Skip to content

Wanted: Chiropractor to make house call

January 21, 2008
by

Sorry for the brief entry today but sitting, standing, and lying down are all somewhat distractingly uncomfortable…

The Seville jacket is almost a jacket.

I paused in my finishing of the body to work on the cabled band. The pattern directions tell you to knit about 6 feet of band, then sew it on, “stretching on the straight sections and easing around the curves,” and knit enough to finish. I toyed with various alternatives to this approach, and checked Ravelry to see if anyone had done it any other way, and finally decided to follow the directions. I can just imagine how inconsistent and messed up I could make it look if I got creative… So I’ve got about 2 feet of band knitted. I have to admit it’s perfect mindless knitting.

I’ve been spinning, and spinning, and spinning on my camel/silk. This is an almost finished bobbin containing approximately eleventy billion yards.

I have to spin approximately another eleventy billion because I’m not going to be foolish and try to ply this from a center pull ball… I think I put too much on this one, though, so the second one will not have much yardage and I will have to appeal for help to some of my silk spinning genius friends on how to do a center pull ball on a toilet paper roll.

I also finished a sleeve of Autumn Rose. Can you see my ‘gauge issue’? Do you think it matters?

I don’t like starting things on two circulars, and I didn’t really want to knit this on black needles, and so my only other choice in a DP needle was Crystal Palace bamboo, and I am getting a slightly loose gauge. I should have expected this. I think millimeters must be relative or something because their 3.25mm needle is a bit fatter than the next company’s. You can particularly see this in the shape of the medallions in the body vs. the sleeve. I don’t like tight sleeves, and I don’t think it’s going to be noticeable when the thing is worn, but right now it’s sort of nagging at me. This will not be blockable on a wooly board due to the waistline shaping, but I’m hoping a good block will reduce the difference.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2008 10:40 am

    Autumn Rose is looking great! I am absolutley certain that the tiny gauge difference in the sleeves won’t be noticeable when wearing the sweater, and it might disappear entirely when you block it. It’s a gorgeous sweater.
    Seville – I love the perfect evenness of skillfully executed stocking stitch. It’s going to be a classic.
    Genius? Masking tape is my best friend.

  2. January 21, 2008 11:39 am

    Na, it’s a sleeve and won’t be out right next to the body like that in real life wearings. So long as the sleeve fits right, that is!

  3. January 21, 2008 1:33 pm

    I have seen someone ply pure silk this way:
    1) Wind silk onto a toilet roll core
    2) Roll up a file folder and slip that into the center, replacing the toilet roll
    3) Ply from the center pull ball and let the file folder core expand as the center hole expands
    This helps prevent the ball from collapsing on itself as you go. That said, I’ve never tried it. (My way is to put everything on storage bobbins.) I do not recommend plying with an Andean bracelet for anything with silk – even as low as 20%. (It tangles and chokes the wrist. BTDT, and ow.)

  4. June permalink
    January 21, 2008 1:36 pm

    I absolutely agree with Mel and Carol – I wouldn’t take another minute to think about the sleeve being different at all. Hey, you want it to fit and be comfortable. I can’t wait to see this one on you! 🙂

  5. January 21, 2008 5:58 pm

    I’m glad you said what the gauge problem was because I just wasn’t seeing it. After you told me, yeah, but it would have gone right by me otherwise.

  6. Jan permalink
    January 22, 2008 1:26 am

    Nice work on all! This is how I ply two bobbins with unequal amounts of singles: when I run out of one single, I cut the yarn and use my ball winder to roll the remaining single onto a tp roll, running it through the yardage counter as I do that. Then I run half of what’s on the tp roll off onto a second tp roll. I ply the two tp rolls together from the outside, either onto a whole new bobbin to splice later as I knit, or knot it back onto the end of the first bobbin of plied yarn. Putting the two tp rolls of singles into mixing bowls and letting them bounce freely works better for me than a kate. Your singles are beautiful!

  7. January 22, 2008 7:38 pm

    Autumn Rose is so beautiful, I don’t think anyone will notice the difference in gauge when you’re wearing it. I wonder if part of the problem is the difference between knitting on a circ and on dpn’s. I know my gauge usually varies even when using the same mm for both needles.
    As for plying from a center pull ball, I use the “Miss America” method that Patsy Z teaches. Put the ball on the fingers of your hand (start with just your index and middle fingers and then add the others as space allows; you want to keep tension on the middle so a glob doesn’t escape) and hold my thumb along the outside of it to tension the outside strand. Then pass the ball back and forth between the strands. It also helps to use a ball winder to put the two strands together before plying them on the wheel. It’s a little easier to keep everything under control when separating the tasks.

  8. January 23, 2008 7:47 am

    See! I knew you guys would come through with the perfect advice…

Leave a Reply

