Skip to content

Distractions

April 14, 2008
by

I should have made more progress on my projects this week, but I got distracted.

These are three little learning socks from Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways For Sock Knitters. I have to admit I hae been avoiding this book since it first came out. I mean, I have more sock patterns now than I could ever knit – who needs half a dozen NEW WAYS to knit them? But I poked my nose into it at my LYS last month and decided I really ought to give it a shot.

Once I opened it up and started to play, I didn’t want to stop.

The learning socks are:

Learning Riverbed

Learning Coriolis

Learning Sky

I wanted to make more baby socks in unusual ways but I decided enough was enough and I had to get back to my regularly scheduled knitting. But my next pair of socks will be something from that book. I wish I was someone who can make up her own stuff because the possibilities of some of the shapes are really inspiring. I like the Sky architecture with the increases opening from the ankle down the instep in an expanding wedge, and I like Riverbed with all the increases on the sole so that your instep pattern can be uninterrupted all down the foot. I like the one whose name I can’t remember, with the increases in two wedges on the sides of the instep, which to me seems best suited to an actual foot. Neat stuff.

Once I laid that book aside I made a lot of progress on Cookie A’s new Marilinda pattern.

It’s hard to see the pattern in this photo but when the leg is stretched while worn, it pops right out. The yarn is Classic Elite Alpaca Sox and so far I think I like it although I can’t tell how it will wear. I’m knitting it at a tighter gauge than most people who have used this yarn on Ravelry – I can’t imagine knitting this looser than size 1 needles to get any wear out of it at all. We shall see.

I also finally got off the ground with my variation on the Gathered Pullover. It’s slow going, though, because I’m so enraptured with socks.

I think this yarn shows nicely in both the garter and stockinette sections. We’ll see how it likes the cabling at the neckline.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gillian permalink
    April 14, 2008 11:10 am

    I’m mad for the colours in the pullover. I would have trouble resisting that yarn. I’ll look forward to seeing more pics.

  2. April 14, 2008 3:44 pm

    Cat Bordhi definitely doesn’t think like most of us do. I have tried on a pair of Coriolis socks, and the fit was incredible. They hugged my foot.
    I like how the handspun is working up. The colours are so pretty.

Leave a Reply

