Skip to content

Some color

March 17, 2008
by

Actually that is an intentional understatement. Here is the leg and heel flap of my Evening Socks.

I’m enjoying the colors although I am still not 100% sure I think they compliment this particular pattern. This pattern does not have a slip-stitch heel, so there are wonderful solid clear stripes of color on the heel flap that I love.

There is a ton of yardage in this skein of Lisa’s hardtwist petite, which is why I set out to make this pattern. However, when I got to the end of the leg decreases I figured I’d better weigh the remaining yarn, and I found I had used 38 grams out of 112. So, the leg of these is going to be 10 inches long instead of 12, because I don’t want to take the chance of running out before the toe since I only have 56 grams available per sock.

I am also spinning 4 ounces of merino/silk roving I bought from Winderwood Farms on eBay last year. The colors are very clear and pure in the roving so I’m trying to preserve that in the spun single, with mixed success.

I intend to navajo-ply this to keep the colors together, so I am trying to get the longest runs possible of each color, and it’s been a bit labor-intensive. The roving is very compacted from being dyed and stored, so I can’t just spin back and forth across the top to get each color. I have had to pull the roving open width-wise and yank off each color section by itself, then split it in half lengthwise and constantly break off and rejoin working back and forth between the two pieces till I’ve exhausted the one color and am ready to go on to the next one. I should be able to ply this next weekend and see how this approach worked out.

Still knitting on the brushed lace cardigan, too – I have the fronts and back finished and am nearly done one sleeve.

I am not sure I am going to want to wet-block this yarn, it is sort of open and fuzzy and brushed. How can I block something like this without matting it down and ruining it???

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 3:07 pm

    Wow, what a colourful post! I hand wash and wet block my mohair sweater without any problems. It not only retains its halo, it seems to get a little more fuzzy as time goes on.

  2. March 17, 2008 8:40 pm

    Very pretty! When you can’t wait for the flowers to bloom you need to create your own!
    I’m with Mel, I say go ahead and wet block. You could also pin it out and then spray it damp…

  3. March 18, 2008 3:26 pm

    A nice burst of color on this grey day. I usually do as Kerry suggests and pin out and spray damp for blocking. There’s also a little mohair comb/brush gadget that’s supposed to help any matting that might occur during washing/storage or whatever.

Leave a Reply

