Skip to content

Four heels…

April 7, 2008
by

That’s how many heels I knitted for these Evening Stockings.

It’s a good thing they were a pleasant fairly quick knit!

Last time we spoke (before the gorgeous cat and the lovely spinning were posted), there was one Evening Stocking.

However, I had realized that I had enough yarn to knit to the full pattern length, so last week there was a second sock, longer, with a heel, plus a first sock that no longer had a foot.

When I went to pick up the stitches for the gussets and resume knitting around, I realized I had knitted the heel flap one stitch off center. So the heel flap got ripped out and redone. When the sock was finally finished, I then finished the leg of the other sock and knitted the heel and foot of that one again. So I knit the heel flap and heel turn four times altogether for this pair of socks.
I still like them, though, they are awesome socks. Elastic and tall and very very bright in Lisa’s hardtwist petite in Blueflame. She told me that the colorway was inspired by a piece of Murano glass.

So, phew. Now that that is over I started a new pair of socks – Cookie A’s new Marilinda pattern, using some Classic Elite Alpaca Sox because the skein was in such pretty easter-egg shades of pink and blue. So far I do like the yarn, it’s a little hairy as alpaca often is, but it’s making a nice soft fabric.

(Can I just say, I can’t keep up with that Cookie. Since I went over and bought Marilinda, there are 2 or 3 new patterns I want. Sigh.)

The Brushed Lace cardigan was finally ready for showing last week.

The yarn (Valley Yarns Florence) knitted up very nicely (no splitting or snagging), survived blocking nicely, and is very soft to the touch. I got some pretty 3/4 inch shell buttons to put on it, they are as light as the knitted fabric so they pair well.

I can see in the photo that I either messed up the buttonband or the blocking – it looks like the top button should not exist. But I did put that buttonhole right next to the first decrease for the neckline, or at least I thought I did, so perhaps when I blocked it I didn’t notice that top buttonhole and pull the V together properly…

It was a quick knit on size 8 needles – I started on February 24th and finished on March 24th so 4 weeks, and I used almost 8 balls of Florence. It looks a little frumpy in the photos, but it looks better in person (although not as nice as it does on that skinny model in the magazine…). Florence happens to be on sale during the WEBS anniversary sale if you are looking for a less expensive substitute for a worsted weight brushed alpaca.

So after finishing this, I wanted to start another sweater. (I am approaching a cedar-chest crisis, but I think that can be put off a few more months…) I had been contemplating how nicely this batch of handspun would work up as the Cabaret Raglan by Norah Gaughan that was in the Summer 2004 issue of Interweave Knits, so first I swatched for that. It quickly became clear that there was no way this yarn could be worked at that loose a gauge – and even if I went up a couple of sizes, it just seemed too far off to attempt. Wanting something else fairly simple to let the yarn show itself off, I swatched for the Gathered Pullover and decided that if I knit one size larger I could make it work. So I happily knit along for about 6 inches, enjoying the yarn a great deal (I still can’t believe I made it). Then I decided that the bottom edge was going to roll so much that it would end up under my arms – it seemed to have unlimited capacity to roll on the needles, the 6 inches of fabric pretty much was like a large circular cannoli. You can see here how much difficulty I had even photographing it.

So I frogged all that and set out again, to make a 1 inch garter stitch bottom edge to keep the fabric down where it belonged. I knit a lovely 1 inch garter border before I realized it was a moebius.

Sigh. So I frogged that, and I will try again today.

This rolling business is just another thing about that pattern that I find weird. Not only does she knit sport weight yarn at an aran gauge (which to me means the sweater will sag, pill, and lose its shape in no time), but she doesn’t knit a bottom border – a little rolled edge can be attractive but this light yarn will go up like a window shade. They must have starched the sweater in the magazine photos to make it stay down. It’s odd to have a pattern in a magazine like IK be so counterintuitive in every way and still be so pretty on top of it. I noticed on Ravelry that everyone was knitting it in worsted weight yarn, so I’m not the only one who didn’t buy into the whole sport weight thing. If I can ever get off the ground with this, I think it will look lovely in this yarn. I wonder if I can raise the neckline without spoiling the effect of the cable.

Cat math: With Melanie’s new family member last week, plus the second one she’s going back to get when he gets over his cold, that makes 10 cats in the KnitMe family. I don’t know if Jan has any cats, but Sam has 4, I have 4, and there are these two new guys. Cats rule!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 9:04 am

    I love that sweater! I have been looking around for a cardigan pattern-I think that is the one! Did I see that in Interweave Knits?

  2. April 7, 2008 12:15 pm

    I love the cardigan! I may have to add that to my list.
    Your yarn is beautiful, too. And it seems to be holding up under the abuse!

  3. April 8, 2008 1:18 pm

    The cardigan is lovely and it looks great on you! Another sweater that fits perfectly. IMHO it looks so much better without the stripes. This is just another instance of where I must follow in your footsteps.
    My love for your Navajo plied handspun has not diminished.

  4. April 9, 2008 2:55 am

    The cardigan looks great, its a nice shape. The socks are cool too. I am not sure if I would have the patience to knit long socks!

  5. April 10, 2008 10:00 pm

    your sweater looks great in one color 🙂

  6. April 12, 2008 10:57 am

    Great socks, but the cardi is truly magnificent! Very nice!

  7. Sam permalink
    April 12, 2008 12:14 pm

    Another lovely week! The socks look very comfy, and I love the Murano glass connection. Cardi look very warm, cozy and feminine – nice yarn choice. I did wonder about the gauge on the sweater, myself, so am anxious to see how yours ends up – that yarn really is lovely. Cat math…hmmm…friends and family now tell me that I have one cat to replace every child moseying off to college, but the cats are much smaller – hardly a fair exchange! 😉 Maybe I can bring in four more to make up the difference?

  8. April 13, 2008 8:28 pm

    I swear, Caroline, you are the most prolific knitter -spinner I know! Wow, you are showing the most amazing stuff lately! Maybe we can’t keep up with Cookie A because she only really needs to knit one sock, eh? Lol – just a thought!

Leave a Reply

