Skip to content

Outsmarting myself, Episodes 6,327 and 6,328

January 28, 2008
by

Episode 6,327: Autumn Rose

I have joined the sleeves and body together and begun knitting the upper body.

Being a woman of a certain age and not very trendy, I intend to raise the neckline. Some folks have raised it to the point that they began the neck steek at the same time that they made the body join – i.e. at the level of the underarms. No, says I, I says, I want it higher. I will knit the entire 9-row crosshatch band before creating the neck steek.

After knitting 6 of the 9 rows, I realize: this strategy places the ‘jog’ where you change rows and colors RIGHT IN THE CENTER FRONT. Idiot. But there really isn’t anyplace else to put it, as there is no side seam, no armhole steek, nothing. It is not as noticeable as it would be if I were working the medallion pattern, but still. Right in the center front.

Sigh. Should I keep on for 3 more rows and set the neck steek and hope nobody notices? What would you do?

Episode 6,328: Seville

I sewed on miles of cabled band, dutifully stretching on the straight edges and easing on the curves.

I think I got carried away with my stretching.

I hope a good block will make everything smooth out, ease up, and relax. Otherwise I will be looking for a teenager to give this to. Sigh.

Meantimes, I finished another skein of shetland on the Quebec wheel, it looks fairly nice although I have not had time to wash it yet (all that stretching and easing, don’t you know).

It’s about 2.5 ounces and about 240 meters. I also finished spinning and plying another bobbin of grey CVM/Romeldale but it is still sitting on the wheel waiting to be wound off. Given the fact that I have a wool pig in my house who has been known to sniff around loaded bobbins, I have to hope that it doesn’t turn into Episode 6,329.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie K permalink
    January 28, 2008 9:08 am

    I suggest beginning the neckline ribbing to coincide with the crosshatch section and not cutting into the main pattern as it does in the original. Spinning Jenny did it. See:
    http://spinning-jenny.blogspot.com/2007/10/finished.html#links

  2. January 28, 2008 11:43 am

    Your Autumn Rose is turning out so nicely. Are the front and back any different at this point? Can you flip them and make the front the back and have your jog in back? You have long hair, it’ll cover it. Tricks of the trade.

  3. January 28, 2008 12:55 pm

    OMG Kerry you are brilliant. But after pondering this for half the day I am thinking that I should put it at one of the shoulder lines – there are purl stitches at those lines that would mask the jog, and when I am ready to establish the center front steek I can just break the yarns and resume in the center front.
    Spinning Jenny began her neckline exactly when she joined the body, so she never had to locate the jog – she established the steek immediately at the joining. I had been hoping I could have the neckline a little higher.

  4. January 28, 2008 1:42 pm

    Knitting angst – kinda makes you just want to knit socks and scarves some days. Autumn Rose will be beautiful no matter what you do.
    That’s a lovely skein of handspun Shetland you have there.
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the blocking works its usual magic.

  5. January 30, 2008 11:58 am

    You are a knitting wonder to me!
    Autumn Rose is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen!! The minute I finished it I would frame it and hang it On My Wall!
    Truly Awesome!!

  6. January 30, 2008 3:42 pm

    EZ recommends placing color jogs at the back left shoudler (I guess because it’s the least noticeable place, particularly for the wearer), but since you’re already into the pattern, I say keep going! I bet it won’t be noticeable. It looks gorgeous!

  7. Jessica permalink
    February 2, 2008 12:49 pm

    I absolutely love the autumn rose! Your handspun is wonderful as well.

Leave a Reply

