Skip to content

More color

March 24, 2008
by

I finished the labor-intensive rainbow silk/merino.

On my monitor at home it seemed way too washed-out so I darkened it a bit, I have no idea what it will look like to you. But I am very pleased with it. The colors remained pretty clear, and they have a lovely saturated-ness to them.

The brushed lace cardigan is done, but at the time I was taking photos yesterday it was all bunched up on the needles having the button/neck band knit so it was not ready to pose. I cast off in the evening and am seeking the perfect lightweight buttons, so there will be a photo op next week. Despite my worries about losing the halo, I think it does need a wet block, so that is on the agenda for the next day or two.

I finished one Evening Sock.

I prefer top-down socks, and I am still fumbling around trying to find out how to use weight to determine if I have used as much yarn as possible for a sock leg given the size of my foot. When I weighed the yarn remaining in the ball at the top of the heel flap, I got 84 grams. Since I had started out with 112 grams, I figured I should skip the 20 rows remaining on the leg, and just get on with the foot. Then, when I cast off this sock and weighed the yarn remaining, I got.. 66 grams. Hein? I only use 18 grams of yarn for a heel, gusset, and foot?? No way. I am considering knitting the second sock to the full length required by the pattern, and removing the entire foot on the first sock and adding those 20 rows onto the leg. What is the point of shortening a pattern when in fact you don’t need to? I will see what the yarn weighs when I finish a matching leg on the second sock, and then decide.

On a lark I played with a crock pot, Kool Aid, and shetland roving yesterday. I think the results are hideous but we will see what the stuff looks like when dry, I might show it to you anyway…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2008 9:31 am

    That skein is incredibly beautiful! No matter how much work, it was definitely worth it.

  2. March 24, 2008 1:57 pm

    Oh, I love the rainbow silk you have at the top! Love-ly! And I can’t believe you make knee socks! Lordy, I can hardly get a pair of ankle lenght socks done! ‘Course, I do have a pletheria of projects going right now. . .

  3. March 25, 2008 12:01 am

    Wow, the silk skein is lovely! You’ve done such a beautiful job of spinning it.

  4. Jan permalink
    March 27, 2008 8:19 pm

    You were right about Navajo plying and the color. It’s terrific. The color and the socks are right on, too. It’s been a good week!

Leave a Reply

