for the thumb it says to pick up 15 stitches across the cast-on edge of the thumb opening. It should be 13. You can tell this by recalling that you only cast on 13 stitches when you put the thumb stitches on hold, and by adding up your total and realizing you will have 32 stitches if you follow the pattern direction.
I need a new pair of gloves too, and I am going to use thinner yarn when I tackle some gloves from the book. I can’t imagine knitting gloves on size 2 needles with this yarn!

I finished the Princess Mitts in my green Cashsilk. They are decadent.

I know they are going to be a bit delicate (you can already see fuzzing on the right one because I was knitting in them the other night) but they are worth it! This yarn is yummy. I would never knit it at the absurdly loose gauge on the label but at this gauge (I used size 6 needles) it makes a plump soft fabric.

Change I made to the pattern: I added 6 rows to the bottom for a longer cuff. Change I wish I had made to the pattern: Knit the right mitt first so I could have completely ignored the left thumb gusset chart and tried to match the one for the right mitt. I have not seen any errata for this pattern anyplace but if you ask me the left thumb gusset chart is completely wonky. When you arrive at the top of the right thumb gusset you have nice K2P2 patterning just waiting for you to begin knitting the thumb. When you arrive at the top of the left thumb gusset, you have K2P1. WTF??? The directions simply say to start the thumb in K2P2 when you go back and pick up the held gusset stitches, but if you do that it will look dreadful and nothing like the photo where the thumb ribbing continues smoothly to the top. I made the left one first so I was not wise to this, so when I started knitting the left thumb I continued whatever ridiculous patterning I had ended with, so that the thing looks right. You can’t tell from the photos but the left and right thumbs DO NOT MATCH.

There is another wonky thing about the pattern. There are 24 stitches on the back of the hand and 23 altogether in the cable chart (taking into account the 6 rib stitches you keep outside the cable). I figured out pretty quickly that you need to P2 together behind the cable in row 1 and increase correspondingly behind the cable in row 33. Then I went back and combed the pattern to see if they tell you that anyplace. They do. In a Note right about where they tell you the materials and gauge. WTF again??? This note belongs on the page with the chart, with a big red asterisk or something beside it, not TWO PAGES BACK and completely isolated from the chart OR the part of the pattern that mentions the chart.

If you are forearmed with this info, it’s really a pretty and simple pattern that is worth making. I don’t know why these roadblocks had to be thrown in the way.

I used about 2 1/4 balls of the Cashsilk for the mitts, so I had enough left for something else. I made a headband.

Another wonky pattern. The instructions for reversing the shaping were totally wrong so I figured it out for myself, it was not rocket science. The pattern is here and they have fixed the instructions since the version I had on hand.

I still have maybe 1/4 ounce of the green yarn left but I am done figuring out what to do with it.
Now that I have finished all those little things I have to get back to the real work. I am puttering along on the Seville bolero jacket but it’s nothing to look at yet, just a bunch of curling purple stockinette. I probably won’t post that one till it is finished, and since I keep setting it aside for more fun things, it’ll be awhile.

I am making “white” socks for Emily out of Knitpicks Risata (they are kind of off-white). White, you ask? Well, this is a practical kid and she said one day, “Mom, if you made me white socks I could wear them to school.” (Her uniform requires white socks, so her handknit socks have stayed home up till now.) The best I could do was offwhite and the Risata is wool and cotton. I like how the yarn is knitting up, it’s making a nice fabric and I hope it will stay nice with washing.

I am also still working away on Autumn Rose and have finished the body up to the armholes.

I am planning to raise the neckline, so I will be trying to do the raglan decreases at the same time as adding in the neckline in a way other than what the pattern states. We’ll see how it goes… Time to make the sleeves.

I had knitted one entire repeat of the medallions plus the crosshatch pattern before I realized that I ought to have treated the gold as the foreground color in the hatching although I am holding the light color as a background color in the medallions. Am I making sense? Look here.

In the bottom section, I held the red below the gold, which is how I carried the yarn in the medallions – dark below light. In the top section, I reversed this and carried the gold below the red. Do you see an ever-so-subtle difference in how solid the hatching looks? I do. But it is not enough to make me want to go back and redo the first red and gold section.

I feel like I am not explaining this well. If you knitted two-handed, in the bottom section you would have had your gold in your right hand and your red in your left, and in the upper section you would have had your gold in your left hand and your red in your right. I knit right-handed only, so for me one yarn is above (on top of my index finger) and one below (on top of my middle finger). The yarn that is below stands out a bit more, as the stitch you make with it is the WEEest bit taller. If this is an unfamiliar idea and you want to know more, Ann Feitelson does an excellent illustrated explanation in The Art of Fair Isle Knitting.

Oh, and note to fibergal and everyone else who thought, “What is that awesome little box she’s got the yarn in for Autumn Rose??” – you can find it here Greatest thing since sliced bread.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2008 10:52 am

    Emily is a smart cookie.
    Your princess mitts look decadent, and your AR is coming along quickly.
    And I think you are referring to “yarn dominance.” Nona Knits did a post on it once that’s really good. You can find it here: http://nonaknits.typepad.com/nonaknits/2006/01/yarn_dominance.html

  2. January 8, 2008 11:00 am

    The Selbuvotter mittens are really pretty and the Princess PITA mittens look very cushy.
    Autumn Rose is gorgeous. I wouldn’t have noticed the difference in the crosshatch sections if you hadn’t pointed it out.
    Emmy will never want to wear store bought socks now that she’s used to hand knits. Smart girl!

  3. January 9, 2008 11:07 pm

    THANK YOU for the clear explanation of what you did to “fix” the count on the 4 rib cable block chart. I haven’t found it mentioned any place else. AND, since I’m just beginning the second pair, I’ll do some extra rib rows (had left over yarn from first time, I think it’s safe!! (like calculating for socks!!)).. and do the LH mitt first.
    Your Autumn Rose is beautiful.

  4. Sam permalink
    January 11, 2008 11:52 am

    Now, those are some happy paws in your house! Great mittens, and Autumn Rose is looking fabulous. Will be eagerly awaitng the neck raising portions. Emmy’s socks are fit for a princess. 🙂

  5. June permalink
    January 11, 2008 3:29 pm

    Caroline! Your Selbuvotter mittens are gorgeous! I am currently making some of Terri’s gloves (Annemore #11)and her patterns are fabulous. I can’t beiieve how much you can get done! Autumn Rose is a knock out and I seriously don’t think anyone will notice your background/foreground faux paus –

  6. January 13, 2008 11:33 am

    I love the way your Autumn Rose Pullover is coming along. I’m really looking forward to see it finished

  7. January 14, 2008 3:22 am

    Thank you, oh, thank you so much. What a great container for knitting Fair Isle.

Leave a Reply

