Skip to content

Out of scope

February 4, 2008
by

In my profession we spend large percentages of our time working on things about a project that came up late in the process and just HAVE to be taken care of. Much as we try to declare such unexpected additions “out of scope,” we can’t always pull that off, whether because something is so important that it breaks the entire thing, or because my management decides to be generous.

This week I spent most of my waking non-working hours on something “out of scope:” trying to get the two laptops in our house to connect wirelessly to the wireless router I set up last weekend. Eight days later, we appear to have total connectivity, but boy did that consume a lot of time.
When I did actually get to knit, I made some progress on Autumn Rose, even though one entire knitting session was spent knitting 3 rows, then realizing I’d knit them with one of the colors wrong and laboriously tinking them and re-knitting them with the right color.

I decided it was worth it to rip out the 6 rows of crosshatch pattern that I had completed last weekend, and reknit them with the row ‘jog’ at the left back raglan line. This gave a perfect smooth appearance in front and I like it much better. When I finished the crosshatch band and was ready to set the neck steek, I broke the yarns and resumed in the center front by creating the steek. Much better.

The rows are getting shorter, and I am closing in on the top of this. I can’t wait to see what it looks like when done. The longer I work on it, the happier I am with the colors.

I blocked the Seville jacket firmly, and it seems to have become quite wearable.

I threw it on one day in the house when a whole sweater would have been too much, and over a long-sleeved turtleneck it gave just the right amount of warmth. I guess I don’t have to give it away…

I used about 7 hanks of Brown Sheep Prairie Silk in ‘peseta purple’ which is a lovely shimmering deep lavender. I made the smallest size, but I lengthened the body about an inch under the arms because I am long-waisted and hate things that don’t come down as far as they should. It turned out about right.

I felt a need this week for another pair of worsted-weight socks, so I started some with two slightly related bits of handspun bluefaced leicester that I have lying around. I had 30 grams of a color called “Red Wine” and 110 grams of a color called “Sugar Plums” so these are going to be my “red wine and sugarplum” socks. I hope the size works out!

I’m using a pattern I found online someplace called the ‘Ocean Socks’ that seemed to have the right stitch count and was a little more interesting than just stockinette without being complex enough to eat up yarn.

I’m resisting the urge to start anything right now, and I’m sticking to Autumn Rose until it’s finished. I have two different sweaters I’d like to start next, and if I wait until I finish Autumn Rose I will feel free to start both…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    February 4, 2008 11:29 am

    Wow – what a gorgeously vibrant entry! Autumn Rose is looking good – nice modifications, and I’m glad to hear that they’re working out. The socks are so much fun, and I really like the way the Seville turned out – gorgeous and very wearable. Congrats!

  2. February 4, 2008 5:31 pm

    The jacket looks great now. Love me some blocking 🙂

  3. February 4, 2008 10:48 pm

    I’m so glad that Seville blocked well, it looks great. Your Autumn Rose colours are wonderful. You’ll be done before you know it. The socks are a heartwarming sight for a cold winter’s night.

  4. February 6, 2008 8:34 pm

    Your Autumn Rose is fabulous! I can’t wait to see it on you, the colors will go so well with your coloring!

  5. February 9, 2008 2:21 pm

    The jacket looks good. I guess you just had to show it who’s boss, eh?

  6. February 11, 2008 5:47 pm

    the autumn rose colors are absolutely gorgeous. what a beautiful job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

