Skip to content

On Stubbornness

January 14, 2008

Merriam-Webster’s definition: (1) unreasonably or perversely unyielding; mulish, (2) justifiably unyielding; resolute.

Not saying that I don’t have my mulish moments, but this time I think that being stubborn was a good thing, so call me resolute.

I had a spindling mishap. I guess I overloaded the spindle and as I was spindling happily away, the cop fell off the spindle and began to unwind from the centre. I stuck a knitting needle into the centre as the singles began to curl in every direction.

Ugly, eh?

This gorgeous silk fiber was hand dyed by Heidi, The Artful Ewe. Heidi spent a lot of time dyeing this fiber, and I spent a lot of time spindling it. Here’s where the resolute part comes in. Two hours later, rescued silk.

Somewhere in early autumn, I seem to have lost my focus. I was working on the Katherine Hepburn cardigan from Lace Style, which I have come to think of as my twice knit sweater. I cast on and mulishly knit 11″ of the back before admitting that it just wasn’t going to be wide enough. Begin again.

I cast on the sleeves with one less multiple than the pattern called for because I wanted full length sleeves instead of three-quarter length, and the sleeve circumference would be narrower at the wrist. I knit blithely on, following the pattern to the armholes. There I had the forehead-slapping “d’oh!” moment when I realized that I had failed to add back the 13 fewer stitches I had cast on. The sleeves weren’t wide enough. Begin again.

Stubbornness prevailed, however, and the cardigan is done.

It is very drapey and very comfortable to wear. It’s wide enough that I can wear it buttoned up if I want to.

Yarn: Emu Superwash DK, black, 12.5 x 50 g. / 119 m. balls.
Size: 40 1/2
Needles: 4.5 mm.
Modifications: I knit the body longer than the pattern’s long version. It’s 15″ to the armhole. I lengthened the sleeves, as mentioned above.

I knit a few small things to tide me over the Katherine Hepburn blues.

This sweet little sweater is Claire, designed by Kerry Palm of Knitty fame. Go see Kerry’s baby patterns, they’re adorable. I love the lace collar on this one.

Yarn: Louet Gems fingering weight, colour 21, cloud grey, 2 x 50 g. / 187 m. skeins.
Size: 12 months.
Needles: 3.25 mm.

I also finshed a couple of hats and a Multidirectional Scarf

The navy hat was made with just a few yards more than one 50 g. ball of Jo Sharp Silk Road DK Tweed in shade 402, serpentine, using 4.5 mm. needles. I’ve been wearing this hat a lot. The fold up double layer brim keeps my ears toasty warm.

The garter rib hat and the scarf are knit with Noro Silk Garden, colour 249, using 4.5 mm. needles. The set took just over three 50 g. balls.

And finally, here are a couple of little beaded sachets knit with leftover bits of merino/silk yarn. The pattern is One of Susanna’s. These were fun to knit and only took just over an hour each, not counting the bead stringing.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2008 3:45 am

    Wow! I need to be as stubborn as you! Maybe then I’d get back at my Katherine Hepburn. Your knitting is gorgeous!

  2. January 14, 2008 7:46 am

    Haha. This is what I try to keep in mind when Emily is stubborn.
    I like your KH cardigan a lot, that one is someplace in the mid-list for me.

  3. January 14, 2008 8:23 am

    So glad to see pictures that prove the KH is REALLY DONE!! It looks great on you and I think it’s well worth the extra-extra-effort you put into it!

  4. January 14, 2008 8:24 am

    Oh – and that silk! What a nightmare! Glad that’s straightened out. I’m not sure I would have had the patience.

  5. January 14, 2008 12:08 pm

    Oh Mel, my heart goes out to you on that silk mess. I would have tried to salvage it as well. That stuff is gorgeous!
    Thanks for sharing your story about the KH cardi. It looks great on you. I have half a sweater complete that is raglan from the bottom up, and I just decided to restart the knitting from the top down as I know I will not like seaming the thing. Second time is the charm, I hope.
    The sachets are adorable. What do you stuff them with?
    See you soon!

  6. January 14, 2008 12:54 pm

    I caught my breath when I saw the silk tangle. Good job getting it unsnarled!!! (And of course, beautiful work on everything else, too. πŸ˜€ )

  7. January 14, 2008 1:55 pm

    Oh, beautiful as always, Mel! I love the lace cardigan…and stubborn isn’t always a bad thing! Whenever these things happen, I think, “but I LIKE knitting, right?” (I have to say that a lot.) The silk untangled is a miracle, though. I would have lost patience and given up. Impressive!

  8. January 14, 2008 4:40 pm

    good rescue on the silk! And the cardi is lovely.

  9. January 14, 2008 8:15 pm

    Stubborn might not be the right word. How about elegant perseverance?
    Big hug.

  10. January 14, 2008 8:53 pm

    Holy cow, the cop fell off the spindle??? You’d have heard the cussing from there if that had happened to me.
    The sweater is lovely, as are the smaller pieces.
    And I’m stubborn too. I consider it a feature, not a bug. πŸ™‚

  11. January 15, 2008 4:54 pm

    Nice save on the yarn! And the cardigan turned out very pretty! Your stubborness definitely paid off. πŸ™‚ I’ve considered doing the exact same thing, knitting the Katherine Hepburn cardigan with a longer body. Now that I see it done, I’ll probably just have to go and do it!

  12. January 18, 2008 1:26 am

    Wow, Mel! Gorgeous stuff as usual. That silk is exquisite.

  13. January 19, 2008 7:09 pm

    I LOVE your Blog!! Good to see, as usual all that you have been up to…..& There’s a Special Award waiting for you all on my blog!!

  14. January 20, 2008 10:05 am

    Wow! You HAVE been busy, and every bit of it is great work! That silk is beautiful, beautiful stuff.

  15. January 20, 2008 9:55 pm

    I stumbled upon your blog this afternoon and I’ve got to say I am in awe of your beautiful knitting. All those patterned mittens are lovely. T.

  16. January 21, 2008 6:49 am

    as always, your knitting is divine. katherine hepburn is GORgeous. nice save on the silk.
    see you soon πŸ™‚

  17. Jan permalink
    January 22, 2008 1:29 am

    The silk is lovely. I’m so glad you could save it. That must have been traumatic! All of your knitting is beautiful. I think you caught the sweet essence of Claire.

  18. Sam permalink
    January 22, 2008 11:54 am

    I like the word perseverance. πŸ˜‰ Everything looks simply gorgeous, Mel, and you continue to be a complete and total inspiration to me. Amazing, beautiful work!

  19. January 25, 2008 11:43 pm

    Wow, You’ve been productive. Great looking things. You did a beautiful spinning (and rescue)job on that silk.

  20. February 2, 2008 9:16 am

    Mel, Everything is absolutely gorgeous as usual! Love the KH Cardi, I will have to look into that one!

  21. February 5, 2008 10:51 pm

    I prefer ‘persistence’. πŸ™‚
    Wow, that was a daunting task! Congratulations for your quick thinking in sticking the singles on the knitting needle before it got any worse.
    Love the sweaters!
    Can’t wait to see you at Madrona!

Leave a Reply

